Hardware Is there a way you can find out how much Watts your computer uses and

Rayder

Mostly lurking lately....
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
6,606
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
589
Country
United States
What rating PSU do you have now? If your PSU is too weak, your GPU will choke if you get a newer one. It sucks, but that's the way it is.
 

Westside

Sogdiana
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
It depends on your other components. 500 Watt should be enough for HD 4780 Radeon, if you also have a dual core intel cpu, quad core and you are playing with fire. 600+ is more than enough. However, the new nVidia GPU will require much more.
 

rhyguy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
1,375
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
Website
Visit site
XP
256
Country
its a dell comp, with 350W psu currently, running a q6600 g0 overclocked to 3ghz and an 8600gt, and i was thinking of getting a ati 46XX or a 4850

QUOTE(http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=766765) said:
Notes:

* The Inspiron 530 with a Quad comes with a 350W power supply that should handle a video card up to an 8800gt without upgrade (I'm running an x800xl that consumes around the same).

That suggests i could get at most a 3850
 

xcalibur

Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
3,163
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Sacred Heart
XP
657
Country
rhyguy said:
its a dell comp, with 350W psu currently, running a q6600 g0 overclocked to 3ghz and an 8600gt, and i was thinking of getting a ati 46XX or a 4850

QUOTE(http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=766765) said:
Notes:

* The Inspiron 530 with a Quad comes with a 350W power supply that should handle a video card up to an 8800gt without upgrade (I'm running an x800xl that consumes around the same).

That suggests i could get at most a 3850

Thats waaay to weak for a 8800GT or any new decent card. It won't be enough under peak power.
Even 450W would be pushing it a bit.
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
273
Country
Brazil
Xcalibur said:
rhyguy said:
its a dell comp, with 350W psu currently, running a q6600 g0 overclocked to 3ghz and an 8600gt, and i was thinking of getting a ati 46XX or a 4850

QUOTE(http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=766765) said:
Notes:

* The Inspiron 530 with a Quad comes with a 350W power supply that should handle a video card up to an 8800gt without upgrade (I'm running an x800xl that consumes around the same).

That suggests i could get at most a 3850

Thats waaay to weak for a 8800GT or any new decent card. It won't be enough under peak power.
Even 450W would be pushing it a bit.

Not true at all, Xcalibur.
This is a Dell. Dell makes some quality PSUs, and I'm telling you, chances are he will be able to run an 8800GT on his PSU.
He'll be fine. However, if you really don't want to risk it.
I suggest you get an Antec Earthwatts 430W PSU.
 

Westside

Sogdiana
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
2,904
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Guantanamo bay
Website
Visit site
XP
910
Country
Uzbekistan
ZeWarrior said:
Xcalibur said:
rhyguy said:
its a dell comp, with 350W psu currently, running a q6600 g0 overclocked to 3ghz and an 8600gt, and i was thinking of getting a ati 46XX or a 4850

QUOTE(http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=766765) said:
Notes:

* The Inspiron 530 with a Quad comes with a 350W power supply that should handle a video card up to an 8800gt without upgrade (I'm running an x800xl that consumes around the same).

That suggests i could get at most a 3850

Thats waaay to weak for a 8800GT or any new decent card. It won't be enough under peak power.
Even 450W would be pushing it a bit.

Not true at all, Xcalibur.
This is a Dell. Dell makes some quality PSUs, and I'm telling you, chances are he will be able to run an 8800GT on his PSU.
He'll be fine. However, if you really don't want to risk it.
I suggest you get an Antec Earthwatts 430W PSU.
Seconded, Antec makes awesome PSUs.
 

xcalibur

Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
3,163
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Sacred Heart
XP
657
Country

juggernaut911

GBAtemp Slut!
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
4,164
Trophies
0
Age
10
Website
google.com
XP
937
Country
United States
Linkiboy said:
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

Put in all of your specs, then change the graphics card...

i was gonna post that!!!
frown.gif



I'd switch to ATI over the new line of cards, NVIDIA's new stuff (200 series) kinda went downhill compares to the 4800's
 

morcar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
142
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.tredegarforum.com
XP
184
Country
I have an Intel 2 Quad Q6600 With G0 Stepping that runs at 2.4GHz, 2GB 1066MHz DDR2 Corsair Dominator and a XFX 8800GTS 320MB and i have it running on a 650Watt PSU. You also want to look at the Amp of the 12V rail as the gfx cards really needs this to be up at least around the 15amp mark.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: illicit substances