Essential Tweaks after a fresh install of WinXP?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by phoood, Mar 5, 2007.

Mar 5, 2007
  1. phoood
    OP

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, after I reinstalled WinXP after more than a year without doing so, I uninstalled some crap and installed firefox. I medditely came here to gbatemp to ask this question:

    What are some Essential Tweaks (or apps that apply tweaks) after a fresh install of Windows XP?
     


  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Desktop son!!! and homepage... thats a keeper! [​IMG]
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The TweakUI power toy is a must have.

    If you're going to use the system for gaming, or you just don't want windows wasting CPU cycles and memory, uninstall the indexing service.

    Set the virtual memory size to one specific amount, don't let windows decide for itself.

    Check http://annoyances.org/ for various tweaks & settings to fix various annoying BS.
     
  4. bakhalishta

    Member bakhalishta my teef hurt

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    549
    Country:
    Canada
    This is the folder I burn every time I reinstall windows :

    [​IMG]

    I update it from time to time but these are the usual apps I always install
     
  5. Knab

    Member Knab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States

    you know over at MSFN they have an unattended guide so you can have all that installed every time automatically you just have to set it up once. even reg tweaks and everything.
     
  6. bakhalishta

    Member bakhalishta my teef hurt

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    549
    Country:
    Canada
    Ooooh, that looks nice... Certainly easier than going through all the format/install windows/install updates/etc [​IMG]

    You think it would work with the OS CD that came with my laptop ? (It has the MediaDirect files)
     
  7. unusername

    Member unusername GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Viña del Mar
    Country:
    Chile
    i use http://www.windowsue.com it's a better windows unattended edition.... and many more (nero, firefox, alcohol, winrar, office 2003, etc)
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 to bakhalishta's list, most of those apps I use for everyone elses machine as well save klite and itunes. Add imgburn for CD/DVD/HD writing.

    Anyway, disable inbuilt security center and install my own firewall and AV.
    Disable a whole bunch of services (telnet is on by default if I recall), inbuild zip support and CD burning is also junked.
    Windows media player is replaced/sent to the back with CCCP and a few other select video apps: http://www.cccp-project.net/
    Shortcuts have the shortcut to thing dropped for creation of a new shortcut as well as the little arrow being dropped.

    Most this can be accomplished by hand or with a simple tweaking app like RegToy, FreshUI and to a lesser extent xpantispy.
     
  9. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wish my laptop came preinstalled with most of those programs. Stupid HP/Packard Bell. Especially Packard Bell. My old computer died so my dad bought a new one from PC World and it was FULL of shit that is obviously aimed for a family who has babies and newbie PC users. A format on it feels like a cool coke on a hot summer day. Now I'm having to do it again for my HP laptop.
     
  10. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some guy already said Tweak UI, and "Powertoy Calculator" if you do a lot of maths or programming (I don't know if it's possible to replace the default calculator with it, it's never occured to me to check).
     
  11. Perplexer

    Member Perplexer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    Another vote for TweakUI. Install Firefox and NoScript. Turn off System Restore. Install TextPad (notepad alternative). WinRAR. The rest depends on whether it's my desktop or laptop...
     
  12. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    format the drive and install linux [​IMG]
     
  13. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why turn off System Restore? Just curious, that thing's saved my ass more times than I can count. You've just got to remember to clear out the old restore points every now and then (although why it only lets you keep the most recent one and not the most recent 5 I'll never know)
     
  14. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    I have never used system restore, what problems did you have when you had to restore?
     
  15. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    my list of programs include:
    azureus, mirc, dc++, winamp latest with a bunch of plugins, miranda with a certain skin, filezilla, filezilla server, adobe acrobat reader, adobe photoshop with plugins, GraphicsGale, CDRwin, daemon tools, winlame, flac encoder, sony soundforge, visual studio, eclipse, php, phpmyadmin, mysql, apache, tortoise svn, subversion server, ventrilo, staruml, directx sdk, videolan, ffdshow, Live Messenger, acdsee32, quicktime, nod32

    drivers:
    gfx card, mouse, soundcard, Ez Driver, monitor

    oh and I make sure I have all latest windows updates [​IMG]
     
  16. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    One of the first things that I always do after a format/acquiring a new computer:

    Start>run>msconfig>startup tab>disable pretty much everything

    That's also what I do whenever I've got a friend with a computer that's not running well, and probably 75% of the time it fixes the problem. The rest of the time, it's usually some antivirus conflict or something that spybot and adaware can fix.
     
  17. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Didnt know DOS recognizes a command like that [​IMG]

    When I got my new desktop over X-mas, I deleted EVERYTHING that came installed on it that was not necessary, including, but not limited to, AO Freakin L trial, Cheap DVD reading/burning software, and the likes. THEN get to the spybot and ZoneAlarm Pro [​IMG]
     
  18. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Botched windows updates (I had one that made my PC restart itself / bluescreen), getting rid of the mess that was NTL Gearbox from safe mode (memory leak on startup = fun). In other words fixing things when installing programs mucked things up or changed system settings that were not fixed by just uninstalling it or difficult / impossible to change back manually.
     
  19. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I just wish I could install the patch for the DST switch but their lame website has declared my copy as non-legit (it is though.) Kinda pisses me off as they deserve no more cash for sure, and i don't keep 4 year old receipts and so on.
     
  20. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    I've never encountered problems that booting into safe mode and running msconfig couldn't solve.
    Anyway, the gain from disabling it is "only" the hdd space it takes up. (I think it's 20% of the whole partition by default)
     

Share This Page