HELP R4 PROBLEM!

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by joshua.garcia, Jan 1, 2008.

Jan 1, 2008

HELP R4 PROBLEM! by joshua.garcia at 2:57 AM (2,282 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. joshua.garcia
    OP

    Newcomer joshua.garcia Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    When I play pokemon diamond the game loads then the screen just goes blank. I already gave my r4 the latest firmware. I got another pokemon diamond but wont play that either but it plays pearl for some reason. What should I do? Please help me. Only pokemon diamond wont work. Whats the problem?
     
  2. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely a corrupted ROM. Get it from another source and try again.
     
  3. joshua.garcia
    OP

    Newcomer joshua.garcia Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    Before they were working but now they are not.
     
  4. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    Is the Micro SD not fragmented?
     
  5. camx

    Member camx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    colorado USA
    Country:
    United States
    Your save might be corrupt. Were you playing with pokesav? or something else? Copy the save file to your computer, then delete it from the MicroSD. Try loading pokemon. Copy the save back if it works. This happened to me once a while back: I would try copying everything from the card to your computer, formatting the card, and then copying everything back. If it still doesnt work, try loading the save file in VBA or another emulator, to see if it works: save the file in the emulator at another point in the game, and loading it back onto the R4. Also, mess with the settings in the R4 to see if it works. Seriously it happened once and hasnt happened again after hundreds of hours of use since. If all else fails, download as many dumps of the rom you can and try them all. Just hope your saved data didnt get killed [​IMG]\

    PS: IIRC the problem lies within the size of the save file and the size that the R4 software expects when loading the rom. Since your pokemon Pearl rom probably had it's save file created by the R4 software, it is working fine. Its only speculation but I am certain there is some type of problem created if the checksum or validation used by R4 when loading a rom, looking at your save file, expects.... Then again I might just be batshit crazy too...
     
  6. joshua.garcia
    OP

    Newcomer joshua.garcia Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    i deleted the game save and turned it on. so i got it to make another game save but da screen just go white still. and da space of it is 512kb. how do u format da card?
     
  7. Ryoku

    Member Ryoku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same problem a few months ago. I believe that I deleted the ROM (and I might have deleted my save file too... not sure.) and replaced the ROM back onto the microSD card and it worked again. Never figured out why it did that =\.

    Edit: To be more specific, I used the same ROM as the one that white screened me, just off of my computer. If just taking the ROM off and putting it back on doesn't help, then I'd take both off (save and ROM) then put both back on. If that doesn't help, you might have to start over unless there is another solution.
     
  8. joshua.garcia
    OP

    Newcomer joshua.garcia Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    hi ive tried ur thing but it didnt work. ive done all the things u told me but it still didnt work.thanx for your help anyway.
     
  9. Ryoku

    Member Ryoku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    Formatting the Card (Win XP):

    Click on Start > My Compter
    Right Click on your drive containing your MicroSD card (have it plugged in with a reader)
    Right click on that icon and click Format
    Then click Start in the window that pops up.

    If it doesn't work after that, I honestly don't know what's wrong. Re-download the ROM I guess.
     
  10. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    It might also be your firmware. Did youd delete ds_menu.SYS before you put on the newest firmware? Also, dont overwrite the firmware, as it may cause problems. Delete all firmware files except moonshell and the _system_ folder, and reinstall.
     
  11. theotherfreakygu

    Newcomer theotherfreakygu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    turn off all AR codes. I know that Animal Crossing does this if it has codes on on the R4.
     
  12. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    Yes it could be because of AR codes.
    Make sure cheat is off, and if it works, try different cheats to see which one causes the crashing.
     
  13. joshua.garcia
    OP

    Newcomer joshua.garcia Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    thanx ryoku. for the idea of deleting it. after that i downloaded a different pokemon diamond and it works i i already formated the card thanx to u. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page