Is it me or firefox freezes a lot

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by shakirmoledina, Feb 20, 2012.

Feb 20, 2012
  1. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    Hey guys,
    Here's some sort of frustration i am getting while using firefox. It crashes, all the time!

    it was fine with 10 but the update (10.0.1) gave me a plethora of issues whereby u open a 2 or 3 sites and it freezes. I have to close and open and again the same issues come immediately. I installed 11 beta 2 and it was working fine then came beta 3. pathetic as it started crashing again.

    finally have shifted to chrome. its more stable and faster and lighter... and its google. now i know why hardcore firefox lovers (like me) after shifting to google chrome.

    i will only come back if there is a special add-on not available on chrome.

    Do you have the same experiences as me?
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...lighter? Chrome's memory footprint is actually larger than FireFox... at least for me it is (5x40MB compared to FF being 80MB). There are a few things I prefer with FF, but I'm only switching to Chrome because there's one major issue I always have with FF - secure sites (like bank sites) fail to send applications properly (e.g. secure verification used for online payments).

    EDIT: Also, Chrome takes half a second less to load, but a full second longer to load tabs/pages (tested with 3 tabs - tumblr, anime site and gbatemp). And this is with one of the fastest SSDs available. FF is faster overall.
     
  3. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think he meant interface wise.
    I have used Chrome for the past year and found it to be my favourite browser out of the lot. It now supports nearly every extension (and those it doesn't, there's alternatives) and I love its simple, lightweight, synced interface. But my favourite thing about it is how it integrates with everything else. I have loads of other google things (gmail, docs, youtube and plus when it becomes available) and it syncs all these different things really well, no matter what computer you use, all your settings etc. are still there.

    More on-topic: I have also noticed that firefox does freeze a lot, although I had been using Aurora (until recently now that normal FF has caught up) so that may have something to do with it.
     
  4. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could experiment whether the crashing occuurs simply becuase of the old profile you have or just the browser in general by creating a new firefox profile
     
  5. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I find Chrome to be a bit better than FF. I don't have the 3 tabs taking longer to load problems...I have 6 load on start and none of them have any problems. I've been using Chrome ever since they went into Beta testing...works like a charm and I just can't go back to Firefox.
     
  6. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have not had these issues, granted I use OpenSuSE 12.1+Linux Mint 12 but it should be irrelivant which OS I use. Hell even under Windows I fail to have these issues.

    Also Dter ic has a good idea, you should try creating a new profile. Make sure you export your bookmarks first though.

    I do use Chrome from time to time, but until NoScript is entirely stable on it, as is Flash in Linux, I cannot switch entirely. Not sure if I would though, I rather like Firefox.
     
  7. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    Tab wise, chrome drives me nuts. I had to download a bunch of addons to get anywhere near the functionality of FF, and it still isn't THAT good. I can't stand that it tries to keep every tab visible by making them tiny, unlike firefox's scrolling thing where they stay a decent size and you can scroll through them, which makes finding tabs easy.

    But otherwise yeah I find Chrome to be a lot better.
    After a FF update mine also froze and crashed constantly. It drove me bonkers so I stopped using it entirely. Now it wont even load properly. If I fire it up, it just freezes. Uninstalling and reinstalling did nothing. It's weird.
     
  8. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I use Firefox Alpha with no issues. It functions well and has yet to disappoint me. Aurora is some fine stuff.
     
  9. X_XSlashX_X

    Member X_XSlashX_X GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Buffalo New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah Firefox with me every time I wanted to open it up I had to run as admin. If I just regularly clicked it, it would pop up then freeze so I could never use it. And eventually this got way too annoying cause it was so just so slow and everything so I got Chrome and I haven't had a problem since.
     
  10. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i agree, i was using firefox a few mins ago and it just reminded me why i shifted to chrome. lack of testing... lack of testing.
     
  11. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You must be very inefficient at web browsing to constantly have that many tabs open :P Personally, if I'm doing a project or w/e and need a lot of tabs I open more than one window and group the windows by category.
     
  12. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    On the contrary I find it incredibly inefficient to have to keep opening sites up that I want to visit. I also tend to keep tabs up of sites I like to check often so I can just quickly flick to it, and check it. As well, I also keep some tabs open just to remind myself to check the site, since I have a really bad memory.

    As long as a browser has a good tab system, my methods aren't inefficient at all. Chrome just limits me to 30 tabs, which isn't that bad. Usually. Though I do have an addon for a dropdown list of all tabs so even then I can easily find what i'm lookin' for.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    AMAZING NEW IDEA; TRY TO FIX THE ISSUE!

    In firefox, go to "about:support" in the URL bar (no quotes), click the copy button, and paste it here for us.
     
  14. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    He did fix the issue.

    He downloaded Chrome and started using it instead.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Give a man a fish, teach a man blah blah blah.

    I advocate learning, not ignorance.
     
  16. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Whats wrong with Firefox 8?
    How much Chrome can be good; its not firefox.
     

Share This Page