Getting AV Out From NDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by ChiboSempai, Mar 27, 2012.

Mar 27, 2012

Getting AV Out From NDS by ChiboSempai at 6:25 PM (2,664 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. ChiboSempai
    OP

    Newcomer ChiboSempai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I know this is next to impossible, but I would like to know if anyone knows of a way. I'm running a large Pokemon tournament (among other games), and we want to get Pokemon on the main stage/projector/livestream with the other games. The problem however is, there's no way to get the video of it.

    Does anyone know of any way we can achieve this that is not pointing a camera at the device? That isn't an option. Even for people that have hard modding skills, we would be interested in commissioning someone to make a DS Lite for us modded to allow an AV out of sorts.
     


  2. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you HARDMOD it, it would be possible. Maybe youtube can help? :)
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's been shown there's both addon units and hardmods that can get AV-out on the DS.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm refering the OP to JumbotronDS - it is *entirely* possible to draw the LCD signal from the DS, upscale it using a separate micro-controller and output it using standard AV or even USB if you're crafty.

    I believe I've even seen schematics for such a contraption, but you need to know what you're doing to even start as it involves microchip programming.
     
  6. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    I can't vouch for this if you reeeeally want it that badly, but you may be able to buy one from this guy:



    A cheap way, but sure to work, would be to get an Elmo projector or something similar and just play the DS's under the elmo, but it wouldn't look so nice.
    Didn't read you didn't want to point a camera at the devices.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    This is the USB version of the Jumbotron hardware and it's legit. The board you see behind the DS is an FPGA which "translates and scales" the LCD signal to AV signal and then transfers it over USB to the computer which interprets it via opening a port and displaying the graphics in a dedicated client. It's genuine.
     
  8. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    I can't vouch for him because I haven't bought one from him. I know it looks legit, but it's possible that he could have potentially made an FPGA that does nothing. I'm not saying that's the case but it's not impossible, that's all.
    Most users liked the video, which veers me towards "it's genuine" though.
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    He used the exact same setup to connect a large LCD and a Touch LCD to a DS, started up Picto Chat with all 4 screens running and drew on the big Touch LCD, which resulted in drawing on the DS one at the same time, clearly showing that it does indeed work... sooo... :P

    He only made one set though. I do remember seeing a commercial hardmod doing the same thing but Nintendo shot it down as it was clear competition to the IS-NITRO kit.
     
  10. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I was being too precautious.

    You mean that one by Q-Mark, yes?

    I think I saw a video capture thing over USB for the 3DS. It seems this guy might have one in the works, but he's not saying when it will be done.
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, it's really the same principle for all LCD screens - get the LCD output from the Motherboard and translate it into a format understandable for other devices. I wouldn't be suprised if it'd "surface" soon.

    And yes, I meant the Q-Mark modification kit.

    http://www.siliconera.com/2006/08/24/play-your-nintendo-ds-on-your-tv/
     
  12. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    R4i SaveDongle (to get their legitimate PokeTeam) + No$GBA?
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    That... is actually a very good idea. It's cheaper and more effective... but not NO$GBA, this emulator hasn't been updated in ages. DeSmuME is recommended nowadays, plus it upscales nicely so it's great to use with a projector.

    Game pads can be easily used instead of DS'es and if someone's a purist then just use JoyDS over Wi-Fi. :P
     
  14. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    That's not always the best option. My laptop is able to emulate DS games, but screw me sideways if it could emulate DS games and record the games at a higher framerate than 2.

    Another thing is that OP may be talking about multiplayer, which isn't always possible on an emulator.
     
  15. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You don't have to record them - he wants to output the video using a projector and/or stream a video feed of the screen.
     
  16. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    My point about multiplayer in emulators still stands, however.
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I suppose you're right, it is hit and miss but I'm pretty sure it's doable.
     
  18. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Certainly more doable than
    Edit: What am I saying? All forms of Multiplayer are impossible in all emulators. So yeah, that idea's out.
     
  19. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I guess OP's only option is to get two large TVs that are essentially in the same aspect ratio as the DS's screens, and hook the screens up to the TVs like with the Jumbotron.
     
  20. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    aren't there plugins that emulate wifi over lan/nternet connection? at least, i remember searching for them back before... haven't really tried if it worked though. or maybe i'm remembering gba multiplay over lan... :/
     

Share This Page