GBA ExpLoader 0.2

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Urza, Feb 10, 2008.

Feb 10, 2008

GBA ExpLoader 0.2 by Urza at 10:03 AM (4,494 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Urza
    OP

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    GBA ExpLoader 0.2
    Two bug fixes
    [​IMG]

    The issue that caused save files with a capitalized extension not to read has been fixed, and "the SAVE size of the game of the BIN file and UNKNOWN was changed to 64KB."(?) Download below.

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. mokyurin

    Newcomer mokyurin Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    And one more.
    PSRAM write won't use DMA anymore.(Stable now?)
     
  3. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    Pardon the ignorance, but this program works like Rudolph's tool, doesn't it? If so, has it any advantages over the latter?
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    It's Rudolph's Tool, just renamed, as least that's the impression I got reading the first couple of updates. You'll notice that when you go to the download link, the author is addressed as Rudolph and the web link leads directly to his website.
     
  5. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, the tool is made by Rudolph. It's not just renamed though, it works in a different way. This makes it less stable but very promising for the future.
     
  6. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    -clean GBA rom support
    -GBA files can be in any folder
     
  7. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    still I will wait until the compatibility will raise to 100%.
     
  8. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    Me too.

    Also, this 3in1 app from Rudolph is the ONLY one that he has written that supports the new hw version of the 3in1, but still ATM I'd go with Cory's updated app as this new one from Rudolph is still buggy. (He made ALOT of changes to it after all, as it now auto-patches clean GBA ROMs on the fly, so no patching on the PC is necessary other than for realtime clock if you need it(I think...).
     
  9. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    100%? Too many GBA games use special hardware for that. Like tilt, rumble, or solar.

    But as I mentioned before... If I see solid confirmation the 3in1 can do F-Zero Climax with absolutely NO slowdown, I'm sold.
     
  10. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,927
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, i tested it for you [​IMG]

    F-Zero Climax

    Both PSRAM and NOR

    work flawless and full speed!

    It has nothing to do with slowdown, the program just makes sure the GBA is flashed correct to the 3in1, then all depends on the 3in1 qua speed and compatibility.

    PS: i'm willing to add a youtube movie later of the flashing and running of the game!, don't expect pro gameplay of me, i sux at F-Zero games [​IMG]
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Only problem is I'd need both a slot1 card and memory card for that. There's no slot1 device supporting CF, regular SD, or Memory Stick Pro Duo.
     
  12. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEƅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    then it's about time you upgrade then [​IMG] me myself? I still have the ez4. Haven't really thought about ever getting myself the ez5 with 3-1. I mean, why should I?
     
  13. mokyurin

    Newcomer mokyurin Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    From my personal opinion, using it since launch, it was buggy as hell at first release.
    But this 0.2 release, it's real stable now!
    Now it's better then most of other flashcarts.

    For example, play Super mario advance 4(Flash1M patch that every other flashcarts have save problem)
    it works without problem on GBA ExpLoader!!

    Something I miss would be realtime save.
     
  14. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I know... Since some flash carts have problems with them, let's make a list of every game that uses 128KB save files. Super Mario Advance 4 and F-Zero Climax do.

    I think the 5 main Pokemon games as well. Maybe also Mario Kart Super Circuit, but I'm not sure. It'd make a good wiki article here. [​IMG]
     
  15. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    I wonder when it will get Real time cheat/save
     
  16. mokyurin

    Newcomer mokyurin Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I want it too.
    I can ask Rudolph in Japanese at his blog
    if more people other then me and you want it.
     
  17. BooFoo

    BooFoo Newbie

    is there a soft reset option for this program?
     
  18. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Hmm, this still look very buggy, I understand that we do not need to patch sram anymore, but all my current GBA roms are sram patched, should I replace them all? I am wondering if I am considering to replace my Rudolph tool with this one.
     
  19. kmihalj

    Newcomer kmihalj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    Well working great, ... sort of ....

    All roms sized 16 MB or less running from PSRAM working great, .... but games which must be runned from NOR does not run from this tool (afther pressing A) ... erasin and flashing is fine, but afther that I must shutdown DS and run GBA game from main DS menu to play game ..... also if I select game which is already in NOR, game is again written (well firrst deletin NOR and than flashnig game again) .... also Soft Reset from GbaTool menu is not working... should be added in menu for ex. (select or start to exit from GBATool).....

    Using it with CycloDS (black) + 6 GB SDHC Class 4 + EZ 3-in-1 GBA Sized in DS Phat
     
  20. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You press A in NOR mode to write a game to NOR, and X to launch the game. Rudolph seems to have the labels for the A and X buttons switched (not too surprising, he doesn't speak English).

    Soft reset is currently not supported on the Cyclo Evo. I'm sure he'll add it when he figures out how to make it work.
     

Share This Page