Help with unseen wii model number

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cooperman, Jun 21, 2012.

Jun 21, 2012
  1. cooperman
    OP

    Newcomer cooperman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning all,
    As much as I didnt want to, my first real post to this wonderful forum is asking a question ;)

    My friend has asked me to install a drivechip into his wii.
    As it has been about 4yrs since I done my own, I can see alot has changed (mine was a D2B, with the drivechip dremeled and YOASM installed, lol!!)

    The model number he gave me is 'LEM1100xxxx', but I cant see any reference to that on the Wii drive database, even a simple google search comes back with nothing.

    All I know is that the unit is just over a year old and bought from Comet here in the UK.

    Has anyone else come across one?

    Thanks in advance
    Cooperman
     
  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could it be from the new Wii's with no GC ports etc built in? @DeadlyFoez might know.
     
  3. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing you can do with that wii to hard mod it is a WODE. There is no drive chip that can be used with it. So get a WODE, replace the drive, or just use softmods.
     
  4. cooperman
    OP

    Newcomer cooperman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi KiiWii and deadlyfoez,
    Arghh, shucks.. does that mean its one of the latest revisions that won't even let me swap out the drives PCB?
    That's a shame..
    Thanks for the super fast reply though, appreciated
    Cooperman
     
  5. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Still other people with YAOSM around, that's cool. :)
    I myself have a DMS drive with one.

    Afaik you can swap drives or drive PCBs on all Wiis without a problem.
     
  6. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah swapping drives is possible.
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Drive swapping is possible, BUT, You can not put an older logic board (one that can use a modchip) on to a newer driver because they changed the connector that controls the laser.
     

Share This Page