Hacking Can't Boot Gateway Mode after install A9LH

Temarile

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,132
Trophies
0
XP
529
Country
Netherlands
Yes, Gateway A9LH requires the Red Card to boot. What did you do?
 

Temarile

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ A9LH ✧゚・: *ヽ(◕ヮ◕ヽ)
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
1,132
Trophies
0
XP
529
Country
Netherlands
You cannot boot without it.
If you don't have a nand backup from before your gateway a9lh you're screwed.
Why did you even install gateway a9lh if you don't even have a gateway?
 

jatikeren

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Seoul, Korea
XP
99
Country
Indonesia
You cannot boot without it.
If you don't have a nand backup from before your gateway a9lh you're screwed.
Why did you even install gateway a9lh if you don't even have a gateway?
because tutorial never tell me that it will required a red card to boot -____-
 

Atro

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
100
Country
United States
Well it should be common knowledge, you need the red card to get into Gateway's CFW, even without A9LH. Luckily, their guide tells you to make a NAND backup before you do anything, so if you've done that, you can place it on your SD Card, head into Gateway's menu, scroll to the right to where it says downgrade, and hold up while pressing A. This will trigger Gateway's NAND Restore function.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
You can boot Classic Mode without a red card, although signature patches are not enabled.
That got taken out quite a while ago. Unless they changed it back recently?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

image.jpg
This is v1 a9lh with Gateway's arm9loaderhax.bin as a luma payload, running 3.7.1 launcher.dat. If you press X to continue, just get a black screen :-/
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

evandixon

PMD Researcher
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
0
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,302
Country
United States
If you press X to continue, just get a black screen :-/
Well, it's at least supposed to be a feature.

@jatikeren
Remember that Gateway's A9LH implementation is not intended for public use.
Gateway's Website said:
DISCLAIMER: Files on this page should be treated with extreme care and only used by advanced users who have access to a way to restore their 3DS NAND. Users should have a valid/known good copy of their NAND before proceeding! Use at your own risk!
First, you should do what @Atro described, to get your 3DS back to a usable state. If you lost your NAND backup, you'll need to try v4.1b to boot Classic mode in sysNAND. If that doesn't work, you may need to buy a Gateway card.

Once you get access to the sysNAND home menu again, you should follow Part 5 of Plailect's guide. The Gateway A9LH install should have put the otp.bin at the root of the SD card. If you don't have it anymore, you'll need to start from an earlier step, probably Step 4.

If in the future you decide to buy a Gateway, you should do this after following Plailect's guide:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-using-luma3ds-with-gateway-on-v2-a9lh.431691/
 

yacepi15

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
1,023
Trophies
0
XP
1,863
Country
Germany
I read time ago that replacing a broken FIRM0 with the OTP its very easy, and even the A9Hax installer does it. He cant create a NAND backup and do a usable FIRM0 with the OTP and flash that again?
Good luck.
 
Last edited by yacepi15,
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

jatikeren

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Seoul, Korea
XP
99
Country
Indonesia
how to boot to sysNAND mode ????
Help...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i try boot to classic mode..

i have red card aswell..
boot classic mode and gateway mode is boot to emuNAND.. not to sysNAND
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
how to boot to sysNAND mode ????
Help...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i try boot to classic mode..

i have red card aswell..
boot classic mode and gateway mode is boot to emuNAND.. not to sysNAND
Take the Gateway card out of your system before you boot it. The menu will appear. then hold B over "Boot Gateway Mode" and press A and then you can boot Gateway in sysNAND mode.
 

Atro

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
100
Country
United States
how to boot to sysNAND mode ????
Help...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i try boot to classic mode..

i have red card aswell..
boot classic mode and gateway mode is boot to emuNAND.. not to sysNAND
It boots emuNAND by default. To get to sysNAND, you have to press and hold "L" while booting to get into the menu and then hold "B" while booting into Gateway mode.
 

jatikeren

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Seoul, Korea
XP
99
Country
Indonesia
already boot indo sysNAND Gateway Mode and Classic Mode..
why i cant access Decrypt9 ?? emunand9 ?? .. it just blank red then back to homebrew menu.. :\

help
 

Atro

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
100
Country
United States
yes its installed a9h gateway... a useless A9LH ever ... -___-
Not sure if Homebrew works with GW, what do you need Decrypt9 and emuNAND9 for anyways? You know you can do NAND backups/restore and emuNAND stuff with GW's menu, right?

Anyways, if you want to uninstall their A9LH, simply restore your pre-A9LH backup you were required to make before installing. Afterwards, if you haven't deleted your OTP.bin, you can easily install the community A9LH, without having to downgrade again.
 

jatikeren

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Seoul, Korea
XP
99
Country
Indonesia
Not sure if Homebrew works with GW, what do you need Decrypt9 and emuNAND9 for anyways? You know you can do NAND backups/restore and emuNAND stuff with GW's menu, right?

Anyways, if you want to uninstall their A9LH, simply restore your pre-A9LH backup you were required to make before installing. Afterwards, if you haven't deleted your OTP.bin, you can easily install the community A9LH, without having to downgrade again.

first i want to flash CTRNAND 2.1 to it... for just get rid of A9LH ( if it can be done )
second... i dont have any NAND Backup or OTP backup...
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
first i want to flash CTRNAND 2.1 to it... for just get rid of A9LH ( if it can be done )
second... i dont have any NAND Backup or OTP backup...
If you don't have a NAND backup you're pretty stuck. If you have a hardmod (and a backup of your system as it is now) and your sysNAND is on 9.0-9.2, try using SafeArm9Installer.3dsx from homebrew to "update" your a9lh installation with v2. However I have no idea if it would work and you definitely should not do it without a hardmod. If you do do it, please report back to inform us if it worked or bricked!

Edit: the Time Machine page on Gateway's website says that users are advised to have both a known valid NAND backup before proceeding AND a hardmod ... hopefully you have at least one of these! :-)
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Nerds big chew are pretty bomb worth getting Nerds Big Chewy Candy 10 oz...