Hacking Can The Gateway Play 3DS Games On My 3DS?

UndefeatedMonarch

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
72
Country
Canada
I have a friend who is selling his secondary 3DS, pretty much brand new for about $100. I haven't played Pokemon since Heart Gold and Soul Silver, and I REALLY want to start playing again. I was looking for a way to play 3DS ROMs for free? Does the Gateway play 3DS ROMs, not DS, but 3DS ROMs? For example, could I play Pokemon Omega Ruby with the Gateway and a MicroSD card?

If yes, would the Gateway work for me needs on this specific 3DS? It's the original 3DS, not the new, nor the 2DS. My friend told me that it was running on firmware version 7.2.0-16U. Would I need a different firmware version to play 3DS ROMs? Would I need to downgrade?

Also, just a side question, is there something that works pretty much like the Gateway, or similarly, but cheaper? If not, I don't mind just getting the Gateway.

Sorry for all of these questions. I haven't owned a Nintendo handheld since the original Nintendo DS days.

Thanks a lot! :)
 

memomo

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2013
Messages
1,079
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
740
Country
You should definitely using Internet Explorer, your question seems from two years ago
 

tbb043

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,754
Trophies
0
XP
1,488
Country
United States
Gateway's whole purpose is playing 3DS roms on a 3DS. There's also Sky3DS, but I don't know if it's cheaper or not. But be prepared for people to come in and either complain that you dared to ask a question or that you dared to ask about Gateway instead of custom firmware. Which yes, is cheaper (free) so might be how you want to go, but that's up to you.

You should definitely using Internet Explorer, your question seems from two years ago

lol, you just admitted you still used IE two years ago. no one else used it more recently than 10+ years ago
 

UndefeatedMonarch

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
72
Country
Canada
You don't need Gateway or any other flashcards at all.

You just need to update your FW to 9.2 and get one of the free CFWs like Luma3DS

That all

Okay... So you're telling me that I can play 3DS games, free (Including Pokemon X/Y) without spending any money (other than on the 3DS, of course) with CFW only? Correct?
 

memomo

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2013
Messages
1,079
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
740
Country
Okay... So you're telling me that I can play 3DS games, free (Including Pokemon X/Y) without spending any money (other than on the 3DS, of course) with CFW only? Correct?

Yes exactly

There is another hack could A9LH but it might be too complicated for you.

You can just update to 9.2 and then setup MenuHax (very easy) and from there you can launch you're free CFW.

And then you can decide if you want to move forward and install A9LH or stop here and enjoy your current setup
 

UndefeatedMonarch

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
72
Country
Canada
Yes exactly

There is another hack could A9LH but it might be too complicated for you.

You can just update to 9.2 and then setup MenuHax (very easy) and from there you can launch you're free CFW.

And then you can decide if you want to move forward and install A9LH or stop here and enjoy your current setup


Is CFW going to guarantee me the ability to play 3DS roms from an microSD card? I just need to be sure, 100%. I'm getting excited xD
 

memomo

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2013
Messages
1,079
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
740
Country
Is CFW going to guarantee me the ability to play 3DS roms from an microSD card? I just need to be sure, 100%. I'm getting excited xD

3ds uses full size SD card not micro SD:P

And to make you even more excited you can download your free games from your own 3ds without a computer, you just need to install free shop app in your 3ds
 

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,581
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Porto
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
1,159
Country
Is CFW going to guarantee me the ability to play 3DS roms from an microSD card? I just need to be sure, 100%. I'm getting excited xD
Yes as long as the games come in .CIA format.
Also avoid gateway.
It's just not worth compared to free cfws and arm9loaderhax, being unreliable slow and pretty Much useless and outdated.
They also do very shady practises and their business is very bad so you're wasting your money on very bad criminals.
Also, it is unsafe to play games with your gateway online without proper patching.
My suggestion?
Follow this guide from beggining to end
https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki
I can walk you thought if needed via an IM system.
I've done the same with over 30 3ds's and it's fast and safe
 

xdarkmario

Philosopher
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,630
Trophies
1
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,556
Country
United States
your answer in a nutshell

Using a flashcart=Expensive| depreciated in later FWs|prone to bricks| limited to certain| FW's easy & lazy
CFW= Free| way more future resistant| less brick rate & higher recovery rate| as of now you can update to the max update and stay online without spoofing or rom edits| harder to setup but worth it

Sources: i own both A9HL & supercard DSTWO+

and to answer your question as everyone above me did, yes you can but in the end its not worth it, plus it looks like my Supercard DSTWO+ (as do most flashcarts) is starting to burn out on me, it shoes up as no cart inserted half the time.(maybe Nintendo's doing)
 

UndefeatedMonarch

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
72
Country
Canada
Yes as long as the games come in .CIA format.
Also avoid gateway.
It's just not worth compared to free cfws and arm9loaderhax, being unreliable slow and pretty Much useless and outdated.
They also do very shady practises and their business is very bad so you're wasting your money on very bad criminals.
Also, it is unsafe to play games with your gateway online without proper patching.
My suggestion?
Follow this guide from beggining to end
https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki
I can walk you thought if needed via an IM system.
I've done the same with over 30 3ds's and it's fast and safe
If ever I need help, I guess I know who to look for ;) Thanks!

your answer in a nutshell

Using a flashcart=Expensive| depreciated in later FWs|prone to bricks| limited to certain| FW's easy & lazy
CFW= Free| way more future resistant| less brick rate & higher recovery rate| as of now you can update to the max update and stay online without spoofing or rom edits| harder to setup but worth it

Sources: i own both A9HL & supercard DSTWO+

and to answer your question as everyone above me did, yes you can but in the end its not worth it, plus it looks like my Supercard DSTWO+ (as do most flashcarts) is starting to burn out on me, it shoes up as no cart inserted half the time.(maybe Nintendo's doing)
Ya, I figured they were cheap hardware. Back in the Pokemon Diamond and Pearl days, I ended up owning three Action Replays. I know it's not quite the same thing, but still.

So I guess I'll go the CFW way, and get my ROMs free via CFW methods. Any good tutorials on how to install 3DS ROMs after I've installed CFW? Thanks again!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Last question, are my minimum requirements to install CFW the following:

1. 3DS
2. MicroSD (or SD?)
3. A computer (Windows, in my case)

No need for entry point games such as Cubic Ninja, Freakyhax and whatnot?

Thanks... again... :D
 

xdarkmario

Philosopher
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,630
Trophies
1
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
XP
2,556
Country
United States
If ever I need help, I guess I know who to look for ;) Thanks!


Ya, I figured they were cheap hardware. Back in the Pokemon Diamond and Pearl days, I ended up owning three Action Replays. I know it's not quite the same thing, but still.

So I guess I'll go the CFW way, and get my ROMs free via CFW methods. Any good tutorials on how to install 3DS ROMs after I've installed CFW? Thanks again!
you can get mostly everything you need to hack a 3ds right here on the temp. also be careful with talking about "free" and "roms" here its frowned upon on this website:unsure:
 

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
2,581
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Porto
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
1,159
Country
If ever I need help, I guess I know who to look for ;) Thanks!


Ya, I figured they were cheap hardware. Back in the Pokemon Diamond and Pearl days, I ended up owning three Action Replays. I know it's not quite the same thing, but still.

So I guess I'll go the CFW way, and get my ROMs free via CFW methods. Any good tutorials on how to install 3DS ROMs after I've installed CFW? Thanks again!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Last question, are my minimum requirements to install CFW the following:

1. 3DS
2. MicroSD (or SD?)
3. A computer (Windows, in my case)

No need for entry point games such as Cubic Ninja, Freakyhax and whatnot?

Thanks... again... :D
Your sd/microsd should be at least 8 GB(you can use 4gb ones tho, but they are harder to work with)
After that you can get a bigger one(64/128 GB)
As long as your firmware version isn't higher than 10.5 you don't need exploit games.
And yes, those are the requirements
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Leave
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm fortunate to have had some managers over the years who I've straight up told to go fuck themselves, and not get in trouble for it. Help that I've been on the receiving end of that as well lmao
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, you can tell him you quit when you see him in court, (For defecation on property, charges)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    There's a difference in a abusive management rather than one drilling into you for messing up
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Told my last boss that I was resigning and he was confused and asked if I was serious 😭🤣
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My last boss got investigated for racial slurs and guess what happened to him
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I luckily haven't had a boss in over 20 years, (independent contractor) but the people I do work for, it's pretty much like they my bosses, and yea some can be assholes. But there has been many jobs I've walked off and mailed they're checks back to them.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bosses should yell at workers for mess ups they just need to know the difference in abuse and punishment
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I don't abuse or curse at my employess, I feel like waving the gun around gets the point across just fine.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A boss is basically a glorified baby sitter
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I respect one's that tells someone what to do clearly, warn them when they mess up and actually put work in with a crew
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    That's how all of my last managers have been in this job and my last one. Last time I had a manager where I was being micromanaged to hell and back was over a decade ago when I worked retail
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My managers nowadays are perfectly fine assigning me a project and just checking in once every week or two
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I had to micromanage the managers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    At my last job I (as an individual contributor, not a manager or supervisor or anything) used to be the one to tell my manager when I was traveling for work "hey I'm gonna be out of office between x and y dates, I got something on the other side of the country I'm gonna go work on"
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Which was not the normal dynamic for that role lmao
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Don't get to travel for my current job :(
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Had me started working 10 days in a row with different days off after that I was like no
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    On the bright side, I also don't even have to leave my house for my current job, so... could be worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some of the shift workers were so bad it held us up from 10pm to 10am
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    coming to the painful realization backing up my ps2's hdd to swap in a sata ssd, i need a faster more modern way to interface with old ide hard drives than using hdlgmanclient or ftp over network.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    NIC is only 10/100 right?
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
    wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist: i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one...