chipping the PAL wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by woody0, Feb 13, 2008.

Feb 13, 2008

chipping the PAL wii by woody0 at 1:37 PM (1,293 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    iv recently had my 360 flashed, and currently have a fully working R4DS, the person who flashed my 360 said he can get my wii chipped for £40 with 3 games, but i dont know what chip he uses, he said it has something to do with the age of the wii, and mine came in the first batch for the UK, can anyone tell me which chip it is that he uses?

    he also says that it does get rid of the region lock, but it doesnt always work as it starts to download updates for the games from a US server and because its PAL it goes into an endless cycle and to stop this i should download the updates to my computer, write to disc and put that in my wii to update it, but is that even possible?
     
  2. kreatosoupa

    Newcomer kreatosoupa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Greece
    Just ask him what drive chip he is using and check the reviews and posts in the GBAtemp forums. If he's not doing it for free, he has to tell you all the details... Customer's always right. [​IMG]
     
  3. swf3

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just ask him!
    tell him you want a wikey, mine work g8 over 60 games!
    i only use pal games on it coz im scared off blocking it!
     
  4. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeh i suppose i could use just PAL games, but some games are released in america and not the UK so i would like to try those, but i suppose i should only use PAL games to make sure i dont brick it
     
  5. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    That update thing is utter bullshit, the only way to brick it is to install update from game discs that aren't your region. Just brickblock everything and you should be fine.
     
  6. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    brickblock?
     
  7. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    sounds like you don't know much about the wii.. read stickies here and on maxconsole.net, and do a search in both forums
     
  8. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know boat loads of info about the wii, most in my area, i just dont know anything about chipping them
     
  9. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ask what chip it is and if its a cyclowiz or wiikey thats good. also the you dont need to brickblock all games just check here and follow the instructions for each game
     
  10. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, so which program would be best for me as im running windows XP and il ask him on saturday if i can as im going to get me some 360 games off of him then
     
  11. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Whcih program?
    Dont you mean modchip?
     
  12. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    It rarely hurts to brickblock though, so when in doubt, just brickblock and keep a unbrickblocked ISO which you can later burn onto a DVD RW in case you DO need the update.
     
  13. woody0
    OP

    Member woody0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    wednesbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no i mean which program for brickblocking as it says that some games only work with a certain brickblocker and others work with another, so should i use both?
     

Share This Page