Help with SNES Emulator on CycloDS Card

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Hem600, Jun 18, 2012.

Jun 18, 2012
  1. Hem600
    OP

    Newcomer Hem600 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    So for the first time I tried to put a SNES Emulator on my CycloDS card. I have managed to put the emulator on fine (SNEmulDS) and it loads just fine. However due to being, most likely, an uneducated fool ( :ha: ), i'm struggling to put games on.

    I put Super Mario Kart on and when I press to load the game all I get is a screen with many options (options below) and no way to begin the game. Any help will be much appreciated.

    Options:

    Select Rom
    Load State
    Save state
    Options
    SPC Jukebox
    Advanced

    Thanks.
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your .smc files need to go in a SNES folder in root.

    -another world
     
  3. Hem600
    OP

    Newcomer Hem600 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the response. I tried that and yet the game still just gives me the options I mentioned in my first post, instead of actually loading the game. Not sure what i'm doing wrong.
     
  4. Wanderman_Trigge
    This message by Wanderman_Trigge has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 7, 2016.
    Jun 18, 2012
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    anyways, moving on...

    not all snes games are supported. there is a compatibility list floating around. it could be you are trying to play games that won't work. make sure your files are .smc files.

    check these links:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/SNEmulDS_Compatibility_List
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/SNEmulDS_Compatibility_List

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Hem600
    OP

    Newcomer Hem600 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks a lot. The problem was compatibility.

    Do you know if there's any better emulators out there for the DS than the one i'm using?
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    unfortunately, there really aren't many choices. if you want to play snes games on a ds then you should pick up a supercard ds2. they have an snes emu (that also saw a few homebrew developer revisions) that has a much higher compatibility. it is a port of snes9x and can run a lot of games, homebrew, and demo roms, except for the special chip games. like snemulds it isn't perfect, but it is a much better choice.

    check out my review of the first revision of the emu:
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/232281-supercard-dstwo-review/page__p__3254876#entry3254876

    here is more info on ds snes emulation, if you are interested:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/SNES_DS
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/index.php?title=SnezziDS
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/index.php?title=SNEmulDS

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Super Mario Kart will definitely not work, as it uses a coprocessor chip that is not emulated. Try a more well-known game like Super Mario World first for testing.
     
  9. Hem600
    OP

    Newcomer Hem600 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that. I don't suppose you know much about PSPs? Just curious as to whether SNEs Emulation, amonst other emulators, works better on a PSP?
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    yes, it does. while still not perfected by any means, it is a much more enjoyable experience.

    -another world
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,668
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    As AW said, a PSP will run almost everything, except some titles with a minimal slowdown (Starfox, Super Mario RPG). But trust me, if you have a PSP, go with that for SNES emulating! :P
     
  12. Hem600
    OP

    Newcomer Hem600 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies. I don't have a PSP but have been considering getting one primarily for emulating.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah a PSP's much better than a DS for emulation. High resolution screen so it doesn't have downscaling issues, much more RAM (DS units have 4MB of usable RAM for homebrew, PSP has 32MB-64MB depending on the model with only the oldest series having 32MB), much faster processor, etc.

    http://gbatemp.net/topic/268289-psp-hackingmodding-faq-start-here/

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Game_Engines_on_PSP
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page