help with tp link tl-wn321g

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by rieabbi, Jan 10, 2009.

Jan 10, 2009

help with tp link tl-wn321g by rieabbi at 12:36 AM (4,825 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    i just bought this wireless adapter. i currently have a main router running with psk encryption (which ds doesn't support)
    so i connected the adapter to my usb hub on my laptop to allow wireless network running w/out any encryption to run temporarily.
    but i just can't figure out how to do it.
    and the tray icon that shows the signal strength of the adapter is not showing any sort of color (meaning its disconnected?)
    running os is vista.
    help plz.
     
  2. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    So wait, is this a wifi dongle or a wireless adapter?
     
  3. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    its a wireless adapter

    Edit: apparently, i have found out that tl-wn321g can be used by installing rt73 driver, which i did. however, i still don't understand how to put wireless signal up >< any help?
     
  4. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you need a wireless dongle for what you want to do.

    Wireless dongle: sends a wireless signal for ds, psp, etc

    Wireless adapter: recieves wireless signal
     
  5. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    ... o well...i just wasted 18 bux for nothing hahahahaha thank you...i guess ill be going to ebay or something to get one...
    btw, any recommended dongle?

    Edit: found out that it is a dongle... tp-link model : tl-wn321G http://www.tp-link.com/products/product_des.asp?id=47
    any help on sending out signals? [​IMG]

    Edit2: ok i have resolved the issue. seems that there are 2 modes to this, the stationary mode and ap mode.
    i just changed it to ap mode and now its giving out signals. the stationary mode receives signals.
    tnx so much~


    edit 3 [​IMG] = is there anyway to find out mac adress of the ds?

    Edit4 - nevermind i found it...

    EDIT 5: ok i got it give off the signal...but the signal is weak i don't know why. also, im getting error 52100 and i put the ip adress and all manually according to the nintendo. arrrrgh help? lol
     
  6. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i got the dongle connected to my router and it gives out good signal...but on my ds, im getting 52000/52100 errors. i have tried to put it in manually. also my dongle doesn't show its gateway adress... only shows 0.0.0.0 and no dns ...

    btw, whats adhoc and infrastructure? and which one do i have to have it on as.?
     
  7. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    Here's what you can try.
    First option, in Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection Setup, try the "Connect to your Nintendo Wif-Fi USB Connector"
    Second option, just search for a access point. Quick question though, is the signal the dongle giving encrypted?

    If that doesn't work tell me, and I will look into it more.

    Edit: wait, connected to your router?

    Edit 2: Couldn't you just change the router encryption? Not to hard you know.
     
  8. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    signal given by dongle isn't encrypted. its open.
    the dongle is connected to the signals given off by my main router.
    and i know that i can just open up my main router's access, but i really dun want to change its encryption to wep...tahts why i bought the dongle.
     
  9. Sonicslasher

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    What would be the problem with changing the encyrption to WEP?
     
  10. rieabbi
    OP

    Newcomer rieabbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    nothing wrong...but i don't want to be asking my roommates to reconnect to router...
    ~.~
     
  11. vlakas

    Newcomer vlakas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Australia
    Ive been having the same problem when trying to connect using my DS.

    When i go through the nintendo wifi connection setup on my DS, and search for access pont, it is able to find it. But when i test the connection, i get error 51201 "the access point is busy"

    I am using the tp-link wireless utility program in AP mode with all access open, no WEP passwords.

    there is no other device connecting to my wireless adapter and is located about 30cm away from my DS.

    Anyone got ant solutions or suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  12. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Im Making a tutorial for this Adapter! Than I found this post. My tutorial will be up today or tommorrow.
     
  13. vlakas

    Newcomer vlakas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Australia
    That sounds great
     
  14. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page