1. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm wanting to use an auto payload so I don't have to use my PC all the time.
    Apparently if you're on 4.1.0 you can do this.

    Anyone know?
     
  2. Djakku

    Djakku Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Long story short :
    Downgrading will result in a fuse count mismatch and the only way to bypass it would be to use a payload.
     
    leafeon34 likes this.
  3. monkeyman4412

    monkeyman4412 Gbatemp's moronic trash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,655
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on 8.1.0 then you can't downgrade really if you haven't already setup autorcm previously or actively using it.
     
  4. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    So I'm always going to have to use a PC to boot up CFW?
     
  5. monkeyman4412

    monkeyman4412 Gbatemp's moronic trash
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,655
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much. Unless there is a exploit found for versions 8.1.0+ in software that is accessible
     
  6. EmulateLife

    EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,992
    Country:
    United States
    Unless your Switch frequently goes dead from using the battery all the way, you can just use sleep mode.

    There is also a way to send payloads from your phone.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,684
    Country:
    United States
    If you have an unpatched unit, either get a payload dongle or modchip.
     
    stephrk398 and Lacius like this.
  8. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    A quick question regarding something else. I have an EmuNand Toggler. If I just power the switch on normally, does that boot default into SysNAND?
     
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,915
    Country:
    United States
    On 8.1.0 on an unpatched system, yes, unless you have AutoRCM installed and your fuse count is low.

    If you install a modchip, you can autoboot to CFW. Otherwise, you must use something like a PC or Android (or dongle) to push a payload each time you power off the system and want to return to CFW.

    That being said, the Switch should be left in sleep mode when unused. You should rarely require a PC.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  10. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm buying a Payload Dongle now off Amazon. Do you know how to use these though? Does it just make it so the Payload can be loaded without a PC or?
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,915
    Country:
    United States
    You plug in the dongle while the Switch is in RCM instead of plugging the Switch into a computer.
     
  12. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    Two more questions.
    I can load SysNAND by just booting my switch normally, right? And playing on Wifi and Online on SysNAND is safe, right?

    Also, how do I use wifi on EmuNAND without getting banned? Like, how do I download things from Homebrew etc without wifi if I can't use wifi on EmuNAND?
     
  13. EmulateLife

    EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,992
    Country:
    United States
    I mean there's a homebrew store to download apps I think but I've never used it. I download all my homebrew on a computer and then just add it. I never use wifi.

    Also playing online with CFW is never safe. That's not what emunand is for. Or did you mean going online when not in CFW?
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  14. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes I meant going online in SysNAND lol. Not in EmuNAND (Which is my CFW).
     
  15. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,915
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't have AutoRCM installed, that is correct.

    If the sysNAND is clean (you've never used hacks with it), that is correct.

    You need to install 90DNS and/or Incognito to the emuNAND (not the sysNAND). If you're paranoid, use both. Some downloads might be slower with 90DNS, which is why I recommend Incognito.
     
    Djakku likes this.
  16. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    With Incognito, how do I use it? I have it downloaded and in my switch.
     
  17. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,915
    Country:
    United States
    Run Incognito and install it. It can't be installed with Atmosphere due to prodinfo protections, and it's recommended you temporarily use SX OS (free trial version) or ReiNX to do it.

    Make sure you keep a backup of your prodinfo, and make sure you only do this on your dirty emuNAND.
     
  18. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry I'm new to all of this. I can't use Atmosphere CFW to use this?

    Oh it says I can revert back to Atmosphere after I install it. Do you have Discord or something?

    Edit: I just found this, does it work? https://gbatemp.net/threads/a-custo...phere-that-allows-writing-to-prodinfo.541609/
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  19. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,915
    Country:
    United States
    That (or something like it) will work, and might be more convenient if you're using an emuNAND.
     
    tabzer likes this.
  20. homework

    OP homework GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    So just to confirm, I use Incognito and that's it? I can use WIFI on EmuNAND CFW safely? (not go online though in games).
    Or do I have to use Incognito everytime I enter CFW?

    Edit: Got an error in Incognito.

    error: failed writing serial
    new serial: *serial here*
    fin, please reboot

    Is this normal?
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgrade, possible,