Homebrew Question How well does the Dolphin emulator work on the switch?

alucard77

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
501
Trophies
1
XP
501
Country
United States
I have been thinking of hacking an existing switch that I have, but I was wondering, how well is dolphin working on the switch at this point. Searching around I am seeing a severly mixed bag.

From what I can see, you can either run it via android or linux.

Then you have to over clock.

So here are some quick questions.
- Can Wii games play on this? Things like SMG, SMG2, Punch Out?
- Can GC play at full speed with hacks on?

If it can, how high up do you have to over clock to get these working?

I am just wondering, because I was going to buy a second switch, but if it's not the best, I am going to be looking for different alternatives.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
Dolphin only works in Lakka and Android basically they're different OS' you boot into. Wii games are hit or miss. Probably less than games 50% work. I understand GC games work alot better than Wii.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
I should add that I really only have knowledge about Lakka but for Android you have to have a dedicated sd card for it and you have to switch out sd cards and boot it from it. Not sure how good Dolphin works for it. Lakka on the other hand you can add it to your existing sd card and you can send payload between your main CFW and Lakka on the same card.

I was also looking at playing certain games that require motion controls with a regular controller recently it's not easy on certain games that are exclusive and meant for motion controls. Your best bet might be a gaming PC or possibly a pad that can handle Dolphin, if there is one.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,
D

Deleted User

Guest
That is helpful info. I would point out that l4t ubuntu and android can both be docked and used with pro controller. I would rate compatibility at slightly better than android with l4t ubuntu but since android gives you redream/dreamcast (working great) and saturn yabasanshiro aaaaand ds/drastic both things lakka cant do just yet id have to give the nod to android here
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
That is helpful info. I would point out that l4t ubuntu and android can both be docked and used with pro controller. I would rate compatibility at slightly better than android with l4t ubuntu but since android gives you redream/dreamcast (working great) and saturn yabasanshiro aaaaand ds/drastic both things lakka cant do just yet id have to give the nod to android here

How do Wii games play on Android?

I have found on Lakka Yaba Sanshiro does work on most games. I was having a freezing problem on all games but when I overclock it doesn't happen on many games anymore, but Panzer Dragoon Saga does freeze.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,

weatMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
3,305
Trophies
2
Age
47
XP
3,351
Country
United States
I should add that I really only have knowledge about Lakka but for Android you have to have a dedicated sd card for it and you have to switch out sd cards and boot it from it. Not sure how good Dolphin works for it. Lakka on the other hand you can add it to your existing sd card and you can send payload between your main CFW and Lakka on the same card.

I was also looking at playing certain games that require motion controls with a regular controller recently it's not easy on certain games that are exclusive and meant for motion controls. Your best bet might be a gaming PC or possibly a pad that can handle Dolphin, if there is one.
" Lakka on the other hand you can add it to your existing sd card and you can send payload between your main CFW and Lakka on the same card."
wow i never knew this i thought you needed a dedicated S for lakka too
so can it dual boot with SXOS and munand/ is there a tutorial on how to set it up with SXOS?
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,979
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,889
Country
United States
" Lakka on the other hand you can add it to your existing sd card and you can send payload between your main CFW and Lakka on the same card."
wow i never knew this i thought you needed a dedicated S for lakka too
so can it dual boot with SXOS and munand/ is there a tutorial on how to set it up with SXOS?

You're not dualbooting you have to send a different payload. SXOS is just a payload like Hekate or Atmosphere. I'll tell you how I do it which is even easier than most will tell you because you don't have to even send a payload to get to Lakka, you only have to send a payload to go back to SXOS when you're done.

-Get Lakka and put it on the root ofyou sd card
-Get Fusee-Starter and put it in switch folder of your sd card https://gbatemp.net/threads/fusee-starter-launch-payloads-from-hbl.533211/ You then choose Fusee-Starter in your Homebrew menu, choose 1 for Hekate this will boot you directly to Lakka, you just need to set in Hekate to Autoboot Lakka ( you can ask hekate to autoboot Lakka by going to to Launch options > Auto boot > More configs > Lakka)
-When you're done in Lakka, choose reboot to RCM
-Send SXOS payload to go back to SXOS

Note that Lakka doesn't work on ExFAT only on FAT32.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,
  • Like
Reactions: weatMod

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ,
    I remember that my uncle-in-law has (or had?) an Xbox 360 which I think was a slim one
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I've modded prob over 50 Xbox360 over the years, never have I seen a slim come back to me, only the phats. N yea most time it needs reballed.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @BigOnYa, loves Phil spencer
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Phil Spencer is a big asshole.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    No I love modding systems more than playing sometimes, I own Nintendo, PS, Atari, etc also. But true my favorite has always been xbox.
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    / mnt/lg/appstore/developer/apps/usr/palm/packages packages
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'm gonna write onlyfans for webos users now
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, webos porn
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, He acquires companies then people lose their jobs.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, do you mean when microsoft either fires hundreds of people from their subsidiaries or when they close them?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The only Xbox I ever modded was the OG one soft mod larger hard drive and all that 😊
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, show that distro to @The Catboy or @ZenIsFluffy or to any other furry here
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Only Xbox I don't have is the OG, and One X model specifically, I regret giving my chipped OG model to one of my kids years ago, after later hearing he sold it to pawn shop, damn kids!
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, You shouldn't raise Fortnite gamers.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have they own kids now that will pay them back for all the things they did to me, that's how it works, Karma.
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Tell their kids about pawn shops
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol I still got mw2 open beta on this ps4
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just recently picked up a n64 from a garage sell, and looking to mod it and add a HDMI port to it. https://www.ebay.com/itm/3548173115...044&customid=4f3038da73b61afddf7e5e90f4153856
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd like to find a power strip and HDMI selector built in 1 unit, so I can select which game system I want, and will switch to that hdmi, and power on that plug/power supply only, so don't have all game systems powered all the time, but can't find anything like. May just have to make something myself.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Maybe start a kick starter page and sell them, yea right. Big N would prob C&D me, not anything Big N related, but just because that's what they do nowdays.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Maybe start a kick starter page and sell them, yea right. Big N would prob C&D me, not anything...