I bricked my wii with cIOS v1.2...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bob124, Nov 21, 2010.

Nov 21, 2010
  1. Bob124
    OP

    Newcomer Bob124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I think i bricked my wii using custom IOS v 1.2.

    I have a 4.2U version but wanted downgrade to 3.2U (i wanted to have a fully working wad manager), everyting was fine, a successful installation message but after i reboot, i got a beautiful full black screen, nothing more (I said to myself "well.. it's not usual"). [​IMG]

    I tryed to access the system menu when holding the reset button but i got nothing, without sd card and cd.. i can power on my wii using the controller but after it's disconnect, i have only one blue flash when i boot, i don't have a NAND backup too.

    And now i don't know what to do.. any suggestion ?
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use it as a paperweight. Unfortunately ur screwed...
     
  3. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    do you have bootmii@boot2? ...if so, load you bootmii files onto you SD and get to HBC to reload IOS70/SM4.2

    what version of boot2 do you have?

    if you had boot2v4, you cannot downgrade to
     
  4. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    infectus sounds like your only option. Shame DeadlyFoez left.
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    DF can still be reached....search the forums here for his email addy...i think he charges $40 for NAND reflash
     
  6. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    boot2 has nothing to do with the system menu, any wii can be downgraded to any system menu 1.0-4.3+. However, some newer wiis crash when loading ios30-v1040. This crash is what has caused this brick, not boot2. Anyone who wishes to downgrade their wii should install ios60-v6174 into the system menu ios slot of the desired system menu, this provided support for system menu 1.0-4.3+ for all wiis regardless of boot2 version or hardware at this time.

    Also, people should use up dated information and applications and not use methods that are over a year old, then you won't end up bricking your wii. There is good reason these guides are updated on a regular basis, to ensure compatibility. What was true last year is not true today.
     
  7. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Wiis shipped with System Menu 4.0 or up can't be downgraded to 3.x or less or they'll brick.
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    So...basically, you used an outdated program (I assume you're refering to custom IOS downloader...which was a program from 2 years ago) to do something that is ill-advised to say the least (3.2 offers NOTHING over 4.2...wad manager works fine on all firmwares), skipped over all safety nets (bootmii, priiloader) or updated guides (hint: they're stickied on top of this forum section) and now you want us to help you out of your mess?

    Sorry about the loss of your wii, but your action wasn't smart by any standard.
     
  9. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    The only thing we can do for you is arrange a funeral for your Wii, honestly.
     
  10. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe a little bit nicer would be better... I mean, if you don't want to help then don't post..

    Anyway, get it to nintendo [​IMG]. If you are lucky they won't charge you and send you a fixed one back [​IMG]
    Just tell them that your wii was frozen during the update.
     
  11. Bob124
    OP

    Newcomer Bob124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.. ok, so i'm screwed..

    Using Savemii will do nothing?
     
  12. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No since savemii only works with a working system menu but you don't have that, send it to nintendo, thats your only choice :S
     
  13. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fixed. 2 + 2 = 4 was true last year and I'm 99% sure it's true this year.
     
  14. Bob124
    OP

    Newcomer Bob124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Well, then i'll call nintendo [​IMG]

    Thank you for all your quick responses ! [​IMG]
     
  15. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't do that if I were you......
     
  16. Bob124
    OP

    Newcomer Bob124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    Huh.. why?

    What would YOU do? [​IMG]
     
  17. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Its better to try than to leave it bricked.

    Anyway, its your wii so you decide what to do @thread starter.
     
  18. King Of Chaos

    Member King Of Chaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    You might as well buy a new Wii and don't attempt to downgrade it!
     
  19. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well.. Theres a small chance that they are going to check your wii....

    In most cases (like mine) they will just check whats wrong with it (in your case black screen), they will just send you a new wii and you can enjoy playing your games [​IMG]

    If you are unlucky, they will not fix it until you pay money (thats probably more expensive than a new one)

    Or, you leave it and place it on a bookshelf.
     
  20. Bob124
    OP

    Newcomer Bob124 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, i have just another question, at last, if i take a modchip like the "Wiikey Fusion Modchip", in the description that say "Direct Boot of Wii original, import, and backup games", does it will work to play my games? i
     

Share This Page