Green screen freeze.... what's the cause?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jspicher, Dec 18, 2008.

Dec 18, 2008
  1. jspicher
    OP

    Newcomer jspicher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Howdy guys and gals...

    I have a few backups (all of which are PAL I believe // i'm NTSC) that give me the green screen freeze up when launched with wiigator, or softchip's backup launchers. One of which off the top of my head is: Sim City Creator / PAL / Scrubbed

    My Wii is NTSC (E) // 3.2E // _no_ chip
    I've used "Forced NTSC" settings and still get the same thing (green screen freeze).
    I was just wondering what exactly was the cause of this, and what l can try in an attempt to get around it.

    And yes l've searched google and the forum here and l've read this thread throughly: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=108959

    Thanks for your insight!
     
  2. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Best advice anyone could give someone, Download from your own region
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Are you using the "Hook Type" set to "GC"??
    did you instal cIOS36_r7??
    Gamma Backup Launcher???
     
  4. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,519
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    When you try and play a game from a different region usually causes it.....But I do have some games that had the green screen and then after patching they became playable not sure why , but give that a try too
     
  5. jspicher
    OP

    Newcomer jspicher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    WiiBlaster says,
    >Best advice anyone could give someone, Download from your own region
    Right, I try to follow that rule of thumb myself but sometimes the compact scurbbed DLs are just too good to pass up!

    ether2802 says,
    >Are you using the "Hook Type" set to "GC"??
    >did you instal cIOS36_r7??
    >Gamma Backup Launcher???
    a.) I've tried various "hook type" settings, but yets GC is the default setting on my gamma Backup loader channel
    b.) Double checking that now (cIOS36_r7) but as far as l know, yes. I'm using whatever comes packed with wiigators 0.3gamma found here link from here How can l check?
    c.) Yes Gamma, similar problems with softchip (except it just freezes up, no green screen there).

    air2004 says,
    >after patching they became playable not sure why , but give that a try too
    Assuming you mean Waninkoko's IOSPatcher-1.1 what IOS do you suggest l patch the game to? 249, 30... ??

    Thanks for the help guys!
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Some games can only be played in their region, use disc settings in SoftChip. If this does not work you need to patch the video mode and use system settings. Get R2 of my Toy and you don't need to reburn the games for that.
     
  7. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,519
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I was referring to wani's org back up creator
     
  8. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    do you have any GCN controllers or memory cards in the wii?
     
  9. vegeta4ss

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Jspicher I also have about 10 games that give a green screen or a vertical sync issue. They are all pal games also.

    I've tried all the patchers out there trying to fix the video settings and none of them have worked. So I hope this thread gets some answers that both of us can use.

    I have tried the Generic Wii patcher, wiigionfree, and wiu patcher. All will get me a green screen.
     

Share This Page