Dragon Quest Builders 2 Modding: Reinject texture files from Model files

Sapphire645

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2024
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
23
Country
Spain
I want to document this somewhere, but I don't really know where.

DQB2's files relating to models have a bunch of g1m and g1t all mashed together. The header first has the number of files [0,3] , then the pointers to the beggining of each file, then a bunch of data I haven't deciphered yet.

I made 2 very shoddy python files that can reinject texture files into the .unpack to reimport to the linkdata. It only works for files that have only 2, like character or weapons.

How to use:
-Have the scripts on the same directory as the unpack
-Run ModelUnpackExtractor, and write the name (including the extension) on the terminal
-It will generate a g1m and g1t file. Edit the g1t file as you would a normal g1t file.
-Run UnpackG1tReinjector, and write the name (including the extension) of the .unpack file. It will reinject the .unpack.g1t into the .unpack file.
-Reimport as normal

Example:

1718385027376.png


Has no one documented this before? Compared to everything else I find it sad that as a community we got past injecting normal textures but couldn't figure this one out.
 

Attachments

  • UnpackG1tReinjector.txt
    673 bytes · Views: 4
  • ModelUnpackExtractor.txt
    1.1 KB · Views: 5
Last edited by Sapphire645,

eviltrainer

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
35
Trophies
1
XP
112
Country
Brazil
Nice work, Sapphire645! I was wondering if there's a way to handle UI textures for fan translation of the game. Both for the original DQB and DQB2. Do you happen to know anything about this matter?
 

Sapphire645

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2024
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
23
Country
Spain
Nice work, Sapphire645! I was wondering if there's a way to handle UI textures for fan translation of the game. Both for the original DQB and DQB2. Do you happen to know anything about this matter?
Its all on the UI image file, just replace the file with custom images and volia! There's also a main text file with all the written UI text.
 
  • Like
Reactions: eviltrainer

eviltrainer

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
35
Trophies
1
XP
112
Country
Brazil
Its all on the UI image file, just replace the file with custom images and volia! There's also a main text file with all the written UI text.
Yeah, I already managed to translate the text. All that's left is handling the phyre wrapper for the dds textures. I can't find a way to extract and replace them with my edited ones, and then repack them back into a phyre wrapper to be used in the game. All the tools available only support the PC version of the game (well at least the ones I found).
Post automatically merged:

Here's a sample of a texture of the game!
 

Attachments

  • uitex.en.NXGL.phyre.7z
    1 MB · Views: 3
Last edited by eviltrainer,

Sapphire645

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2024
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
23
Country
Spain
It shouldnt be too complicated. The main file of the game (DQB2) is the linkdata. This video has all the tools to replace .dds textures of the game. The only thing you'd have to do is extract the icon sheet, which is a big file containing everything, and replace everything there.

Here is an example of how the image looks like (its shrunk down and .png for visualization purposes). Each language has a different mapping, so based on the language you're basing the translation on you'd have to use a different sheet. For example, european switch version has 5 sheets for its 5 languages.
1718989121583.png

Post automatically merged:

Yeah, I already managed to translate the text. All that's left is handling the phyre wrapper for the dds textures. I can't find a way to extract and replace them with my edited ones, and then repack them back into a phyre wrapper to be used in the game. All the tools available only support the PC version of the game (well at least the ones I found).
Post automatically merged:

Here's a sample of a texture of the game!
Forgot to add, all versions of the game are the same. The index number of the files will change depending on the version, platform, region, etc... so I can't give you a number, but the sheet is after the "tips and tricks" images, which take a whole lot of space so it's easy to land on, and before the text files. Its also before the island name files and the boss monster name files.

It's also the first file after a bunch of empty index files if I'm remembering correctly.

If you have the whole game extracted then it'll be easier to pinpoint the file.

(Edit, on the European version I use it's index 600)
 
Last edited by Sapphire645,
  • Wow
Reactions: eviltrainer

eviltrainer

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
35
Trophies
1
XP
112
Country
Brazil
Ok, it seems to be pretty straight-forward indeed! However, this is for DQB2, right? Could you please try and convert the sample phyre file I sent you before? It is from DQB1, so now I'm curious if the original game is harder to work with than the sequel 🤔
Post automatically merged:

1718996706746.png

I think I have my answer: DQB1 uses a different structure for encapsulating assets (nxarc). I didn't know that because actually a friend of mine is translating the game and it seems he already managed to extract the textures (in phyre format) but doesn't know how to proceed any further than that. And that's where we are now.
 
Last edited by eviltrainer,

Sapphire645

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2024
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
23
Country
Spain
Ok, it seems to be pretty straight-forward indeed! However, this is for DQB2, right? Could you please try and convert the sample phyre file I sent you before? It is from DQB1, so now I'm curious if the original game is harder to work with than the sequel 🤔
Post automatically merged:

View attachment 443439
I think I have my answer: DQB1 uses a different structure for encapsulating assets (nxarc). I didn't know that because actually a friend of mine is translating the game and it seems he already managed to extract the textures (in phyre format) but doesn't know how to proceed any further than that. And that's where we are now.
I... unfortunately have no idea about DQB1, sorry. There are tools online that convert Phyre into normal dds and back, although I can't tell you which one would work as I have no experience with it.

DQB1 and DQB2 were "developed by different companies", as in, DQB2 uses Koei Tecmo's own encryption format, while DQB1 uses something else. So they are fundamentaly different in that aspect. Tools that work for one game will not really work for the other.
 
  • Like
Reactions: eviltrainer

eviltrainer

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
35
Trophies
1
XP
112
Country
Brazil
I... unfortunately have no idea about DQB1, sorry. There are tools online that convert Phyre into normal dds and back, although I can't tell you which one would work as I have no experience with it.

DQB1 and DQB2 were "developed by different companies", as in, DQB2 uses Koei Tecmo's own encryption format, while DQB1 uses something else. So they are fundamentaly different in that aspect. Tools that work for one game will not really work for the other.
Yeah, that's exactly the case here. DQB1 uses Phyre Engine, an obscure engine from Sony and every tool I found online that converts phyre texture to dds, only work with the PC version of the files. It's always like this lol

Anyway, thanks for taking your time to try and help me! I appreciate it! 😉👍🏻
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sapphire645

Sapphire645

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2024
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
23
Country
Spain
Yeah, that's exactly the case here. DQB1 uses Phyre Engine, an obscure engine from Sony and every tool I found online that converts phyre texture to dds, only work with the PC version of the files. It's always like this lol

Anyway, thanks for taking your time to try and help me! I appreciate it! 😉👍🏻
You can try to compare the PC version of the same file to the console version with HxD, the differences might be small enough that you can convert the files to something the tool can read manually. Might be worth a shot?
 
  • Like
Reactions: eviltrainer

eviltrainer

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
35
Trophies
1
XP
112
Country
Brazil
You can try to compare the PC version of the same file to the console version with HxD, the differences might be small enough that you can convert the files to something the tool can read manually. Might be worth a shot?
Yeah, I didn't come to that. I forgot that completely, lol
But in fact, as I said before, I'm not the one actively translating the game. But I'll give it a shot! I'm just not good at all at HxD but I know how to at leat make something out of the magic and the headers a little 🤣🤣
Post automatically merged:

1719074156789.png

Welp, no deal! On PC the game was developed with Unity, and on Switch, it was with PhyreEngine. Guess I'll have to keep looking :glare:
 
Last edited by eviltrainer,
  • Like
Reactions: Sapphire645

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • cearp @ cearp:
    good morning
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Fucking credit score keeps going up and down 7-10 points per month and I'm not even doing anything with it lol
  • M @ Materion:
    Hiya guys :)
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    hey
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Ken - good score or bad?
  • cearp @ cearp:
    / going to be making use of it any time soon?

    Credit scores are weird but -- like you say, if you're not using it -- not using credit -- that's "bad" for your score
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Trying to improve it at 645
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yet equafax is 678
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You need to show you can use credit / borrow money and pay it back to get a good score.

    Some people think that means paying interest -- that is NOT correct.
    For example, some think you need to "carry a balance" on your credit cards, and that if you pay the whole bill at once, that's bad.
    Not true at all. If you can, perfectly fine to pay your card statement in full.

    If you want your score to go up, don't close any credit cards - keep them all open as closing an account reduces your average age of credit account, which is bad.

    Also how the algorithms work, if you have multiple cards, have the final monthly balance reported on them be 0 (as in pay off early so nothing charged to you in your bill) on all but one card. So only let one card have a balance that's reported to the agencies.

    And keep your credit utilization below 30% - so if you're allowed to access $10,000 of credit, don't go above $3,000 or that looks bad.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I've been doing secured loans
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    645 isn't a bad score but sure can be better. If there are any bad marks on your history, I've seen some people successfully get these removed by asking
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    One friend is like 550 I'm like how lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Thing is we get so comfortable living we don't really have anything else we want to buy until something happens to said expensive item and then you gotta take another loan to replace that
  • cearp @ cearp:
    I did a secure loan once to build credit - worked well, specifically did a trick where the loan balance was kept at like 3% for 5 years. As having a loan basically paid off is good for your credit score.
    So took out the (small) loan, paid 95% off immediately lol, then paid $2 a month for a few years.
    Not every bank / credit union let you do that, and even the ones that do might think your behavior is weird lol :D
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Over time secured loans can get you free shit if you're smart about payments the money essentially goes back to you
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Paid like $100-150 or so in interest in total over those 5 years in return for a good bump of my credit score, worth it for me.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Say I want a $600 console I can save $100 per month while paying myself back within 6 months
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Once your credit score is good enough you'll get approved for "good" credit cards, then get benefits with them :) I don't make the most of my benefits, some people truly min/max the whole thing and get enough points for free flights + hotel etc... Takes time though, I'm not that serious about it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    At a business perspective they can max at 20k within a month
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Once you get to about 750 you're fine -- I don't believe you get a better rate for car loans / mortgages if you have a score of 820 vs 750.
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Oh yeah if you have a business, or even just travel a lot for work, that will get you a ton of points lol
    As many companies get you to book your own travel then reimburse you
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Anyway - speaking of work, I need to get back to work :D Have a good day Ken + all other users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd hate to have that much stress
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    Amen
    cearp @ cearp: Amen