Final Fantasy VII Ultima

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by wolfmanz51, Jan 16, 2009.

Jan 16, 2009

Final Fantasy VII Ultima by wolfmanz51 at 2:36 AM (3,796 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    So i want to port the pc game Final Fantasy VII Ultima edition to DS Do you think it has enough power to do it? (I would use the 3in1 ram expansion)
    Please only respond if you have enough coding knowledge to make a sound judgment
     


  2. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    From my knowledge of all things DS, it's possible but not plausible.
     
  3. LivingToDie

    Banned LivingToDie Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    The world that never was
    Country:
    Netherlands
    is this game the FF7 as from the psx ? with the 4 discs ? if so isnt it too big for ds ?
     
  4. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Not possible, I don't think the DS would be able to handle it.
     
  5. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    How will you port the game ?
    You would need the source code.
     
  6. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you want to start coding it from scratch, then you'll need the source code, like nIxx said.

    You can "port" the game, but you'd have to compress a lot of graphics and sound, as well as reducing the effects on screen. Even if you were simply porting the game while having the source code on hand, you're going to have to convert the FMV's to a format playable on the DS. Also, I believe the resolution was 640x480, so you're going to have to drastically change the way the game is displayed if you want anything to be visible.

    So anyway, it's possible, but the result would hardly look or feel as good as the original.

    By the way, even if you have the source code, this would take a massive amount of re-writing and organization of code. While this may be "possible', it's not possible for an independent developer to do so within a reasonable time frame or without catching hell from Square Enix if you ever get close to a finished product.

    You can compare Disgaea: Hour of Darkness or Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness to Disgaea DS as an example of how graphics and sounds have to be reduced in quality to get a good frame rate on the DS.
     
  7. crescentsaber

    Newcomer crescentsaber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    Australia
    The size is not a problem since if you explore the 4 discs, 90% of the content is the same. I think just the FMVs are a bit different specially disc4 since its got the ending FMV, but I might be wrong.

    With the DS video codec I'm pretty sure size is not a problem, the problem would be finding someone who's crazy enough to do it. This will at least take 3-4 years of your life if you decide to do it alone - needs to be written from scratch because simply emulating it is NOT possible due to the DS' lack of processing power


    EDIT: damn you omatic, you're basically saying what I said ! LOL... props for being 5 secs earlier =D
     
  8. SoulAnger

    Member SoulAnger MENUdo's Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    743
    Country:
    Philippines
    Lets call Bob Pelloni. :3
     
  9. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    im talking about the pc game not the psx one so theres only one disc
     
  10. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you missed the other massive problems I put forth earlier, but the number of discs is the least of your worries.
     
  11. Eponasoft

    Newcomer Eponasoft Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    It can be done. The models from the PC game could be converted to your format of choice (or used directly, either way), the textures could be re-used largely unmodified (might have to resize a few though), and you'd have to resize all the bitmapped area graphics. The music could be converted to mp3 and streamed via libfat. Videos? EMC. [​IMG] (shameless plug!) You could even have the menus up full-time on the touchscreen and have the gameplay on the top screen. It can be done.

    However, the amount of time invested in such a conversion is more than one person, or even a small group of people, would be able to handle. Most of the 4MB of RAM would be dedicated to code, leaving not a lot of room for required data buffering. Furthermore, you would likely have to either hand-optimize your code for size, or code size-critical portions in assembly just to make it all fit.

    It can be done. But I don't think it will be done. I sure as hell wouldn't ever take it on.
     
  12. SoulAnger

    Member SoulAnger MENUdo's Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    743
    Country:
    Philippines
    Wow welcome to gbatemp Eponasoft. [​IMG] Its been along time since I saw you.
    Also If you think realistically, it's Square Enix you're dealing if someone's gonna do this project.
    They dont double think if they saw a fan game, they'll C&D it right away. [​IMG]
     
  13. Eponasoft

    Newcomer Eponasoft Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Hey SoulAnger, yeah very long time it's been. [​IMG] Been lurking a bit here and there but figured I should finally join up. But yeah...Square would lose a bolt in their head if they knew someone was intruding on their IP. You'd be lucky to ONLY get a C&D.
     
  14. SoulAnger

    Member SoulAnger MENUdo's Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    743
    Country:
    Philippines
    Believe me or not, but Square only does C&D nothing more nothing less.
    Chrono Resurrection, is a great example of this.
    It was so damn hot for a mere Unreal Mod, search the trailer at Youtube.
    It looked like the project could hit Squaresoft's Chrono Trigger (Snes / DS) consecutively at its balls, and yet Square just gave them a C&D.

    Also, I never heard of a fan project that actually got more than a C&D. :-\
     
  15. NeverGoingBack

    Newcomer NeverGoingBack Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    A long time ago some people were working on making a 8bit nes version of FF7. I dont know if it was ever complete though. If so , this could be played on Nes emulator or even alot easier to port to DS. You could even down sample the psx videos to dpg and put them in the right spots for some FMV. Dont know if this is concievable, Id play it though.
     
  16. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    well not if its done in the light of QuakeDS where Im not actually remaking there game im just allowing the DS to run it then I wont get a C&D
     
  17. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    Chinese bootleggers already made this and sold cartridges. It was dumped to ROM last year. It would need a translation at the very least... editing the graphics(most of which were lifted from other FF games) and toning the difficulty down to a playable level would also need to be done.
     
  18. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    Well sadly they Square can and I believe would take action and thats a risk most are not willing to take ...unless they have butt loads of money to not care and just pay them off
     
  19. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    This is nonsense, Quake's engine was open sourced like ten years ago, and there's no law against source ports. You'd have to do a complete game engine recreation for FF7.
     
  20. wolfmanz51
    OP

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    Well thats what I was gona do was recreate the game engine I thought that was at leas legal but if not fuck it
     

Share This Page