Hardware hooking my nintendo switch to my laptop !

RACHID

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 16, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
123
Country
Morocco
hello,
I have a nintendo switch and a laptop, I wonder if there is a way to display my docked switch on my laptop screen
thanks
 

xYuunax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
333
Trophies
0
Location
Hong Kong
XP
1,690
Country
Hong Kong
If your going to spend $$ for a capture card, why not buy a monitor for the Switch instead?...unless you want to capture gameplay to upload.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,421
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,081
Country
Norway
If your going to spend $$ for a capture card, why not buy a monitor for the Switch instead?...unless you want to capture gameplay to upload.
Why bring a monitor around with you when you already have a laptop screen?
hello,
I have a nintendo switch and a laptop, I wonder if there is a way to display my docked switch on my laptop screen
thanks
Elgato Game Capture HD60S is what I have. But I use OBS for viewing the video rather than Elgato's software because Elgato's "Instant Gameview" funnily enough has much higher latency than OBS' full screen view, tested with Fast RMX which was unplayable with Elgato's software. But YMMV.
I also have a JumpGate/JumpDrive portable dock (should be brick safe) so the entire setup is pretty compact.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

Ninse

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
198
Country
France
Elgato Game Capture HD60S is what I have. But I use OBS for viewing the video rather than Elgato's software because Elgato's "Instant Gameview" funnily enough has much higher latency than OBS' full screen view, tested with Fast RMX which was unplayable with Elgato's software. But YMMV.
I also have a JumpGate/JumpDrive portable dock (should be brick safe) so the entire setup is pretty compact.
I'm looking for that too: is the other '4k' version any better latency wise for elgato cards? Do you need a powerful computer if you don't stream?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,421
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,081
Country
Norway
I'm looking for that too: is the other '4k' version any better latency wise for elgato cards? Do you need a powerful computer if you don't stream?
4K version of what?
Nah. Actually when streaming a capture card you don't need that powerful specs anyway, because your computer doesn't have to run the game, capture it and encode the video, it only has to encode the video.
 

Ninse

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
198
Country
France
4K version of what?
Nah. Actually when streaming a capture card you don't need that powerful specs anyway, because your computer doesn't have to run the game, capture it and encode the video, it only has to encode the video.
OK thanks.
This card : https://www.amazon.com/Capture-MK-2...r-Technology/dp/B07VWXCXM7/ref=dp_ob_title_ce
My logic would be that outpouting 1080p for a 4k card would be even better latency wise.

How perceptible is the lag? 0.5s? less than that?
 

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
11,145
Trophies
3
XP
6,225
Country
United States

MasterJ360

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
2,826
Trophies
1
Age
35
XP
3,524
Country
United States
I would just get the Elgato H60 S you could always upscale your footage to 4K with higher bitrate via OBS. Spending $200 on the new Elagto HD60 S+ just for a 4K capture option is too steep.
OBS seriously makes the Elgato software pointless unless you need that go back in time record feature.
 
Last edited by MasterJ360,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,421
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,081
Country
Norway
OK thanks.
This card : https://www.amazon.com/Capture-MK-2...r-Technology/dp/B07VWXCXM7/ref=dp_ob_title_ce
My logic would be that outpouting 1080p for a 4k card would be even better latency wise.

How perceptible is the lag? 0.5s? less than that?
It should have lower latency just due to being PCIe but supported resolution has little to do with it.

Not perceptible at all for me unless I'm looking for it. Certainly doesn't affect my gameplay. But everyone's tolerance for that is different.
500ms would be awful.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ninse

Ninse

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
198
Country
France
It should have lower latency just due to being PCIe but supported resolution has little to do with it.

Not perceptible at all for me unless I'm looking for it. Certainly doesn't affect my gameplay. But everyone's tolerance for that is different.
500ms would be awful.
Thanks !
I'm also planning to actually stream stuff, so it's a useful bonus to play directly in a windows screen. :)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If I get to the point I have to ride a scooter in Walmart that's when I'll tell them to just kill me
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    perpetuating the stereotype of america
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Do you not expect me to be writing this message at McDonald's drive thru?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I expected you to be writing that at the wallmart drive thru
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    We don't have that yet but it's getting close
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    also, Ken my love!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They come to our home
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'd like a Pocket 386 <З
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    they're 37% off on aliexpress now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I already went broke this month by buying porn TV glasses
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    send me those
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    kekw
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Blame Prans for talking me into them
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    hm, not bad
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    only experience I had is the oculus DK1 and DK2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's more of a type c external display
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's like a modern day view finder
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Least its better than a bulky Apple headset.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    $300 ain't so bad.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I had them in the past but they aren't worth $300
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    idk, an ex of mine had them
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Didn't they come out 2023
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    2022 at $400 definitely not worth 400
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: Hi