I'm going nuts!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mattm025, Nov 3, 2007.

Nov 3, 2007

I'm going nuts! by mattm025 at 3:16 AM (1,669 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I just had the wiikey installed and now I've reached the point of frustration. I've used up 7 dvds (2 brands), went through 3 burning programs (IMGburn, Nero, and Deep Burner) and 4 different write speeds (1x, 2x, 4x, and 8x) and I still get "unable to read disc." Any suggestions on installing 1.9g?
     
  2. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Provide more information. Does your WiiKey work at all? Can your Wii read original Wii discs? original GameCube discs? backup Wii discs? backup GC discs? any wiikey setup or update discs? What type of Wii do you have? What drive controller chip does it have? What is your current Wii firmware?
     
  3. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I hope my Wiikey works. I just had it put in! I don't suppose there is a way to test it without using any backups? The only things I have tried to burn/run are 1.9g and SMG and every disc of 1.9g and super mario galaxy don't show up when I put it in. I tested my original games (Wii and GC) and they do work and play as they should. As for what version of the wiikey I have or what drive controller chip I have, I don't know. I had it installed for me. I do know that it was a launch Wii though. The wii is also at firmware version 3.1US.
     
  4. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    sounds like a bad chip/install, most likely install.
     
  5. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried using the wiikey config disk? My wii wouldn't read any other disk until I used that one. Then again my chip isn't an original wiikey modchip, but one flashed from openwii. Worth a try though... everything worked after that for me. [​IMG]
     
  6. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    It's worth a try. I'll give an update in a bit.

    Edit: Just wondering, how would the config disc make the others work? I just don't see how that would work.
     
  7. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    So I tried the config disc and its still is a no go. According to some things I've been reading, it seems the dude might of put in a clone instead of the actual thing. Which is why the discs won't read. From what I've read, update 3.0 stopped clones from working. Is there some way around update 3.0 for clones?
     
  8. ozzyzak

    Member ozzyzak GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the guy botched the install. I have a clone installed in mine and it works perfectly. I'm also on update 3.1
     
  9. akiller

    Newcomer akiller Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I've done mine 3 minutes ago
    Just eject the disc before press button A or reset key to test/update the firmware, it should do the job.
     
  10. maddk

    Newcomer maddk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did yours actually play SMG? cuz mine keeps giving me the 001 error when i did this.
     
  11. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Kinda hard to do that when disc doesn't even run. I'm not getting any errors, it just won't load.
     
  12. jimmyjam

    Newcomer jimmyjam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to say it sounds like a duff install. Get it fixed.
     
  13. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    test it with something that doesn't require GCOS or a wiikey update...
    like an old wii game..
     
  14. maddk

    Newcomer maddk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Brazil
    Tried the other backups... everything works fine, but the galaxy =/
     
  15. Clushje

    Newcomer Clushje Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, bad install if no backups are being recognized.
     
  16. Demios

    Newcomer Demios Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Ireland
    im having the exact same problem (Unable to read disc...i.e. cant try the MP3 trick)...i can get the game to load once i regionFrii and blockbrick it, but then i get the famous black screen..I really i havent screwed up my wii, since i upgraded to 1.9g weird things have been happening on my wii also...Manhunt 2 sound is skipping+old GC games arent reading anymore...Should i re-enter a config disc...also im almost 100% percent i have a real wiikey, i bought it from a dealer linked on the offical website...Any ideas would help guys!

    Firmware 3.1e
    Wiikey Firmware 1.9g
    Pal Wii.
     

Share This Page