[help] m3ds real media extend(moonshell enhanced)

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by mhkwong, May 12, 2008.

May 12, 2008
  1. mhkwong
    OP

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am just wondering have anyone here manage to skin their media extend(moonshell enhanced) successfully?

    I've found 1 skin for it so far, but it freezes if i add the "global.ini". what am i doing wrong? where do i put the global.ini?

    and is there a way of making the media extend(moonshell enhanced) with the top screen enabled?
     
  2. NeoGunKuruma

    Newcomer NeoGunKuruma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    It is quite simple to make a skin for media extend, you just need to put all skins in file setups like
    system1
    system2
    system3
    system4
    ect....

    Basicly you must put new skins for it in folders labeled as "system1" ect...

    For the various files you must have these included in the system1 (or system 2, ect...) folder.
    Desktop: desktop.bmp 256x192
    File select background: fileback.bmp 256x192
    Icon and GUI laypout: global.ini
    Movies: icon1.bmp any size
    Music: icon2.bmp any size
    Images: icon3.bmp any size
    Games: icon4.bmp any size
    ebook: icon5.bmp any size
    GUI button (options): icon7.bmp any size
    startup music: startup.mp3 any length
    Text viewer background: textback.bmp 256x192

    As long as you have those files, your skin should work.
    Also, unless you know how the global.ini works, don't mess around with it, since it affects the entire GUI.
    All it does is arrange the icons, and set settings as to how the GUI works.
     
  3. mhkwong
    OP

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, i manage to figure out the structure of the skinning the media-extent. but the global.ini that came with the skin causes the nds to freeze. am i putting it in the wrong place? im putting it inside the "System1" folder. if i remove the global.ini, the skin works but everything is out of place. (out of place as in, the global.ini suppose to position the icons at a different position... but without it.. its back to default and the skin dont look right.)

    if you could? could you post it here what you have inside the global.ini for me?
     
  4. NeoGunKuruma

    Newcomer NeoGunKuruma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    What global.ini are you using? can you post it's contents? Open it in notepad and paste it here in code tags.
    If it's the one from the "Vista" skin, than that one is known to be corrupted alot.
     
  5. mhkwong
    OP

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. NeoGunKuruma

    Newcomer NeoGunKuruma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. mhkwong
    OP

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm so it was the japanese text that was corrupting the global.ini? strange... i tried removing the japanese text before. and it still happened... must be something i missed then. your code seems to have solved the problem.
     
  8. NeoGunKuruma

    Newcomer NeoGunKuruma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    Well he had some unnecessary commands in there, and so that should have fixed it.
    Japanese text in the ini is odd, considering no commands are in Japanese at all.

    I'm glad your issue is solved.
     

Share This Page