Help with SNES Emulator on CycloDS Card

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Hem600, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Hem600
    OP

    Hem600 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Hi,

    So for the first time I tried to put a SNES Emulator on my CycloDS card. I have managed to put the emulator on fine (SNEmulDS) and it loads just fine. However due to being, most likely, an uneducated fool ( :ha: ), i'm struggling to put games on.

    I put Super Mario Kart on and when I press to load the game all I get is a screen with many options (options below) and no way to begin the game. Any help will be much appreciated.

    Options:

    Select Rom
    Load State
    Save state
    Options
    SPC Jukebox
    Advanced

    Thanks.
     
  2. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,498
    1,673
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    your .smc files need to go in a SNES folder in root.

    -another world
     
  3. Hem600
    OP

    Hem600 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Thanks for the response. I tried that and yet the game still just gives me the options I mentioned in my first post, instead of actually loading the game. Not sure what i'm doing wrong.
     
  4. Wanderman_Trigge
    This message by Wanderman_Trigge has been removed from public view by a moderator, Sep 23, 2017.
    Jun 18, 2012
  5. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,498
    1,673
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    anyways, moving on...

    not all snes games are supported. there is a compatibility list floating around. it could be you are trying to play games that won't work. make sure your files are .smc files.

    check these links:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/SNEmulDS_Compatibility_List
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/SNEmulDS_Compatibility_List

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Hem600
    OP

    Hem600 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Thanks a lot. The problem was compatibility.

    Do you know if there's any better emulators out there for the DS than the one i'm using?
     
  7. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,498
    1,673
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    unfortunately, there really aren't many choices. if you want to play snes games on a ds then you should pick up a supercard ds2. they have an snes emu (that also saw a few homebrew developer revisions) that has a much higher compatibility. it is a port of snes9x and can run a lot of games, homebrew, and demo roms, except for the special chip games. like snemulds it isn't perfect, but it is a much better choice.

    check out my review of the first revision of the emu:
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/232281-supercard-dstwo-review/page__p__3254876#entry3254876

    here is more info on ds snes emulation, if you are interested:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/SNES_DS
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/index.php?title=SnezziDS
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/index.php?title=SNEmulDS

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Member
    4,330
    107
    Jun 2, 2007
    United States
    Georgia
    Super Mario Kart will definitely not work, as it uses a coprocessor chip that is not emulated. Try a more well-known game like Super Mario World first for testing.
     
  9. Hem600
    OP

    Hem600 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Thanks for that. I don't suppose you know much about PSPs? Just curious as to whether SNEs Emulation, amonst other emulators, works better on a PSP?
     
  10. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,498
    1,673
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    yes, it does. while still not perfected by any means, it is a much more enjoyable experience.

    -another world
     
  11. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Supervisor
    11,025
    7,343
    Oct 23, 2007
    Italy
    PowerLevel: 9001
    As AW said, a PSP will run almost everything, except some titles with a minimal slowdown (Starfox, Super Mario RPG). But trust me, if you have a PSP, go with that for SNES emulating! :P
     
  12. Hem600
    OP

    Hem600 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jun 18, 2012
    Thanks for the replies. I don't have a PSP but have been considering getting one primarily for emulating.
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member
    27,883
    8,108
    Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Yeah a PSP's much better than a DS for emulation. High resolution screen so it doesn't have downscaling issues, much more RAM (DS units have 4MB of usable RAM for homebrew, PSP has 32MB-64MB depending on the model with only the oldest series having 32MB), much faster processor, etc.

    http://gbatemp.net/topic/268289-psp-hackingmodding-faq-start-here/

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Game_Engines_on_PSP
     
    1 person likes this.