cIOS38 Rev 14 Bad Sound

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiiboy33, Nov 16, 2009.

Nov 16, 2009

cIOS38 Rev 14 Bad Sound by wiiboy33 at 3:13 AM (1,176 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. wiiboy33
    OP

    Newcomer wiiboy33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed cIOS38 Rev 14 to run Gamma 7 (Coming from cIOS36 Rev 7 running Gamma 6) and the Wii sounds raspy and makes popping noise threw the menu & games just bad sound all around.

    I had cIOS36 Rev 10 on the card so I went to that and it went back to normal.

    Is their a problem with sound on cIOS38 Rev 14 and is their a fix, because I want to run Gamma 7?
     
  2. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
  3. wiiboy33
    OP

    Newcomer wiiboy33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter what loader I use it's bad sound even in the Wii home menu.
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    it has been noticed before that the sound is changed somehow and now sounds tinny on a softmodded Wii
     
  5. wiiboy33
    OP

    Newcomer wiiboy33 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I'm also no expert but when I first installed rev14 I selected wad install instead of network and when loading gamma 7 after it said I was still on cIOS36_rev7 so I then installed it threw network do you think that could be the reason the sound is bad and where did the wad install go after it was completed?
     
  6. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    A bad power supply on a USB device (such as cheap externally powered drive) connected to your wii can cause these problems. I've had it happen to me before.

    See if removing your USB HDD makes it normal again.

    If it does, use a different device or power supply (but i know nothing about this, may be more trouble than its worth).
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    does it even if nothing is plugged in
     
  8. frenchderf

    Newcomer frenchderf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Belgium
    I read that if preloader is not set to autoboot system menu, this sound issue appears.

    Try to set preloader (if you use it) to autoboot : system menu.
    resolved this for me

    frenchderf [​IMG]
     
  9. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    never had any sound problem on my wii using various cios' or any of the other half a dozen or so wii's ive modded.

    i have had visual interference from a dodgey usb --> ide converter with its own power pack before though. replaced it with a usb powered 2.5" drive and has been fine ever since.
     
  10. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    One thing that can add stress to your disk drive itself...In preloader make sure you have the Stop disk from spinning set in your Hacks.INI or it will damage the actual disk drive (just keeps spinning and if you let your wii set idle long enough thats not so good) and eventually you can end up with a wii thats MOTOR (the drive motor ) has beem running to much and it seems to get "weak" (sometimes make scrapping loud sounds or ticking) especially launch model consoles that have been downgraded for some reason from what i can tell they get it more often than newer wii's..(running gamma also does this because when you initialize a disk it makes a HARD click sound EVERY time you load a backup at 3X Neogamma r8 or wiigators 0.3 gamma makes no difference I have had to buy a new wii and go wth Usb loading seems to be healthier on my drive
     

Share This Page