Error 116 During Parts Of Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vsin, May 19, 2009.

May 19, 2009

Error 116 During Parts Of Softmod by Vsin at 10:16 PM (1,580 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. Vsin
    OP

    Newcomer Vsin Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    While softmodding my Wii, I have some steps which require it to go go online. Some of these steps that go online have worked and now I have come across 2 steps of the process which will not. These that are failing me are giving me error 116. The Wii passes the internet connection test still and the globe icon does blink then turns solid white showing the Wii is connected. My modem lights also show this to be true.

    One that is giving me problems is "mIOS patcher", I used the game cube controller to try to change the MIOS version to V8 and rungcbackup to rungcbackup + backup launcher.

    I also get the same 116 error when I try to install "cIOS USB 2.0". Everything else that has needed my Wii to use the internet has connected and worked fine. It still will connect online except to these things.

    Some additional information I can think to provide is that I am using CrashOverride's Ultimate Wii Mod Kit 8.0 and the instructions that came with it. My Wii is version 3.2U and has never been any higher of a version than this. I use a DSL connection and only the Wii is connected to this line while doing this (computer is unplugged from the network). I don't have a wireless router and I use a usb lan adapter on my Wii for a wired connection. I have tried reseting the modem, unplugging everything from the system and modem and letting it sit a while. I have also tried setting up a static IP for my Wii and I have tried erasing the internet settings on my Wii and then setting them back.

    Every part of the modding process has worked fine until this point. I was up all night last night trying to figure out how to fix this problem. The rest of my day today have been more hours spent on trying to solve this issue. Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I saw this problem.

    Try installing from wads instead.
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Unplug the LAN adapter and set the Wii to use wifi or delete all network settings. And unplug all gamecube and usb hardware as well.
     
  4. Vsin
    OP

    Newcomer Vsin Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    I am unsure where to find these at, at least the latest versions for these. I would like to know how to fix the problem I am having but if I can't, then using wads would be an option I would go with if I could find them.

    Watching the lights on my modem appear to show the steps take my Wii offline and then tries to reconnect it during the process. Is it possible that maybe some internet site is down?

    *Edit*
    I don't have wireless at home. I can only use wired. I have tried erasing all internet settings and setting them back. I have also tried unplugging everything from the modem and everything from the Wii. Let it all sitting for quite some time and then hooked it all back up and tried the steps again but still it fails. The Wii will go online with no problems. It only has a problem with the internet on those 2 steps in the mod.
     

Share This Page