Japanese DSi to English

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by |<roni&g, Nov 18, 2010.

Nov 18, 2010

Japanese DSi to English by |<roni&g at 3:41 PM (9,288 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. |<roni&g
    OP

    Newcomer |<roni&g Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1st post here, but i've used this place for research for a long time...
    Anyway, i have just last night bought a DSi from ebay, its japanese but i didnt think about it till after id payed for it... from the research i've done, you cant cange the menu language to english. can anyone confirm that im gonna be unable to change to english language & will i be able to use a supercard 2 (for homebrew/emulation) & it be in english?
    il probably end up selling it if i cant use everything properly like the internet browser, but any info on changing to english & if its worth keeping is appreciated
     
  2. olleb

    Newcomer olleb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    ds phat and ds lite is region free (i think)... dunno if dsi and dsixl is regionfree...
     
  3. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    Region restrictions apply to DSi-enchanced/only games. I think. But SC DStwo will work and you can do english on it--it's a flashcard. On my DSi, in settings, on the 4th page, the top bar is Language. Not sure if that option is even there on a Japanese DSi, or what languages it lets you choose. Mine has English, French, and Espanoles. (I know I spelled that wrong.)

    And you will have access to the Japanese DSiware shop I think, which means that most DSiware games would probably be mostly japanese...
     
  4. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You cannot change your dsi language to English. Nintendo does it again >.> I hope the 3DS will have it like the DS phat and Lite!
     
  5. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,175
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    We'd have to have NAND access first... If anyone worthwhile was even working on it, it would probably take ~2 years.
     
  6. |<roni&g
    OP

    Newcomer |<roni&g Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From what i've read, changing the language isnt possible on a original jap DSi, too bad, i might buy my supercard now so i can have a play around with it, & if the japanese stuff is too much effort im gonna sell it & get a EU 1 like i should of in the 1st place.
    alough i might sell it & wait for a 3DS flash cart to be released & then grab a console
     

Share This Page