Citra - Unofficial \ Chinese builds discussion

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by masaki88, Jun 23, 2016.

  1. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
  2. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    So, I've been playing with that new Chinese updated build (thanks for the link again, Raiderzzz). Got to say, that's easily the best experience I've had on MH4U yet. Absolutely no slowdowns on roars of any kind and I can keep the resolution up to 6x native. I'm so happy someone kept that interpretation hack in modern Citra builds... at least until a proper fix is found. Still would be very nice if we could get a rom hack of MH4U with 3D disabled, or some kind of Action Replay style code for Citra that modifies the game to never turn it on. I just tested MHXX with that unofficial build and was able to speed the game up to 120fps (not meant for playing, but rather for future implementation of a speed hotkey, akin to PPSSPP, ZSNES, etc.) Can't get above 70fps on MH4U due to the 3D mode :/. Good either way though to have playable build.
     
  3. Fonariuz

    Fonariuz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 5, 2017
    Netherlands

    Can you maybe help me to set it up/download it? with the link i will go to a chinese site and i have no clue what to do there
     
  4. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    What CPU do you have and I can just make a MediaFire upload for you. Because there are multiple types and you need the right one.
     
  5. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    Okay, so actually I have uploaded all of them. Everything you need is here. Pick one of the links based on which CPU microarchitecture your CPU has.

    You can Google your CPU's microarchitecture or look at the Wikipedia pages for the following architectures. They list all CPUs under that architecture on their respective pages.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandy_Bridge
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell_(microarchitecture)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skylake_(microarchitecture)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaby_Lake
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee_Lake
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nehalem_(microarchitecture)

    (Ryzen not included because only AMD CPUs in that line have Ryzen in the name... so no need to search)


    Steps to get it working:

    Step 1 (All builds are by bobcats links listed last page, July 9, 2019 builds) Obviously I take no credit for these, thanks to original uploader, the one who compiled the builds, and the Citra team
    (SandyBridge Intel CPU)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/5isza...Qt5.12.4_SandyBridge_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    (Skylake, Coffee Lake [I think], and Kaby Lake Intel CPU)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/fr1f7...1.0_Qt5.12.4_Skylake_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    (AMD Ryzen CPUs) Note: probably won't work on older AMD CPUs (they're usually too slow for emulation anyways)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/wi6p51ui6j4md8d/citra_GCC9.1.0_Qt5.12.4_Ryzen_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    (Nehalem Intel CPU)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/s4uk5...1.0_Qt5.12.4_Nehalem_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    (Haswell Intel CPU)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/7x8g0...1.0_Qt5.12.4_Haswell_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    (Generic CPU, aka any other CPU that doesn't fit the architectures above)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/j4i91...1.0_Qt5.12.4_generic_sandbox_20190709.7z/file

    Step 2.
    Here is a DLL file that it claimed was missing when trying to run. If you don't need it, cool. But otherwise simply add this DLL to the root folder containing the citra.exe/citra-qt.exe
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/v0lti72n5lmh5jx/libhogweed-4.dll/file
    (A similar updated DLL exists in the main Citra folder named libhogweed-5.dll but apparently the old 4th one is needed as well, but wasn't included)

    Step 3.
    Once everything is downloaded, first extract the Citra build into a folder of your choice (make a new empty folder to hold it, obviously). Now copy the downloaded DLL file into your Citra folder (where you just extracted files to). Now you should be able to run Citra by clicking "citra-qt.exe"

    Assuming it's working, there is one more thing for monster hunter games to work well.

    Step 4.
    With Citra open and in focus, click the 'Emulation' list option at the top-right. Select 'Configure'. Select the 'Graphics' option on the side panel. Then under the options enable "Ignore Format Reinterpretation". This option prevents roars and other effects from dramatically slowing the game down (probably by not trying to render them in a new format/upscaled res). You can still increase the Internal resolution if desired, as everything that's not a roar or similar effect should render at the chosen resolution.
     
    Last edited by Desmondchaser, Jul 12, 2019
    LysergCooltyp, Fonariuz and xmeee978 like this.
  6. powrHouse

    powrHouse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2019
    Canada
    I've been having a lot of success playing MHXX with this build too, especially with with 60fps hack- with one issue. The game remains at a solid 60fps 90% of the time, but every 5-10 minutes it randomly plummets down to 35-40fps for about 3 seconds, before returning to 60fps. Even playing at 30fps without the 60fps hack, the same thing happens (but with a drop to 15-20fps). I've messed around with various graphic settings and other Citra builds, but it seems to be an issue that plagues all of them (unless someone has found a solution?).

    Otherwise, MHXX is (so far) entirely playable on this build, especially since the format re-interpretation hack fixes the biggest issue, which was the flash bomb/monster roar slowdowns. Thanks for sharing!
     
  7. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    Yeah. I don't have the random slowdowns on MH4U, but I do have the infamous "frameskip when a monster spawns" thing happen. But that happened on my OG 3DS when I used to play it there, so that's just a game thing. I'll keep playing and see if I encounter that issue for myself.
     
  8. powrHouse

    powrHouse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2019
    Canada
    I haven't had any "frameskip when a monster spawns" lag on this build, fortunately. The slowdowns I'm describing happen regardless of game activity- they occur once every 5-10 minutes even if standing idle in town.
     
  9. Fonariuz

    Fonariuz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 5, 2017
    Netherlands
    holy shit dude your awesome!! the second ill get to my pc ill check it out!
     
    xmeee978 likes this.
  10. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    Oh also since I haven't been able to find this around on the internet, for people who are like me and lost or have a broken 3DS, here is a decrypted EXTDATA folder for all of the DLC for MH4U. One day the servers will be down, and I think it should exist somewhere for future generations who will play Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate. My cousin was generous enough to let me use his hacked 3DS to extract these off my SD card. Kudos to awesome family members! :)

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/qg68gs28qxdt3y2/MH4U_ALL_DLC_EXTDATA.zip/file

    Simply take the folder inside and copy it into your "extdata\0000000" folder at this path from your Citra folder: "user\sdmc\Nintendo 3DS\00000000000000000000000000000000\00000000000000000000000000000000\extdata\00000000"

    The reason this is important (aside from weird and cool DLC-only outfits) to me is there are very specific monsters that can NEVER be fought in the final part of the game (G Rank) without having these DLCs. Hopefully MH4U players on Citra can extract their own files or pass this around so everyone can enjoy the entire game together.
     
  11. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    Oh, I see. Not sure. I guess different hardware, different issues?
     
  12. powrHouse

    powrHouse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2019
    Canada
    Yeah, I think its an Citra/NVIDIA GPU compatibility issue based on what I've been able to gather from others experiencing the same issues. I'm sure it will get worked out in future builds.
     
  13. warweeny

    warweeny GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Apr 25, 2011
    Netherlands
    Could someone implement the "medium sized" screen into the latest canary release?
    I update my citra only once every 8 months, but the main branch just does not have this option, while it really should be in there.

    Maybe @drwhojan could help me with this? :)
    If someone else could do it, that would be good too of course.
     
  14. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 20, 2018
    United States
    I'm actually curious why the screens are not completely adjustable. Especially since other emulators have this option. I have dual screens and would love to be able to properly fit both screens on each monitor.
     
  15. Raiderzzz

    Raiderzzz Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Feb 2, 2019
    United States
    But you can use the custom build that @Desmondchaser uploaded (thanks man appreciate it). It in my opinion runs better than the canary build and also has medium screen option.
     
  16. warweeny

    warweeny GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Apr 25, 2011
    Netherlands
    his uploads are incomplete.
    I am missing dll's i do not miss with the canary version.
     
  17. powrHouse

    powrHouse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 12, 2019
    Canada
    He has posted the missing DLL in "Step 2" of one of his follow-up posts..
     
    drwhojan likes this.
  18. drwhojan

    drwhojan GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Jul 14, 2009
    United Kingdom
    Where I Am!
    This is such a good feature, I'm very surprised they are some one from github have not added it officially by now.., Are put it up, I cannot they don't like me
    But needs a rebase to them who can put it up

    Branch:
    https://github.com/citra-emu/citra/compare/master...Timmy5942:Medium-Screen-Layout?expand=1

    So lame of them

    Besides need to upgrade to MSVC2019 on my PC, Looks like few things have changed a bit over time.
     
    Last edited by drwhojan, Jul 18, 2019 - Reason: added info
  19. warweeny

    warweeny GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Apr 25, 2011
    Netherlands
    Could someone compile this feature in the latest canary?
    The version i have is severely outdated and the canary version just runs nice for me.
     
  20. Raiderzzz

    Raiderzzz Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Feb 2, 2019
    United States
    Looks like you are not listening or love the canary official build so much that you refused to use the custom build which is (in my opinion and many others) run much better and also have the feature that you want.
    But hey you are the one who make the decision here so it's all up to you. I'm just saying
     
    powrHouse likes this.
Loading...