For anybody wondering about transferring from a hacked console

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by qwertymodo, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. qwertymodo
    OP

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Country:
    United States
    I have an old Wii capable of bootmii boot2, so I figured I'd take a NAND backup then bite the bullet and run the WiiU transfer. Here are the results, nice and clear for anybody wondering:

    Transfer did not affect custom channels (including HBC)
    Transfer did not affect injected VC
    Transfer did not affect custom SM theme
    Transfer did not affect patched IOS/cIOS/DIOS-MIOS

    No custom channels of any kind were transferred (obviously), nor were their associated saves, but neither were they removed from the Wii

    Restoring pre-transfer bootmii backup did not re-enable purchased VC downloads (no surprise, that's why you have to be online during the transfer), but VC that was on the NAND for the backup is obviously still there, and it runs fine.

    Also, custom channels and injected VC install fine in vWii, you just have to do it manually. I haven't tried manually moving a save file for an injected VC title, but worst case I'm sure SaveGameManager will work.
     
  2. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    Save Games from Other Region do get Transfered, which makes no sense but i guess there is no Region Flag on save files.
     
  3. qwertymodo
    OP

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Country:
    United States
    Well, other regions would have different Title ID's. I guess that's one thing they don't check, as long as the Title ID is valid. Save files for injected VC do not transfer, so obviously they are doing SOME checking on save files to determine whether or not to transfer them, but apparently, any valid disc title is good enough...
     
  4. DoyleBrunson

    Newcomer DoyleBrunson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi, can you point me in the right direction on how to do this? Can custom emulator channels work fine on vWii?
     
  5. qwertymodo
    OP

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Country:
    United States
    The only custom channels I have actually installed are Tantric's emulator channels, using his installers. However, this proves that custom channels are possible. I would look into damysteryman's IOS patcher, then use the patched IOS to install channel wads, though I haven't tried it myself. If any of the wad managers had ever bothered to implement AHBPROT access rather than relying on CIOS, then we could just use them directly, but unfortunately, the only AHBPROT-enabled app that I know of that installs wads doesn't run on the vWii (wiimod, black screen upon loading).
     
  6. DoyleBrunson

    Newcomer DoyleBrunson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok cool, thanks for the response. All I want is emulators so that's great news.
     
  7. drakorex

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I keep hearing about people installing channels on vwii and to do that you must have 236 installed. What I want to know is what program to use to obtain the ios36 needed for the patching. I really think there needs to be an overall guide on how to do all that we are able to so far on WiiU.
     
    Kikirini likes this.
  8. qwertymodo
    OP

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you use BlueDump to dump IOS36 from your own vWii, and use that for patching/installation. Tantric's channel installers work as-is, but obviously only for his channels.
     
  9. Supercool330

    Member Supercool330 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    United States
    You do not need any CIOS. You just the version of YAWMM that uses AHBPPROT.
     
  10. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Until the AHBPROT version of YAWMM came out, you did need to use Cvios236+MMM to install fakesigned wads and even official channels(because of error -1017). 236 is still needed to install the Internet Channel and Photo Channel via MOD-Mii since it can download and install them directly from NUS but would run into -1017 trying to install them. of course, YAWMM+wads of those from NUSD would work also.
     

Share This Page