Hacking Help: Switch after SX core install shows the green light but doesn't boot

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
Hi, sorry this is kind of a re-post because I have done in the wrong section.
Hope to have more feedback by posting in the correct place.

I installed SX Core and I got the green light and the boot.dat screen.

I started to have problems when I put the SD card with the boot.dat in the switch, because I got a black screen and nothing happened. The chip shows the green light but the Switch doesn't boot.

I disconnected the SX core and connected the NAND in the Switch socket to boot into the origin system.
After this the same black screen happened, I try to turn on the switch and nothing.

Any ideas ? Do I also need to desolder the flex in order to boot into the original system ?

Last night I took a picture of the install and it seems I have bridged a capacitor. Can someone take a look on the picture and see if something is wrong?

Also, the line of caps where the flex is soldered seem to have continuity, is that normal ?
 
Last edited by sttranger,

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
The shiny part next to V2 marking, go under the shield suport.
Thanks I have done that now.
I was wondering, I put the boot.dat on the SD card and turn on the console. Do I need to press any buttons in order to go to the SX OS menu or is just having the boot.dat on the SD card and turn on the switch normally ?
 
Last edited by sttranger,

squee666

Advanced Tech Pleb
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,170
Trophies
1
XP
3,019
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks I have done that now.
I was wondering, I put the boot.dat on the SD card and turn on the console. Do I need to press any buttons in order to go to the SX OS menu or is just having the boot.dat on the SD card and turn on the switch normally ?
It should auto boot to menu, u less you already registered the license and put it on card
 

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
I realised that the volume down button doesn't work after I installed the modchip. Can it be in any way a damaged/bridged cap ?
Should I look somewhere else ? I
bought a new flex cable for power/volume because I though I may have damaged it when I took the headsink off, can it be this ? I haven't changed it yet.
 

Modificatorul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,307
Country
Russia
Damaged resistors close to connector, damaged conector or damaged flex cable, maybe volume flex is not connected properly, you need to remove the fan to remove and replace the flex cable.
So you add the risc to make more damage to fan connector etc.
 
Last edited by Modificatorul,

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
Damaged resistors close to connector, damaged conector or damaged flex cable, maybe volume flex is not connected properly, you need to remove the fan to remove and replace the flex cable.
So you add the risc to make more damage to fan connector etc.

I thought about the flex because maybe I damaged it when I took off the heatsink so I ordered a new one.
So the Tegra is not involved in sound in any way? Although, I guess if it was a Tegra problem all sound would fail and not just the button right ?
 
Last edited by sttranger,

Modificatorul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,307
Country
Russia
Right and no image or blue screen,stuck @joycon logo etc, post same pictures with volume flex, connector area and i take a look if you dont want to stop yet.
 

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
Right and no image or blue screen,stuck @joycon logo etc, post same pictures with volume flex, connector area and i take a look if you dont want to stop yet.

There you go, didn't take a picture bellow the fan because I didn't move it.
My guess is close to the battery where the heatsink fits but it doesn't look that bad...
 
Last edited by sttranger,

Modificatorul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
1,307
Country
Russia
The pictures are not good enough, but i cant see mising resistors, if you are shore you are not gone make more damage replace the power volume flex but my gut says go to a pro so chose wisely.
 
Last edited by Modificatorul,

sttranger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
196
Country
Spain
Changing the flex solved the issue.
I could clearly see the damage on the flex when I took it out, probably was done when putting the heatsink in place.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Modificatorul
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: csgo is so cool *sigh* i wish terrorism was real...