Hacking cIOS problems

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Hi!

I got some problems that I need help with pleas.

Hardware
Nintendo WII
Wii System Menu 4.2E
Wiikey(v1) chip installed
SD card 256 MB
USB stick 16GB
Orginal GameCube memmory
2 GameCube controls

Applications
Homebrew channel installed
BootMii installed (with xDVD) - Need to choose wii menu, homebrewchannel or sd on stoartup(with gamecube control)

Installed in Homebrew channel
SNES and NES emulators
NeoGammaR7
USBLaoderGX1.0Installer
Dop-IOS are installed but do not start(black screen).
Trucha Bug Restorer 1.1 is also installed.

Problem
My intentions with the NeoGammaR7 and USB Loader GX was to be able to run a backup from the USB stick, but when executin any one of the these the screen goes black and nothing more happens. A Restart of the wii is a must.

I was told that cIOS was the one missing, so I started the latest cIOS installer and choose cIOS38 (I should probalby have choosen 249). Then I choose to take the cIOS from internet. Everything when fine but the loaders was not effected by this at all (still not starting).

I have tried to run the cIOS installer again to choose cIOS249 instead but when hitting A the remote and the DVD light turns off and no more connection can be established between the wii and the remote? This makes it imposible to install the cIOS249.

I have runned a program called signCheck and got the following data :

SignCheck 0.3b aka loveSexWii build report
Wii region, Europe
Wii unique device id, 45735206

IOS number, "Trucha bug", "Flash access", "Boot2 access", "Usb2.0 IOS tree"

IOS70 (ver 6687), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS61 (ver 5405), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS57 (ver 5661), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS56 (ver 5405), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS55 (ver 5406), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS53 (ver 5406), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS38 (ver 3867), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS37 (ver 3869), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS36 (ver 3351), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS35 (ver 3349), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS34 (ver 3348), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS33 (ver 3091), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS31 (ver 3349), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS28 (ver 1550), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS22 (ver 1037), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS17 (ver 775), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS14 (ver 520), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
IOS13 (ver 273), Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled

Everything els simes to work fine?

Now I am thinking of reverting the cIOS38 installation to minimize the possibilty of bricking the wii, but Im not sure how to do this?

I am new to the homebrew chapter of wii and do not really understand what cIOS is more then it is some kind of custom software placed in free memmory on the wii.

Pleas help me get my wii up and running without bricking it.
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
You don't have the trucha bug on any ios files.

You need to run truch a bug restorer and use it to bug ios36.

Then you use ios36 to do the ciosRev14 installation.

After that neogamma and usb loader gx should work.


Also to get rid of bootmii starting everytime your wii turns on do one of the following.

Do not insert your sd card until after the wii is turned on

Or

Rename the bootmii folder on your sd card to something else like bootmii1
 

bazamuffin

RESIDENT HATER OF POLITICAL POSTING WANKSTAINS
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
2,252
Trophies
1
Location
Shmashmortion Clinic
XP
954
Country
Uruguay
icpmattj said:
Also to get rid of bootmii starting everytime your wii turns on do one of the following.

Do not insert your sd card until after the wii is turned on

Or

Rename the bootmii folder on your sd card to something else like bootmii1

Or use bootmii config editor (HBC app) to change what Bootmii boots into and the delay time.

http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii_Configuration_Editor
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Thanks! But as I said, I am new to this and it seems to be alot of diffrent ways to get this going. I have already invested ALOT of time to fix this with no progress.

I do have Trucha Bug Restorer 1.1 installed, but I have no idea how to use this software.

Pleas provide a simple step by step instructions and I will get back to you about my progress.
 

Jdbye

Always Remember 30/07/08
Suspended
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
1,070
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Norway
XP
278
Country
Norway
You don't actually have to run Trucha Bug Restorer either - since you have BootMii boot2, you can just install cBoot2 on the SD card, then use that to run WAD Manager (included) and install some patched/old IOS wad, or you can use cBoot2 to run DOP-IOS (replace the boot.dol on the SD card).

There's nothing wrong with Trucha Bug Restorer, but it's annoying because you have to start the app several times to do everything you need to. With DOP-IOS ran through cBoot2 you can patch the hash check in every single IOS you have if you wanted to, and only have to run DOP-IOS once. I suggest staying away from patching IOS36 though
wink.gif


It's a good idea to have at least one unpatched IOS or your HBC will be upside down until you do
tongue.gif

HBC might be upside down after you run DOP-IOS (it's a little prank Team Twiizers play on everyone who patches the IOS HBC runs under, and HBCs IOS varies)
If that happens, as long as you have at least one unpatched IOS you can just reinstall HBC. But if you don't patch the IOS HBC runs under (shown when you press Home in HBC) it won't turn upside down
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Thanks!

I will try the link provided by old8oy.

Some aditional questions:
1. Is there any risk that I will brick my wii by following this guid?
2. If I understand it right, I will plave custom made software in wii system memmory, is it possible to revert this if needed in case of a new system update?
3. The guide says softmod? Do I need to softmod even when i got a wiikey?
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
I have not made a NAND backup, is it any idea to do this eveny when I have accedently mudified the cIOS38?
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
I have no come so far in the guid that it is sugested to install the wanninkokoscIOS, I have got the rev 14 for NeoGamma but when starting I can´t find a 249 in the list? 36 I have found but is this really the one to choose this time?
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Thanks that went well, the next problem is

Link

6. Time to patch our System menu IOS (IOS70) to run wads from SD card menu
* Run DOP-IOS. Go right till you see IOS70. Choose yes for every option and let it install. Reboot your wii.

I do not really know if I need this last step? Anyway, I can´t find any IOS70 in the browsing?

One other thing, I reinstalled the Everything from the ground and up(Homebrow(removed xdvd)), now there is not bootmii menu when starting the wii?
 

wrettcaughn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,819
Trophies
0
XP
1,495
Country
United States
SnowJim said:
Thanks that went well, the next problem is

Link

6. Time to patch our System menu IOS (IOS70) to run wads from SD card menu
* Run DOP-IOS. Go right till you see IOS70. Choose yes for every option and let it install. Reboot your wii.

I do not really know if I need this last step? Anyway, I can´t find any IOS70 in the browsing?

One other thing, I reinstalled the Everything from the ground and up(Homebrow(removed xdvd)), now there is not bootmii menu when starting the wii?

Keep cycling through the list. They are not listed in numerical order.
 

wrettcaughn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,819
Trophies
0
XP
1,495
Country
United States
Keep trying. It's there.

BTW...the very first time have to choose an IOS after starting the app, choose IOS36. After that choose IOS70.
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
2,964
Country
Belgium
Hello

I changed the step a little
Now it clearly says to choose IOS36 first

Cause iI think the reason people have problems there is because they want to choose IOS70 to use with the program (which you probably can't)

I hope you can get it working now
wink.gif
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Nice, it worked!

What do I need to do to get the New_Super_Mario_Bros_Wii_PAL_Wii-BAHAMUT running from USB stick in USB Loader or NeoGamma?
 

SnowJim

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
206
Country
Thanks, everything works fine now.

But should I reset the IOS38 where I accedentaly placed a cIOS? And if, how?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [sends Washington after them]
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    girls kiss other girls and nobody bats an eye, BUT WHENI KISS MY HOMIES GOODNIGHT IM NOW GAY
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    double standers

    are a bitch
    +2
  • C @ ch13696:
    Did you make sure to have socks on before kissing them goodnight?
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    The Core i9 seems like a nice CPU
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    need 32 gigs for Blender and shit like that
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    also dual wielding 580's are pretty nice for several games and blender
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    Hi Catboy
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Hey hey~
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Jesus super bowl tickets are like 5 grand this year
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Imagine if they didn't sell.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who would pay Rhianna then
  • D @ Danali:
    hi, does someone know how to get the kernel update? for NDS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There is no kernel update for DS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There might be kernel updates for various DS flash carts
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    what is a kernel update? and what is it for?
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In which case find either the website or suitable download section and hopefully it is there
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    *website for the flash cart in question
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Soooo, uhhhh, how do I post a meme to /memes/ now? I don't see an option now...
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Figured it out... Man, that is convoluted.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Kernel for the DS is loaded from the carts kinda lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well some carts
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Well some carts