CFG USB Loader on NTFS not seeing iso's

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by arogance1, Nov 9, 2010.

Nov 9, 2010
  1. arogance1
    OP

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently changed my HDD to a larger 160Gb drive, but found that it was locking the controllers out in games meaning you couldn't play anymore.

    So I formatted it, and decided to try NTFS instead of WBFS.

    Now, when CFG Loader starts, it displays all the boxes as a ? and won't load them.

    Do I need a certain IOS to use NTFS?
    If so, which one and is it on FileTrip?
     
  2. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    You should have made it easy on you and formatted to FAT32. But anyway, NTFS still works with CFG. No special cIOS needed as long as it's recent. I think NTFS/FAT32 started to be supported with cIOS249 v19 (or 18) and Hermes cIOS way before (v4 worked).

    If you see ? instead of images for your boxes, it means CFG couldn't load (or find) your covers. Your games should be in .wbfs format in a folder called wbfs in the root of your NTFS/FAT32 HD. Although .iso format should also work, but I always converted them. .iso files would be too big for FAT32, though.
     
  3. arogance1
    OP

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I left them as .iso
    I put them into a folder called wbfs, but should the case matter?
    I have cIOS249 (r19) but it says [FRAG] after it
    Base is IOS57 rev19 mload 1.0
    Loader version is 61b2

    Not only are the cases showing as ?, but it won't load the game or any details, so I guess it couldn't find the game itself.
     
  4. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Use WiiBackupManager to transfer games to ur HDD.
    BTW did u use Configurator and changed partition to NTFS???
     
  5. arogance1
    OP

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I used Windows 7 to format to NTFS

    I've decided to go back to WBFS though, its less hassle.
    I've got a different app to transfer the files.
    I had WBFS Manager, now got WiiBackupManager like you suggested, re-formatted in WBFS, and now transferring games back again.

    Hopefully, it won't lock out my controllers this time.
    I know the Wii is ok cos my 40Gb drive works fine, just a bit small.
     
  6. Gabelvampir

    Member Gabelvampir Free Mars!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    K-Town
    Country:
    Germany
    If you use FAT32 or NTFS you need to convert the .iso files to .wbfs files with programs like wbfs_file or one of the various GUI tools (don't know which ones support that, I only used wbfs_file). But using FAT32 or NTFS has many advantages over WBFS as a filesystem.
     
  7. arogance1
    OP

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure it matters, the drive is locking out the remote again.
    Only happens with this drive so I'm assuming the drive is knackered
     
  8. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    just try Format to FAT32 with cluster 32k. Then use WiiBackupManager to transfer games to HDD.
    but transfer 1 or 2 games just to test.
    BTW, im assuming u are using HBC 1.08 + IOS 58 to USB 2.0 support and updated IOS and cIOS. if not, use ModMii to update them.
     
  9. arogance1
    OP

    Member arogance1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using IOS57 rev19 mload 1.0

    But surely it just wouldn't load at all, rather than working for a short time then locking out the remotes?
     
  10. killsteve

    Newcomer killsteve Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    How does this make any sense? All the FAQ's say CFG UBS loader can play ISOs...... if you convert them to WBFS, then its obviously not a ISO anymore. What am I missing?

    If you post a question here, or in WIIhacks website, everyone say "OMFG READ THE REST OF THE FORUM, HERES A LINK TO SOME BULLSHIT". No one ever helps, just gives stupid answers and links to pages with a ton of info.

    IF CFG plays ISO on ntfs, why are we converting to WBFS?

    Oh yea, in such a negative post I have to give thanks and gratitude to the ones that actually help. Thanks to you cats.
     
  11. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    ppl can be wrong sometimes
    especially if they contradict official docs

    answering the same question over and over again aint fun
    and links to the answer are better then nothing
    cause ignoring is what most do to repetitive questions
    (note ITT: Q!=repetitive and A!=RTFM)

    most use .wbfs cause its smaller then normal .iso and easier to handle then scrubbed&sparse .iso
    ,it works on FAT too and not all loader support .iso
    if you dont like the support go and ask for a refund

    to answer the original question even if OP is out of the picture:
    AFAIK they need to follow the same naming scheme as the .wbfs files
     

Share This Page