Hacking if a 3DS Flashcart came with DS flashcart style setup came. Would you buy one?

would you buy one?

  • Yes

  • No

  • Maybe


Results are only viewable after voting.

Flame

Me > You
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
7,179
Trophies
3
XP
18,117
by DS style i mean it enters into a GUI from the icon. no payloads or no buttons.

then allows you to surf with a GUI like the AKAIO or R4 wood firmwares.

Would you buy one?
 

Flame

Me > You
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
7,179
Trophies
3
XP
18,117
Stargate already does this all 3ds features work on the ds gui no need to use the buttons

what @Technicmaster0 said.

its nice and all playing games garyopa, but when i think of flashcart i think of homebrew. im old fashioned like that.

with the community working together like we did with the AKAIO.

like a SDK.


edit:

i just want to make it clear, im a CFW crackhead. but a part of me wants a flashcart with a good sdk with its own processor, to do crazy homebrews.

but its a dream. i know flashcarts are a money grab.
 
Last edited by Flame,

garyopa

Admin @ MaxConsole
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
777
Trophies
0
Location
Tropical Island
Website
www.O-P-A.biz
XP
9,477
Country
Canada
what @Technicmaster0 said.

its nice and all playing games garyopa, but when i think of flashcart i think of homebrew. im old fashioned like that.

with the community working together like we did with the AKAIO. like a SDK.

i just want to make it clear, im a CFW crackhead. but a part of me wants a flashcart with a good sdk with its own processor, to do crazy homebrews.

but its a dream. i know flashcarts are a money grab.

Stargate going to be releasing their own emulators which launch from ds side but have full access to n3ds power, and i will speak to them about maybe putting together a sdk or framework for others to be able to compile their homebrew to do the same, would be nice bonus.

@Technicmaster0 -- Yes, features are lacking currently with v1.0 firmware, but lots more features are coming, the new firmware under testing is amazing, so time will tell.
 

Spider_Man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,909
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
5,108
Country
United States
Stargate already does this all 3ds features work on the ds gui no need to use the buttons
and it also boots 3ds roms from the ds menu.

i am loving the stargate card, even the mrs is loving how simple it is to boot either ds or 3ds roms all in one place.
 

ZoNtendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
585
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
709
Country
I love the concept of the Stargate3ds but sadly the DS GUi mode isn't really attractive.

The only flashcard GUi I liked to browse ROM was the one of the DSTWO, had his own SDK and even had an ingame menu for NDS games.

After all Stargate is new, I hope it'll get regular update and for a long time, that how a flashcard survive.
 

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,390
Trophies
2
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
3,438
Country
Gambia, The
Stargate going to be releasing their own emulators which launch from ds side but have full access to n3ds power, and i will speak to them about maybe putting together a sdk or framework for others to be able to compile their homebrew to do the same, would be nice bonus.

@Technicmaster0 -- Yes, features are lacking currently with v1.0 firmware, but lots more features are coming, the new firmware under testing is amazing, so time will tell.
Nice if they want to make own Emulators, but currently already existing Ds homebrew does not have SD access. It's a long way to go for own emulators and I will only believe that the emulators use 3ds power if I see it. The Ds mode is sadboxed.
Features like softreset and cheats are not possible for 3ds game the way the Stargate works.
 

TankedThomas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
619
Trophies
1
Location
New Zealand
XP
529
Country
New Zealand
I don't really see the point. Stargate does it and will likely improve over time. You can get cheap DS flashcards which do all the DS stuff just fine. There's the slow-running DeSmume port and there's TWLoader which is getting better all the time. Along with existing custom firmware, cards like Gateway and Stargate are already pretty irrelevant but hey, if someone does what Stargate did but does it better, I'd still at least be interested - I just don't see the need.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    originally it was meant to have actual metroids and space pirates in it but they changed it over the course of developemtn, it got delayed due to them waiting for the network capabilities to be there fully to take advantage of the full network service etc which launched later
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    the demo has actual metroids in it too
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    it only has basically multiplayer stages/trials, the demo but still it wasn't too bad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    you already said it had metroids
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but yea...I still enjoyed the final game... no i mean the demo might not have had them given it was demo but it did
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    there were still some metroid like enemies in the final, like those leeches or what they were
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    either way the story got changed a bit but still, you can progress in singleplayer in not strictly a linear way at some point you can pick a planet to go to first after the initial stuff...and it can be challenging...theres also a bad ending and a good ending with the second final boss fight
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    i like that its more action based and yet allows you more freedom than some of the later metroid games
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I think overall my personal favorites are the original gameboy metroid 2 and metroid hunters, thouh i havent played hunters for about a decade
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but still, what i played was great
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I also played other ds fps games like the call of duty ds games and goldeneye rogue agent
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    and im also convinced that it uses a heavily modified unreal engine that got changed...you see there was a cancelled nintendo 64 DD port of Unreal (due to N64DD not coming out) that was based on an alpha/beta version of Unreal but re-written almost completely
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    if you change the display mode it has some of the same graphical glitches like Unreal 0.83 had for example and I saw editor screenshots from one of the level designers
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    it looked to me like a heavily changed unreal editor
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    also it had some models for "mover" this and that and that is something Unreal uses for terminology
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I talked to this developer and when I revealed that, he stopped talking
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    mhm
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    probably because the engine got obtained via not a direct route and I suppose they didn't have a direct deal with epic and it was significatnly changed anyways
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but I saw what I saw lol. it seems to be still based on it just like proper metroid prime seems to be based on unreal warfare to some degree, the physics of the water are almost identical and other things
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    even if it became an "additive world" that actually was the default state of things in unreal until they changed it, and its still possible to hack it in any version of the game to not use subtractive model
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    additive world?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    so yea i believe the routes point to the cancelled n64dd port of Unreal and whatever deal was left out of that, it was developed by the lemmings guy, DMA, well more like the branch that also developed hired guns(the cancelled ue remake), they got renamed to devils thumb iirc?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    yea...as in the world is additive..its all void and you have to place something in it to start..where subtractive world is filled with mass, with one giant "cube" that is a mass and you have to cut something out of it
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    that's how making levels for unreal work typically...but until version 0.84 it was additive by default
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    its still all constructive geometry though
    LeoTCK @ LeoTCK: its still all constructive geometry though