Gaming Is japanese DSi with a R4 gold pro playable?

SwENeMbO

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
19
Country
Chile
Hello, I recently bought a Japanese DSi through Ebay, and I had some doubts

My Doubts are:

1) Is it possible to play games in Spanish (or at least in a language other than Japanese), with an R4i gold pro (according to the r4isdhc product section webpage)? (I'm really not interested in dsware and all that kind of stuff)

2) Currently, is it possible to change the console language to English?

So much thanks :)
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,971
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
19,072
Country
Antarctica
Yeh, just dump your PAL copies or obtain them somehow.

Ehh.. I have no clue if it supports it out of the box but with some tinkering, you might be able to (softmods etc)
Altho I advice against it if you've got no clue what you're doing.
Having hardware NAND access is the best case scenario as you can recover from a brick.
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,193
Trophies
2
XP
8,937
Country
Germany
First of all: I’m not sure about all things concerning DSi. Parts of the text below may be inaccurate or even wrong. I wrote it to the best of my knowledge.
==============

As far as I know the Japanese version does not offer additional languages for “Launcher”. The DSi has a region lock – but this is only active for DSiWare and the very few DSi exclusive carts. DS games and DSi enhanced games are region free.

Non-Japanese games most likely don’t contain Japanese language and most games will fall back to the English default instead. Manual language selection is only possible in few games because of… No idea?!

Maybe the flashcart firmware/kernel supports enforcing different languages for the games. I don’t know. My AceKard 2i (AKAIO) does not do it; at least I could not find anything.

What definitely is possible: Installing custom firmware and replacing the normal Launcher with TWiLight Menu++ . This does support setting languages for each game and for the menu itself. You could use it instead of your flashcart or to launch your flashcart (if supported) with different language settings or both.

When it comes to modifying the actual firmware on the DSi NAND… I would rather not do this (unless you have a hardmod) and I have no idea how to do it. The next best thing to modify the normal Launcher menu is FreeNAND. You would have to obtain files from a US or EU DSi in order to use it. Don’t ask for such here as those files obviously contain Nintendo copyrighted material. Keep in mind that the normal Launcher does on HiyaCFW (SDNAND/“EmuNAND”) only works when less than 2GB are free on your SD card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
3,193
Trophies
2
XP
8,937
Country
Germany
That's surprising - it's there in Wood (point to rom, Y=properties, Y=settings, R=page 2, below the per-game soft reset and AR engine selection)
Strange… I don’t even have a page 2 in the ROM settings.
[…]
Soft-Reset
Cheat/Action Replay
Bypass AntiPiracy

[end].
AKAIO v1.9.0 HW:81 (AceKard 2i)

Do I have wrong/outdated/bad kernel software?

====
My R4i Gold 3DS (r4ids.cn) with Wood 1.64 is currently not here – can’t test this one. If I remember correctly the options is there on the R4.
 

Clector

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
1,034
Trophies
0
Location
Not here
XP
409
Country
Bangladesh
If your flashcart has an option to force a language you can use that, if not there's one option, you can boot the original DS firmware (or the Lite one) converted in a .nds from a flashcart and change the language from there, it will work for DS games fine, but for the most part note that it won't affect DSi things.
If one wants to change it back to original and so in an European or American DSi cahnging the language to another one works; if the console region doesn't have the languge setting I guess that the only way from the DSi menu is making a system format, so in that cases just change it back to the original one using the Original DS or Lite firmware in .nds from a flashcart instead.

----
Also about that, Wood has that option, but AKAIO doesn't.
 

Necron

Lurking~
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
1,058
Trophies
0
Location
Mi casa
XP
1,844
Country
Chile
Pink Japanese DSi here. Twilight Menu++ with a 1 or 2 gb SD works perfectly for me, no need for the extra flashcart. It gives options to set up any language in a game (if such language is available in the game)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol