iPhone Update Question

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by Raiser, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. Raiser
    OP

    Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Member
    1,565
    40
    May 31, 2008
    Canada
    Does updating the firmware have the same effect as restoring (in terms of removing all files, games, etc.)?

    If so, is there a way (or will there be a way) to update from 3.1.2 to 4 without losing high scores in games and such?

    Thanks!
     
  2. alidsl

    alidsl I am now a lurker

    Member
    2,823
    279
    May 27, 2009
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Just update no files are lost

    It's just like any other update
     
  3. Raiser
    OP

    Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Member
    1,565
    40
    May 31, 2008
    Canada
    Okay thanks for the help.

    I never actually updated with files on before. When I first bought my iPhone, I updated right away to 3.1.2 and haven't done anything else since.
     
  4. Urza

    Urza hi

    Member
    6,493
    89
    Jul 18, 2007
    United States
    Actually, updating your firmware does erase everything on the device.

    You won't get your files back until the next iTunes sync.
     
  5. C175R

    C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Member
    662
    0
    Sep 12, 2009
    United States
    if you do the Update now you won't get the IOS 4.0.
    theres a new update 4.0.1. If you wana jailbreak, you should check if 4.0.1 is able to jailbreak or/and unlock it.
     
  6. Urza

    Urza hi

    Member
    6,493
    89
    Jul 18, 2007
    United States
    Which is easily solved by getting the IPSW file containing IOS4.
     
  7. BakuFunn

    BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Member
    1,174
    1
    Apr 6, 2007
    United States
    New York
    No, actually, it just updates it.
    This is why after updating, you don't have to re-sync all of your music and apps, because it's still there. Only the OS is deleted and updated.
     
  8. Urza

    Urza hi

    Member
    6,493
    89
    Jul 18, 2007
    United States
    If you do a cumulative update rather than full restore, which is generally not recommended.
     
  9. BakuFunn

    BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Member
    1,174
    1
    Apr 6, 2007
    United States
    New York
    You mean clicking the update button? There are no cumulative ones. iTunes deletes the firmware on the iPhone, then extracts the new one in.
    Restoring is wiping the whole iPhone, then putting in the firmware.

    Same method.
     
  10. Urza

    Urza hi

    Member
    6,493
    89
    Jul 18, 2007
    United States
    Cumulative as in it only formats the one partition, leaving the other untouched.
     
  11. BakuFunn

    BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Member
    1,174
    1
    Apr 6, 2007
    United States
    New York
    That is the standard way to update an iDevice.
    Restoring is recommended only to fix errors and shoot it back into a factory reset.


    EDIT: I see it's your GBAtemp anniversary. Best wishes, I enjoy arguing with you.
     
  12. Urza

    Urza hi

    Member
    6,493
    89
    Jul 18, 2007
    United States
    Personally I've always clean restored on updates, as (at least in the past) doing default updates would occasionally cause issues due to certain settings not being cleaned up.