ds browser w/ r4 and sc lite

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by screamster101, Jan 19, 2007.

Jan 19, 2007
  1. screamster101
    OP

    Newcomer screamster101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    typing from it now! [​IMG]
     
  2. No Name Trowa Barton

    Member No Name Trowa Barton Namaiki iun-ja naiyo™

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    the whole world is in my hands.
    Country:
    United States
    i would like more info on the DS browser and how to get it to work on the r4ds. thanks
     
  3. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a slot 2 card supercard or the M3. Then you need the browser then the cracked version of the browser. You use the crack in the browser to patch the browser to either the supercard or M3.
     
  4. basilimux

    Newcomer basilimux Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you please let us know how you did it?

    I also have a R4 and SC lite and I'd like to know how to get Opera working.

    Thanks!
     
  5. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't work with SC Lite rumble right? [​IMG] I want a combo rumble ram card but its not possible [​IMG]

    I want an Ewin RAM cart, unless I can get an SCLite from someone for cheap [​IMG]
     
  6. No Name Trowa Barton

    Member No Name Trowa Barton Namaiki iun-ja naiyo™

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    the whole world is in my hands.
    Country:
    United States
    i have a orignal viscosity 256meg flash 2 advance from back in the day can i use this? and will it work on the R4? i dont have a SC light
     
  7. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I've been looking for the browser patch (I can get the rom easy, I just need the patch) for a while, I have an M3 and will soon have an R4.
     
  8. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't work like that unfortunately.

    However, can I use my EZ Flash 4? Does it have RAM that is accessible the same way as the Supercard?
     
  9. screamster101
    OP

    Newcomer screamster101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    I used the SC patch to patch the rom. I have an SC lite that I just got from Real Hot Stuff today. I thought the browser would be really slow. But it depends on the site you visit. I heard it also works with M3 lite as well. [​IMG]

    Sorry. Don't remember where I found the patch. You can find it from searching the forums though. Seems like this is the only solution for R4 wifi besides DSO Irc. Everything else Ive tried (DSVNC, Win2DS, NDSMAIL) does not connect to my router.
     
  10. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
  11. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Works a treat. Thanks!!!
     
  12. Nestea80

    Member Nestea80 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought the browser ... but for convenience sake, I put the untouched browser rom and put it in the R4, but I keep the original expansion cartridge in slot-2.
     
  13. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Opera Web Browser is actually very fast, its just most sites these days have loads of excess spam. Try to just load a big image that is like 3 mbs. It will be loaded very quickly.
     
  14. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    before questions flood in:

    the slot2 browser hacks only work on M3 / Supercard series of slot2 devices (but not Supercard Rumble)

    If you have any of these slot2 cards, then you can use an ips patcher (google it) to apply the M3 or SC patch to your clean Opera DS browser ROM. Then put the patched rom on your slot1 device.
     

Share This Page