Gaming Help needed with Game issues.

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
Okay, not sure if this is a Noob question or just something that I'm having an issue with.

I just started modding my wii today and thanks to xflak showing me his Mod mii program I've gotten it up and on the go.

There is however a tiny little snag.

I have all three of my games on my usb , only one of them works outright (Mario Galaxy) whereas Super Smash Bros Brawl and LoZ Twilight princess either freeze on videos or don't load at all respectively.

I'm wondering what I can do to fix this, is it an ISO issue possibly, or maybe my settings?

I've heard that COD: BO needs specific stuff to run it, so is this my problem and what would I need to get me on my way to playing my favorite games?

Running CFG Usb Loader and followed the instructions to the letter without any issues.

Any help is again greatly appreciated.

((Edit: I should also mention that all of the above are NTSC I suppose, haha.))
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
Any help would be greatly appreciated, I managed to get LoZ working after tinkering but Super Smash Bros Brawl still freezes constantly in videos, during the "adventure" mode and sometimes halfway through play.
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,495
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Belgium
XP
7,373
Country
Belgium
Hmm...it's almost unfortunately (in this case), but modmii is pretty much a swiss army knife of tools. Since it can do so much, just mentioning that you used it isn't saying all that much.

You're running it from USB drive...formatted in FAT32, I assume?
Second...check the settings for each game. Where this is depends on the USB loader you use (which one is it, by the way? there are more than one out...wiiflow, CFG, GX, postloader...probably even more), but they pretty much all have the same setting.

There are two main settings that are important to know for everyone:
1. the used cIOS. if you followed modmii, you should have the latest ones installed (they were among the wads modmii had you install). But there are more than one, so it's a bit of testing which ones work for which games (note: about 90% work fine on "d2x base IOS56", which is commonly installed in slot 249...which is the default slot for most if not all USB loaders).
2. the force video option. This may be needed to be forced if the game is out of region, which may result in a black screen at the start.


...and I only read your second post after posting the above. Now...seeing as you can at least start SSBB, we can rule out option 2. And the used cIOS happens to be important for SSBB. I remember the game crashing after the first level in the subspace emissionary as well.
Strange it still happens, as that was over 2 years ago. I'd think that the d2x cIOS'es fixed that issue for some time. :unsure:

Either way...the solution is to use Hermes's cIOS. That's using the cIOS in slots 222, 223 or 224. You can use modmii to download these as well, if needed.


(note: if you can find out how to do it, would you mind posting a syscheck result? This is a tool that generates a rapport on all the cIOS'es installed. I'm kinda curious which cIOS still has that SSBB crash issue).
(EDIT: here's a link on the how to create/post a syscheck result).
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
Oh shoot, sorry I'm new off the boat and head in the clouds with this haha.

Yes I've formatted my USB with FAT32 and WBSF, I'm using CFG as I was told it was the most compatible but I originally had USB loader GX and it didn't work for me worth moot.

I'm also running on a 4.3u Black wii if that's important at all and I went into my settings for my cfg loader and it says:

Loader version 70
IOS249 (r21008)
Base IOS56 d2x v8final mload
v1.0

Other than that I'm not quiteeee sure how to get you any other info (Not sure how to go about a sys check) , I'm really sorry I'm REALLY new at this, like yesterday new, haha.

The help is MUCH appreciated, ALSO I just tried my copy of Metroid other M and it's freezing much the same after I get through the training area, after looking at a guide on problem games both metroid and SSBB fall in the same catergory as dual layered games, the fix listed does nothing however.
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
Here is my Sys Check

sysCheck v2.1.0b17 by Double_A and R2-D2199
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 4.3U (v513)
Priiloader installed
Drive date: 2008.12.18
Homebrew Channel 1.0.0 running on IOS58
Hollywood v0x21
Console ID: 131680847
Boot2 v4
Found 76 titles.
Found 51 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stub.

IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS247[57] (rev 21006, Info: d2x-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS248[56] (rev 21006, Info: d2x-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10

Report generated on 2012/03/25.

I believe that's what you need, I hope.
 

Mr. Prince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
537
Trophies
0
Location
All Blue
XP
245
Country
Saudi Arabia
Any help would be greatly appreciated, I managed to get LoZ working after tinkering but Super Smash Bros Brawl still freezes constantly in videos, during the "adventure" mode and sometimes halfway through play.


Well I had that too, but it turned out to be a trimmed iso. SSBB is a daul-layer disc, and maybe your copy is only one of those disks. Could you tell us the size of the SSBB iso?


EDIT: by looking at your syscheck, I think you should update your hermes cIOS to 5.1.
 

wii knee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
200
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
United States
wbfs dumps often become corrupt; as well documented. Try another dump and based on my experience, i would ditch wbfs in favour of FAT32 and uneek or neek20
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,047
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,935
Country
Cyprus
SSBB is a dual layer game, and some older cIOSs have a dual layer bug that not only effects playing the game, but ripping the game. So if you got your SSBB rip a long time ago before using ModMii, your rip of it might be the problem, so try re-ripping it (and now that you have cIOSs installed with the dual layer bug fixed, the new rip should be fine).

Re. COD games, they require a cIOS with base 57, which ModMii installed to slot 250, so just make sure to load your COD games using IOS250 and all should work fine
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
Any help would be greatly appreciated, I managed to get LoZ working after tinkering but Super Smash Bros Brawl still freezes constantly in videos, during the "adventure" mode and sometimes halfway through play.


Well I had that too, but it turned out to be a trimmed iso. SSBB is a daul-layer disc, and maybe your copy is only one of those disks. Could you tell us the size of the SSBB iso?


EDIT: by looking at your syscheck, I think you should update your hermes cIOS to 5.1.


My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.
 

Mr. Prince

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
537
Trophies
0
Location
All Blue
XP
245
Country
Saudi Arabia
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
 

Luigi2012SM64DS

G-old member
Banned
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Location
Minecrapt
XP
392
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes


Oh, I was unaware that could even have a bearing on the game working?

I'm not sure but unless it came with MiiMod then most likely no as I've been keeping everything by the book.

My new wiimotes seems to work fine for the most part, do you think it would help and if so do you have a link close at hand?
 

Luigi2012SM64DS

G-old member
Banned
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Location
Minecrapt
XP
392
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes


Oh, I was unaware that could even have a bearing on the game working?

I'm not sure but unless it came with MiiMod then most likely no as I've been keeping everything by the book.

My new wiimotes seems to work fine for the most part, do you think it would help and if so do you have a link close at hand?
it doesn't improve games just supports DML and new wiimotes. i was just pointing out he said mod
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes


Oh, I was unaware that could even have a bearing on the game working?

I'm not sure but unless it came with MiiMod then most likely no as I've been keeping everything by the book.

My new wiimotes seems to work fine for the most part, do you think it would help and if so do you have a link close at hand?
it doesn't improve games just supports DML and new wiimotes. i was just pointing out he said mod

It would probably be nice to have but I'd have no idea how to set it up.

I'm about at my wits end trying to figure this shit out with limited help over the past 3 days now.

If you can direct me to a place where I can either get a guide on how to install the CFG-Mod or even where to find it then it'd be appreciated, if not then you're simply making pointless statements that don't help as I've stated several times in this thread that I am a NOOB.

I have no idea where HALF of the shit people keep throwing at me can be found and google search isn't helping any either haha.

I just followed the ModMii guide and got my Wii to this level of functionality by following it to the letter, one person tells me that Hermes 5.1 is what i need, another says it's shit, one says I should make another dump to no avail, I'm getting a LOT of help and sadly most of it isn't helping other than Xflak and his program.

So sorry if I'm a little frustrated but if you haven't anything useful to offer in liu of the topic at hand (Fixing what IS wrong not what could improve my wiimotes) Then please do'nt make pointless statements that others can handle themselves.

Please and thank you.
 

Luigi2012SM64DS

G-old member
Banned
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Location
Minecrapt
XP
392
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes


Oh, I was unaware that could even have a bearing on the game working?

I'm not sure but unless it came with MiiMod then most likely no as I've been keeping everything by the book.

My new wiimotes seems to work fine for the most part, do you think it would help and if so do you have a link close at hand?
it doesn't improve games just supports DML and new wiimotes. i was just pointing out he said mod

It would probably be nice to have but I'd have no idea how to set it up.

I'm about at my wits end trying to figure this shit out with limited help over the past 3 days now.

If you can direct me to a place where I can either get a guide on how to install the CFG-Mod or even where to find it then it'd be appreciated, if not then you're simply making pointless statements that don't help as I've stated several times in this thread that I am a NOOB.

I have no idea where HALF of the shit people keep throwing at me can be found and google search isn't helping any either haha.

I just followed the ModMii guide and got my Wii to this level of functionality by following it to the letter, one person tells me that Hermes 5.1 is what i need, another says it's shit, one says I should make another dump to no avail, I'm getting a LOT of help and sadly most of it isn't helping other than Xflak and his program.

So sorry if I'm a little frustrated but if you haven't anything useful to offer in liu of the topic at hand (Fixing what IS wrong not what could improve my wiimotes) Then please do'nt make pointless statements that others can handle themselves.

Please and thank you.
if you want to update to the mod simpally just go to settings updates program updates then choose the mod. also to update to the latest cios's go to modmii (make sure you have the latest version 6.0.7 at the moment of posting) then go to download page 4 then type rec and it will choose the reccomended cioses then press 2 for download page 2 then type yawm then press d download copy the files to sd

in wii go to homebrew channel yawm reload to ios 236 or 249 (try 236 first) no nad emulator sd card install all the wads THEN go to cfg click on your game and try it.
also if for the game cod black ops you need to choose ios 250. to do that click the game options where it says ios change to 250 or 222-mload (try 250 first) then enjoy
last but not least if the game still doesn't work THEN try ios 222-mload using the step above and *pant pant* enjoy!!!!
Your welcome
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
My Iso is 7.92G so that looks about right?

It seems to be a problem with BOTH of my dual layered games Metroid other M and SSBB.

Metroid is also at 7.92G.

I shall most definitely update my Hermes to 5.1, the only reason I hadn't so far is because I read something another person had posted about it being faulty or causing compatibility errors or some other such thing.

Anyways, I'll check back after trying everything out and see if it changes anything. :D

Thanks for the help.

Your welcome :) BTW are you using cfg-mod?


I am indeed using CFG :D

So far USB loader GX did squat for me, played nadda.

CFG Seems to work fine on PAL (Forced NTSC setting) and with any regular single layered games, but it just does NOT want to play dual layered game for me.

Had to get of the computer for a while so downloading Hermes 5.1 now :D
look up.
he mean the mod by fix94 to support new wiimotes


Oh, I was unaware that could even have a bearing on the game working?

I'm not sure but unless it came with MiiMod then most likely no as I've been keeping everything by the book.

My new wiimotes seems to work fine for the most part, do you think it would help and if so do you have a link close at hand?
it doesn't improve games just supports DML and new wiimotes. i was just pointing out he said mod

It would probably be nice to have but I'd have no idea how to set it up.

I'm about at my wits end trying to figure this shit out with limited help over the past 3 days now.

If you can direct me to a place where I can either get a guide on how to install the CFG-Mod or even where to find it then it'd be appreciated, if not then you're simply making pointless statements that don't help as I've stated several times in this thread that I am a NOOB.

I have no idea where HALF of the shit people keep throwing at me can be found and google search isn't helping any either haha.

I just followed the ModMii guide and got my Wii to this level of functionality by following it to the letter, one person tells me that Hermes 5.1 is what i need, another says it's shit, one says I should make another dump to no avail, I'm getting a LOT of help and sadly most of it isn't helping other than Xflak and his program.

So sorry if I'm a little frustrated but if you haven't anything useful to offer in liu of the topic at hand (Fixing what IS wrong not what could improve my wiimotes) Then please do'nt make pointless statements that others can handle themselves.

Please and thank you.
if you want to update to the mod simpally just go to settings updates program updates then choose the mod. also to update to the latest cios's go to modmii (make sure you have the latest version 6.0.7 at the moment of posting) then go to download page 4 then type rec and it will choose the reccomended cioses then press 2 for download page 2 then type yawm then press d download copy the files to sd

in wii go to homebrew channel yawm reload to ios 236 or 249 (try 236 first) no nad emulator sd card install all the wads THEN go to cfg click on your game and try it.
also if for the game cod black ops you need to choose ios 250. to do that click the game options where it says ios change to 250 or 222-mload (try 250 first) then enjoy
last but not least if the game still doesn't work THEN try ios 222-mload using the step above and *pant pant* enjoy!!!!
Your welcome


Sweet merciful Christ, thank you :D

Sorry for getting a bit flustered but I've been getting half answers for 3 days now, both on here and before joining ahaha.
Next time I decide to do this I'm getting an old wii and just keeping it oldschool softmodded, seems like the newer stuff just makes the whole ordeal more frustrating haha.

I cringe at the thought of not having tried skyward sword yet (Buying it next week) that'll be a whole new trip through hell I imagine, haha.

I'll let you know how it goes after trying EVERYTHING you've mentioned on here :D
 

D34DL1N3R

Nephilim
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
3,670
Trophies
1
XP
3,209
Country
United States
My thought is that if you in fact followed ModMii 100% to the T... it's your images that are messed up. If it's not the images, then ModMii wasn' followed 100% correctly.
 

WeTheVirus

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
3
Country
Canada
My thought is that if you in fact followed ModMii 100% to the T... it's your images that are messed up. If it's not the images, then ModMii wasn' followed 100% correctly.
The only one that would make sense with is the Metroid game as it's downloaded (HIss Boo *slap on the wrist* wanted to try before buy) SSBB is owned and dumped. (twice now)

Hopefully with everything updated they way Luigi told me it'll work properly, my Wiimote + works GREAT now Lmfao, so maybe everything else will too, if not then maybe something is wrong with smash bros disk and I should download a copy from the net and see if there is a difference?

Shouldn't be though, my disks are always kept mint and it loads fine from disc.

We shall see :D
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Catboy @ The Catboy: Hey hey~