ds xl R4I ??

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by stickybit, Mar 12, 2010.

Mar 12, 2010

ds xl R4I ?? by stickybit at 1:47 PM (2,215 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i hope this is posted in the correct place forgive me if its not but the ds section said i couldnt start a post ??

    im thinking of getting the new dsi xl and i was just wondering if my R4I-SDHC will work with it?
    if it wont will any others work with the dsi xl?
    manny thanks
     
  2. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Moved to correct section, and you'll probably get your answer way faster there!
     
  3. dreassica

    Member dreassica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Runs fine here on my imported DSi LL which is basically the same.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Put it this way: The only difference between the DSi and the XL is the screen.
     
  5. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    not sure. why don't you just buy ak2i? (it's far BETTER than R4i-SDHC + akAIO)
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    +999999999999999999999 on this
     
  7. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whats the difference with the ak2i? my r4i has neva failed me yet
    is the ak2i just a different card but same features?
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Yet" being the operative word here.
    Anything R4 now is a failcard; they're all clones, so the card quality is bad, support will be tacky and will soon stop altogether.
     
  9. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i see....
    so what do you suggest i get to replace it and it has to be compatable with my future dsi xl...
    ak2i?

    does it play ds back ups and emulators/homebrew etc?
     
  10. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The idea is the same as the R4, just the AK2i's compatibility and features are infinitely better
     
  11. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok iv had alook and i can find a few different AK cards
    which is the 1 and only to get?
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard 2i
     
  13. stickybit
    OP

    Member stickybit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok then thats the 1 i shall get..
    im assuming i will need to download a firmware??
    where can i get this?
     
  14. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    There's an AKAIO 1.6 thread. Get it from there
     

Share This Page