Game covers not showing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zzhou, Nov 9, 2009.

Nov 9, 2009

Game covers not showing by zzhou at 9:27 AM (864 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I have Pal Wii (modded with some pretty old modchip - I don't even remember what the chip is).. Updated it using Waninkoko updater from 3.2E to 4.0E (Wii settings show 4.0E as a version so update installed fine).

    The problem is that many games that came before 4.0 (Pikmin 2, Klonoa) that came out before 4.0 still want to install update and show appropriate icon as a channel icon. I start them using GeckoOS and they work fine but I have a child of 3.5 years who has his 30 mins each morning he may spend playing videogames - and he needs those icons so he doesn't waste his precious time starting wrong game all the way throw HBC->GeckoOS.

    Games like Mario Kart, Mario Galaxy or Zelda show the cover just fine.

    Some games are probably backups from NTSC-U.

    Questions is how to show the appropriate channel icon on the dashboard - I'm fine with either some homebrew solution or update.

    (P.S. He would also really appreciate working NSMB - so can you help with this too? [​IMG] )
     
  2. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing you mean banners and not cover EG in the disc channel you see the banners of some games and an update message for others.

    This just means that you have some older IOS that need updated. It's nothing to worry aobut it you launch your backups form a loader. If you want to get rid of the update message then you need to use a tool like dop ios etc to update your IOS to the current versions.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I thought Waninkoko update should've taken care of IOS. But it really might be it installing only the System Menu. Thanks, I think you're right - I'll try to look up the IOS needed for Pikmin2 and install it to test.
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm 99% sure of this as I've seen it many times before, it's quite a common thing.

    btw it's not the "required IOS" for the game to play always or you wouldn't be able to play the games, but the newer IOS you're missing will be on the DVDs that show the update message. Just get ALL your IOS up-to-date and while you're at it you should consider getting onto sys menu 4.2 etc too.
    If you get EVERYTHING up to date now then it should be quite a while before you need to worry about any more updates.
     
  5. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Now I got the HBC upside-down [​IMG] but I know why I have it. Pikmin2 still wants the update. I'll install ioses from the disk.
     
  6. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    For the upside down thing: install a non trucha signed IOS
    I mean keep it clean (do not patch it with Dop-IOS for eg.)
    And of course it will work better if your "non-trucha-signed" IOS is the one who is used by HBC (probably 36 or 61) [​IMG]
     
  7. zzhou
    OP

    Newcomer zzhou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I know that problem - fixed it immediately. I mentioned it to show that the update went "well" [​IMG]

    This thread is same as http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=155586 - can moderator close it?
     

Share This Page