1. Erfg1

    OP Erfg1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    Because of the way that Discord was built, the only time you can minimize it is when the actual chat form opens. The beginning update splash page is not part of the main form, so we need to wait for the main chat form. Also you can't give the chat form the command to minimize as it doesn't use the standard winform code. So we give it the taskkill command which Discord intercepts and minimizes to system tray instead of closing.

    1) Right click on the Discord system tray icon and uncheck the start when windows starts option.

    2) Make a .bat file with the following content:

    Code:
    @Echo off
    start /wait %LOCALAPPDATA%\Discord\Update.exe --processStart Discord.exe
    
    @For /f "Delims=:" %%A in ('tasklist /v /fi "WINDOWTITLE eq Discord"') do @if %%A==INFO echo Prog not running
    
    timeout 10
    
    taskkill /IM discord.exe
    3) Put the .bat file in your "%APPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup" folder.

    Now Discord will minimize after 10 seconds after it starts up. You can shrink the time by altering the "timeout" function.

    If you want an already made batch file visit https://newagesoldier.com/how-to-minimize-discord-on-startup/
     
    Last edited by Erfg1, Apr 24, 2017
    Tumoche and spkuja like this.
  2. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    Good tut, but how does this help anything?
     
  3. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,481
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously SOMEONE wanted this or maybe someone wouldn't have come up with a way to do so. :P

    But i just use discord in my chrome web browser, it allow live notifications via windows popup on bottom left of screen, which is nice, no need to install any apps. :)
     
    ElijahZAwesome likes this.
  4. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    I got a GBAtemp chrome extension which gives me real time notifications and I love it :)
     
  5. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,481
    Country:
    United States
  6. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
  7. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,481
    Country:
    United States
    Cause it never worked for me, so i uninstalled it. I put it in, and it just does nothing, so i removed it. No notifications or anything. But is not the proper thread to discuss that, so i'll leave it alone.:unsure:
     
  8. ElijahZAwesome

    ElijahZAwesome Hey. I exist. Woo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    833
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, not the place or time, but I had to put in some settings and it worked, I can try to see what it is and pm you if you want
     
  9. spkuja

    spkuja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Country:

    Thanks for this! It really bugs me that discord starts as a full window.
     
  10. VinLark

    VinLark This Machine Used To Kill Bourgeois Sentimentality
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, wonder if there is something like this for loonix
     
  11. Vieela

    Vieela GBATemp's official thinker™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for the tutorial!
     
  12. hobbledehoy899

    hobbledehoy899 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The Linux version of Discord is merely a browser that was "optimized" for the Discord site, you can't even properly fullscreen it.
     
  13. Seriel

    Seriel Doing her best
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So is the Windows version.
     
  14. hobbledehoy899

    hobbledehoy899 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Doesn't that have custom window theming though?
     
  15. Seriel

    Seriel Doing her best
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3,143
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    The Discord client uses Electron, which uses Chromium.
     
  16. hobbledehoy899

    hobbledehoy899 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Discord looks like shit.png
    Yeah... the Linux version doesn't.
     
    Last edited by hobbledehoy899, May 13, 2017
  17. Erfg1

    OP Erfg1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    @hobbledehoy899 Try this for Linux (make a .sh file with +x permissions)

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh 
    until wmctrl -F -c "Discord"; do sleep 2; done & 
    exec /usr/share/discord-canary/DiscordCanary
    
     
  18. hobbledehoy899

    hobbledehoy899 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The hell is that supposed to do? All I get is "./dis.sh: 3: exec: /usr/share/discord-canary/DiscordCanary: not found"
     
  19. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19,271
    Country:
    Norway
    As far as I can tell it does the same thing as the batch file.
    Canary is the beta build. I suppose you would just replace it with the path to your discord binary.
     
    hobbledehoy899 likes this.
  20. Erfg1

    OP Erfg1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have to replace the path with whatever your Discord path is.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Minimized, Discord, Start