Is there a way you can find out how much Watts your computer uses and

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by rhyguy, Jun 28, 2008.

  1. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm considering upgrading my graphics card, but i dont want to buy a new psu.
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    What rating PSU do you have now? If your PSU is too weak, your GPU will choke if you get a newer one. It sucks, but that's the way it is.
     
  3. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    It depends on your other components. 500 Watt should be enough for HD 4780 Radeon, if you also have a dual core intel cpu, quad core and you are playing with fire. 600+ is more than enough. However, the new nVidia GPU will require much more.
     
  4. lewjay

    Member lewjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Look for something called Kill-a-watt.
     
  5. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    its a dell comp, with 350W psu currently, running a q6600 g0 overclocked to 3ghz and an 8600gt, and i was thinking of getting a ati 46XX or a 4850

    That suggests i could get at most a 3850
     
  6. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats waaay to weak for a 8800GT or any new decent card. It won't be enough under peak power.
    Even 450W would be pushing it a bit.
     
  7. santorix10

    Member santorix10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Rochester, NY - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Open up your PC, and look at the power supply. (I don't mean to be a jerk, but that's kinda obvious.)
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Not true at all, Xcalibur.
    This is a Dell. Dell makes some quality PSUs, and I'm telling you, chances are he will be able to run an 8800GT on his PSU.
    He'll be fine. However, if you really don't want to risk it.
    I suggest you get an Antec Earthwatts 430W PSU.
     
  9. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Seconded, Antec makes awesome PSUs.
     
  10. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  12. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    That's probably your best way to find out how much watts it uses.
     
  14. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    i was gonna post that!!! [​IMG]


    I'd switch to ATI over the new line of cards, NVIDIA's new stuff (200 series) kinda went downhill compares to the 4800's
     
  15. morcar

    Member morcar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have an Intel 2 Quad Q6600 With G0 Stepping that runs at 2.4GHz, 2GB 1066MHz DDR2 Corsair Dominator and a XFX 8800GTS 320MB and i have it running on a 650Watt PSU. You also want to look at the Amp of the 12V rail as the gfx cards really needs this to be up at least around the 15amp mark.
     

Share This Page