GBARunner2

By Gericom, Dec 4, 2016 358,659 2,438 87

  1. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,988
    Country:
    Austria
    Do you think there is a way to dump cheatcode devices and add them to gbarunner2? Like codebreaker and gameshark.
     
  2. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know these devices can patch data on the fly when reading from the cartridge rom. Not sure how well that would work in gbarunner2.
     
  3. SpeedxxGaming

    SpeedxxGaming Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know nothing about how these cheat devices work but would it be possible to patch a rom of a game to run the cheat device rom first, then after entering the codes running the game with the patched addresses? :unsure:
     
  4. DualBladedKirito

    DualBladedKirito The Black Swordsman
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    United States
    Does pokemon saiph crash at the summary screen for you at all. It just bugs out like crazy when I check a pokemon summary screen.
     
  5. NANASHI89

    NANASHI89 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,223
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on a DSi, how to enable DSi speed?
     
  6. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11,889
    Country:
    United States
    Just simply launch GBARunner2 from quick menu, or SELECT menu, in TWLMenu++.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  7. Ziko

    Ziko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    I'd suggest doing something similar to gameyob where codes can be used on what game it's for. Essentially seperate cheat files for each game. It can be edited using Notepad or something of the sort.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
  8. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,038
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    I think THAT would be a very hard Challenge.
    Because GBARunner is not a simple Emulator.....:(

    Otherwise you take a look on the Emulator Section.
    Support of libreto/ .cht Files or VisualBoy / .clt Files is "maybe easier" than implement an Code/Cheat Editor or Plug In.:(

    Only an "Idea" for an "Entrypoint" for you.

    Thank you.:)
     
  9. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,988
    Country:
    Austria
    Yes, I do get it. Strange, because I´m getting this on mGBA 8.1 beta as well.

    Edit: The game is working on mGBA 8.1 beta for the Nintendo Wii. This could be a memory related issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
    Gericom and alexander1970 like this.
  10. TheTrueDream42

    TheTrueDream42 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
    There was another game I saw that had this issue. Viewing the summary through the PC at the Pokémon Center worked without crashing on that game, so you can try that.
     
  11. DualBladedKirito

    DualBladedKirito The Black Swordsman
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    United States
    Yes but the problem lies when you need to delete a move to learn a new one. You are screwed then. It's pretty gamebreaking imo
     
  12. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,988
    Country:
    Austria
    I tested Shingata Medarot - Kabuto & Kuwagata Version which crashes when you buy parts at the shop with the base DS model.
    This is not the case when played with the 3DS. Most likely Hicode.

    Edit: I tested the Mario Bros mini game in the Super Mario Advance games.
    Super Mario Advance is the only game in the series where the Mini game doesn´t work. The Mario Bros mini game works in Super Mario Advance 2-4.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2019
    Tarmfot, Robz8, Gericom and 1 other person like this.
  13. SummonerArthur

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just tested Beyblade G-Revolution.
    Looks like gameplay works fine, but after some seconds in-game, the sound will crash and go "WREEEEEE" Until you go to another room, then after like, 5 seconds, sound will crash and start "WREEEEE" again. (tested on 22-11-2019 commit using a DS Lite).
    Even if tho this game music sucks, the screech is really annoying.



    I cant play sonic advance here. I'm using a sonic advance + sonic pinball rom. If I press start to start the game, it will simply reboot to the main screen using any setting combinations.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  14. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,038
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Did you read the further Posts,where @Robz8 mentioned the Patches you maybe need.:)

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/gbarunner2.451970/page-112#post-8878147

    Thank you.:)
     
  15. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'd like to point out that the 22-11-2019 commit is a wifi_link branch one. So you may want to use a master commit to save battery.

    I'll probably have time during the Christmas break to look into some problems again.
     
  16. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,988
    Country:
    Austria
    Good news is that on the 3DS, Wario Ware twisted is playable with the motion sensor patch applied. This means that DSI user should be able to play the game!

    Edit: Same applies to Yoshi Topsy-Turvy (U).
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  17. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think I'll implement mapping the gyro to dpad or touch screen or so from within gbarunner2 at some point such that it works on ds as well.
     
    Dodain47, banjo2 and Zense like this.
  18. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've started working on an ingame menu now:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    (sorry for the horrible quality screenshots :P)
     
  19. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Austrian Guy - allowed make grammatical Errors
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    6,038
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Great News from "The Wizard".:yaysp:

    But please do not forget - Christmas Time - a Time of Joy and Peace and "Break" from any Homebrew to give yourself a well deserved Break after an exciting GBARunner Year.:)

    Thank you for your Work and your Time.:bow:
     
  20. MarioKartFan

    MarioKartFan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Algeria
    @Gericom That looks excellent! This is one of the most exciting projects going on in homebrew. Thank you so much! Right now the only thing really missing from your project is automatic sleep mode when the 3DS / DSi is closed. Will that be challenging to implement?
     
    Tarmfot, banjo2, Robz8 and 1 other person like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBARunner2,