Change Language on Preloaded Hacked Korean Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by denimdragon, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. denimdragon
    OP

    Newcomer denimdragon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I have this Version (3.3k) of the Korean Wii. It doesn't have a chip in it. I opened one up and checked. I haven't installed anything on it but it already has Gamma Loader(GBAtemp BANNER), HBC Beta 9, Softchip Channel and USB Gecko right out of the box. I have already bricked/semi-bricked a Korean Wii just like this one.

    What I need to know Is how to change the language on these Wii's without bricking them. The Brick happened when I changed the settings in ARC 1.1b. I changed everything to USA and the Language to English. I let it install 3.2U and it started the process. I waited until it said "Press any key to Continue" and after that it reboots. When It reboots the Health and warning screen comes on, and prompts you to press "A". Once I press "A", the warning and health screen starts to faded out then it just freezes up. You have to power on an off to get out of the screen but it will only revert to the same scenario. (Fully Bricked or Semi-Brick?)

    How do I prevent this from happening? I purchsed a few of these for late Christmas presents for my kids and I have already bricked one. I don't want to brick the other 2 I have left. Some one please help. Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    You need ARC mod5 I think
     
  3. denimdragon
    OP

    Newcomer denimdragon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded it yesterday But I have yet to try it. Is There any way I can check and see what IOS files are on these Pre-hacked Wiis
    without bricking another one? If it was a way for me to see that then I would know what is on these Wiis, Then I would know what files need adding.
     
  4. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anytitlelister
     
  5. denimdragon
    OP

    Newcomer denimdragon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    So Is this going to allow me to change the language settings without bricking?
     
  6. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    indeed it should.....you have no promises though, taking on the korean to us change is not a newbie job...you may have bit off more than you can chew without studying up....talk to Qleap and kavid, ignore others and only listen to them.

    EDIT!!!: nvm, I reread your post.....you havent really looked into this, because you aren't doing the method even kind of right if im understanding you...kavid has a thread dedicated to this, and you can talk to qleap as well, dont proceed without learning more....you need specially modified versions of ARC
     
  7. denimdragon
    OP

    Newcomer denimdragon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds good. I will research more and get in contact with the recommend people. Thanks!
     
  8. denimdragon
    OP

    Newcomer denimdragon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to get into the Recovery Mode and the Firmware version is showing 3.2(KOR) This version was originally 3.3k I tried to downgrade to 3.2U with ARG 1.1b I didn't know about mod5 of ARG. My question now is what should I do now that I am in the Recovery mode with 3.2K showing? I'm basically stuck in this mode until I can find out what to do next. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     

Share This Page