1. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Edit: I got it to work a while ago, so I don't need this thread. However I'm keeping it up for other people if they need help.

    So I have the Mario 64 3DS repo on github (https://github.com/sm64-port/sm64_3ds), but I can't get it to work for the life of me. I followed jo's guide (https://nc.j0.lol/s/kaALgxfNaYYAFqy) but I keep getting this error on msys2:
    Code:
    /usr/bin/env: ‘python3’: No such file or directory
    Makefile:170: *** Failed to extract assets.  Stop.
    Just for insight, I installed WSL and the Ubuntu terminal as well, but didn't work, spitting me this error in the attached photo. So please, If anyone could help, you'd be the absolute best!
     

    Attached Files:

    • aaa.png
      aaa.png
      File size:
      17.8 KB
      Views:
      359
    Last edited by Wavy, Dec 1, 2020
    Scott_pilgrim likes this.
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,259
    Country:
    United States
    is this the pc port to the 3ds?
     
  3. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes
     
  4. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have Python3 installed under WSL, and is it in your PATH? The error is pretty clear on what's going wrong here.

    Edit: I haven't looked over this entire guide yet, but it's rather wonky. What's wrong with the instructions on the Git? Like, the guide tells you to run this, which is wrong.
    Code:
    export PATH="$PATH:/opt/devkitpro/tools/bin/"
    
    This is messing up your PATH, which is what's giving you this error. Instead you should append DKPro's path to the end of your existing PATH variable in your bashrc. You can see if your path is set correctly by running this.
    Code:
    echo $PATH
    
    Since you're most likely using /bin/sh as your shell, the "export" function replaces your existing PATH for the session, so keep that in mind.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Sep 1, 2020
    Scott_pilgrim likes this.
  5. SuperDan

    SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,851
    Country:
    United States
    I Have Downloaded a Pre Made One and its awesome hi rez vannila & very smooth fps ............ same as the PS Vita one ............. i sure hope more N64 Ports happen Zelda's ect .........
     
  6. Mikitok
    This message by Mikitok has been removed from public view by Foxi4, Sep 1, 2020, Reason: Just use Google-fu.
    Sep 1, 2020
  7. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, let him learn how to do this. In the event there's an update, or the OP wants to make button swaps, use different textures, or what have you, he'll now have the knowledge on how to compile the game himself instead of having to wait around for someone else to do it for him.
     
    Last edited by Foxi4, Sep 1, 2020 - Reason: Quoting deleted post
  8. battlecatsahead

    battlecatsahead GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    you just dont have python3
     
  9. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    He probably does if he's just copying and pasting commands from that guide. It does have one install Python beforehand, but then it has readers issue a command that breaks their PATH variable, thus making it seem like Python isn't installed because the shell can't find it within the defined PATH.

    Edit: @OP, to help you further, do this.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install nano
    nano ~/.bashrc
    
    Look for your PATH variable. It's usually in the top of the file, and if it's not existent, you can create it. Anyway, it should look like this.
    Code:
    export PATH="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/devkitpro/tools/bin/"
    
    If this doesn't exist in your bashrc, just put it somewhere in it, then press ctrl+x to save and close the file. Reload the terminal and you should be good to go.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Sep 1, 2020
    Wavy and Ricken like this.
  10. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't have my PC with me since I just woke up, but later I'll try that to see if it works.
     
  11. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright, so I did that and it was extracting the files for a bit, until I got this error (which you can see in the photo)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    You're missing gcc-arm. Guess the guide failed to mention you need that.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gcc-arm-none-eabi binutils-arm-none-eabi gdb-arm-none-eabi
    The last package installed there is for debugging, so it's optional.
     
  13. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    I tried to install it. It took 20 minutes, but it gave me this error :(:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    That's fine. It's possible your repositories were out of sync, and that's my bad. I had you perform a cardinal sin by not telling you to update those first.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo dpkg -f
    
    The first command will update your repositories, the second will fix the failed installation.
     
  15. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Should I do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update gcc-arm-none-eabi binutils-arm-none-eabi gdb-arm-none-eabi
    sudo dpkg -f gcc-arm-none-eabi binutils-arm-none-eabi gdb-arm-none-eabi
     
  16. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    No, you run them by themselves. Also, if the dpkg command doesn't work (I forgot this is Ubuntu, not Debian), you may have to run this instead.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install -f
    
    They do the same thing, but I think dpkg is part of aptitude, which Ubuntu doesn't come packaged with by default. Sorry, it's been a good while since I've messed around with the Ubuntu/Debian package manager.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Sep 4, 2020
    Momoro likes this.
  17. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright. So I did:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install -f
    And it got me the errors in the photos (the name of the photos are the command I typed).
    It feels like I'm doing something awfully wrong.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,259
    Country:
    United States
    Failed to fetch means your not connected to the internet
     
    Momoro likes this.
  19. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,988
    Country:
    United States
    You're trying to run sudo as root. That could be the problem. If you're logged in as root, sudo isn't necessary. sudo is the command that allows regular users to issue root commands, so you may be getting a permissions error since root isn't in the sudoers group.
    Nah, it's a permission error I'm pretty sure. It's not able to create a file in a directory.
     
  20. Wavy

    OP Wavy R_DrawPlanes: visplane overflow
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Australia
    Huh. I removed [sudo] from both and tried to run it but I got the same errors for both of the commands.
     
  21. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,259
    Country:
    United States
    Sudo gives root access to run the commands under Linux
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compiling, Super, Mario