Hekate mystery bootpath

Quezacotl

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
200
Country
Finland
Hello!

I have Hekate 5.5.5 on a modchip, so my Switch boots into that. That's okay no problem.
But now i decided to try using Aio-switch-updater, and installed all the latest, HOS firmware, Atmosphere and for curiosity, Hekate 5.6.3.
Now everything works perfectly and no problem, but one thing that i'm wondering. Apparently the Hekate that updater downloaded, is just placed on the root of the SD card, and nothing else is on the config files. How Hekate 5.5.5 finds how to boot that new Hekate? I can not find any trace of that.
And yes, it reverts back to what my modchip holds(5.5.5) if i remove the latest hekate from SD root.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
648
Country
United States
Hello!

I have Hekate 5.5.5 on a modchip, so my Switch boots into that. That's okay no problem.
But now i decided to try using Aio-switch-updater, and installed all the latest, HOS firmware, Atmosphere and for curiosity, Hekate 5.6.3.
Now everything works perfectly and no problem, but one thing that i'm wondering. Apparently the Hekate that updater downloaded, is just placed on the root of the SD card, and nothing else is on the config files. How Hekate 5.5.5 finds how to boot that new Hekate? I can not find any trace of that.
And yes, it reverts back to what my modchip holds(5.5.5) if i remove the latest hekate from SD root.

Rename hektae.bin to payload.bin. It should load the new hekate. In options you can change what you want hekate to auto boot - OFW, CFW SYS, CFW Emunand. Most modchips are designed to look for payload.bin.
 

Quezacotl

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
200
Country
Finland
Oh sorry, I forgot to describe what it does now. It boots straight to Hekate 5.6.3. What i was asking was that, how it does that when there is only hekate_ctcaer_5.6.3.bin on root of SD and nothing indicating that on configs? And nothing on payloads-folder or any hekate.bin, payload.bin etc. anywhere.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
648
Country
United States
Oh sorry, I forgot to describe what it does now. It boots straight to Hekate 5.6.3. What i was asking was that, how it does that?

Same answer I suppose. Payload.bin /.bin file. No bin file or sd card then it loads the hekate flashed to your modchip memory.

Example:

RCM loader
Trinket
RCMx86

all look for payload.bin
 

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
648
Country
United States
You got your answer bud. Twice.

Heres a 3rd.

Your Modchip has older hekate - This will load with no sd card or bin missing / wrong folder. You stated this is what its doing so all good here.

New hekate loads if files in right place on sd and wont boot hekate on modchip, instead it loads hekate from sd card. Looks like this is also working.

If confused upload a pic of your SD files for a more detailed breakdown.
 

Quezacotl

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
200
Country
Finland
Okay, finally i found out. I missed the /bootloader/update.bin. I did a diff on update.bin and hekate_ctcaer_5.6.3.bin and they are the same file.
Thank you :shy:
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The mechs of mw2 really don't feel that bad
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Neither do the mechs of mech warrior 2. Much better game.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    People would say different if cod Gundam was a thing
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Omg do you know how much money I would spend if that was a thing? Especially if you get to assemble the gundams somewhat like those old model toy kits. The answer is zero dollars. I would spend zero dollars. It would still be so good, though.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Liar
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    $118.49
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    I bought 1-2 switch, imagine my pain
    +2
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    for full price at launch
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Full price at launch for full exploitability without modchips. Or so I hear.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You should like buy a 3rd one and ship it to my address
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    No no lads, the game called 1-2 switch
    +1
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Where you feel the controller vibrate and guess how many virtual ice cubes are inside of it
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You should still buy me a switch so I don't have to pay for it
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    best game on the switch amirite
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i just saw a video yesterday that mentioned how it's a good thing 1-2-switch wasn't a pack in title because it would've made everyone lose faith in the switch immediately and they might have a point
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    It was this one, The "video" Jdbye watched this one. :P
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    What no The Real video Jdbye?
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, Quake is great.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    QUAKER OATS! :P
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Remember to eat your oats
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I prefer to nuke my oats. At quake.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/as489gU7sLo?feature=share