IDE to SATA

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Satangel, Dec 21, 2007.

Dec 21, 2007

IDE to SATA by Satangel at 12:46 PM (724 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm planning on buying a new PC, and I have an older 250 GB IDE hard drive.
    I want to put that 250 GB IDE hard drive in the new PC, but the new PC has a SATA hard drive.

    What are the possibilities of connecting an IDE HD to a SATA mobo?

    And btw is SATA the newest HD interface? Or does something better exist, ie SATA 2?
     
  2. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The majority of modern SATA motherboards will still have an IDE port on them (perhaps just the 1) for connecting IDE optical drives so it shouldn't be a problem.
     
  3. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    most new mobos have still ide slots for the dvd - cd roms .
    so you can plug your hd.
    sata 2 has better speeds than sata.
    sata hds can still be connected to sata2 mobos but with sata 1 speed.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a thought but a lot of stuff has internal firewire and USB ports (failing that you can repurpose a cable: I do not know about you but firewire is something I rarely use and loosing one port would not be a problem) and I know there adaptors for those (I have several).
     
  5. Intruder

    Member Intruder GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Greece,Iraklio
    Country:
    Greece
    And something else....
    If your MoBo supports Sata II and your hard drive is Sata II remove that little jumper it has by the connection port in order to "unleash" it full speed!
     

Share This Page