Custom Screen Resolution in Vista?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Nero, Dec 9, 2007.

Dec 9, 2007
  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I'm really pissed at my sister's computer right now.

    She called me today saying that the screen suddenly made everything big.. I drove over there and it seems her Resolution has been changed to 800x600. I asked her "How did this happen?", and she just said it did it by itself when she booted her Computer up this morning.

    She's not very good at computers... I'm not very good with Vista..

    I'd like to know how to set a Custom Resolution on Windows Vista.. She has a 19" Widescreen LCD screen, but I tried to get it to it's default resolution + best looking one (1440 x 900 @60hz), but there wasn't that option on the slider.

    Every other Resolution looks absolutely horrific, and it makes me want to murder her PC.

    Could someone please help me out? I tried everything.. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  2. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    reinstall the graphics card driver, get the official one at ati / nvidia's website, depending on your card manufacturer
     
  3. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    And that will solve my Resolution Problem on her computer?

    ~Nero
     
  4. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Some time, the latest driver isn't the best for old card.
    My card mess when I update to newer version.
     
  5. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    assuming I read your post right (you can't change the screen resolution from 600x800, the default resolution for most computers), then it should be her graphics card driver, which determines what resolutions your computer can use
     
  6. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Well.. Something is up.

    It used to be fine, her monitor ran at a nice 1440 x 900, then one morning, it changed the resolution by itself.
    I'll try your idea tomorrow. Thanks for the help.

    ~nero
     
  7. enigmaindex

    Member enigmaindex the Scarecrow

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh yeah i defiantly think its driver related. Reinstall them, just like everyone else said.
     

Share This Page