can M3 Perfect use sdhc cards as i want to add a 4gb 0r 8gb sdhc card

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Mr Slug, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. Mr Slug
    OP

    Newcomer Mr Slug Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    can slot 2 M3 Perfect use sdhc cards as i want to add a 4gb 0r 8gb sdhc card would they work on it, as at the moment i only have a 2gb card in it.
     
  2. crazyshiza

    Member crazyshiza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    No, it cannot use SDHC cards for games.
     
  3. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    There is non-sdhc 4GB sd cards if u have a m3 that uses reguler sd cards.
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    some boxes claim they can support up to 4 gb, but personally i have never seeen a 4gb msd for sale.

    can you link us to one?

    -aw
     
  5. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList....00&name=4GB
     
  6. zhdarkstar

    Member zhdarkstar GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    United States
    I heard somewhere that slot-2 m3's can read SDHC in media extend mode. Is this true?
     
  7. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    Yes for media only like mp3 and dpg files for moonshell and not for ds or gba rom playing.
     
  8. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
  9. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    DUH phuking read what I said
     
  10. zhdarkstar

    Member zhdarkstar GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    United States

    If that's the case, then would it be possible to access a SDHC in slot-2 via one of the filebrowsers that has simultaneous slot-1/2 access like dsfile2 or ds-dos?
     
  11. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    NOR/NAND Memory is much faster than writing to an SDHC.
    And you can only write to one of the two at once.
     
  12. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, it's probably possible. Why would it matter?
     
  13. zhdarkstar

    Member zhdarkstar GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Country:
    United States
    Once slot-1/2 access is more stable, imagine if M3 Team incorporated it into their firmware. It would be more perfect than the M3 Real Perfect Bundle. You'd have all the functionality of the M3 Real with the added bonus of a second SDHC slot. Double SDHC storage means more space for mp3s, dpgs, etc.
     
  14. HaTaX

    Member HaTaX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
  15. JamieL

    Newcomer JamieL Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you get SDHC cards working with Moonshell? When I put my SDHC card in my M3 Lite it doesn't start up, It just hangs at a black screen. Do I have to have the card formatted in a particular way? It's a sandisk 4 gig MiniSDHC.
     
  16. Shadow-Zero

    Member Shadow-Zero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also have a Sandisk 4GB micro-sd card (non SDHC as far as I know). I can't get it to work with my M3 Perfect Lite nor the M3 Simply. Doesn't it work at all, or is there a trick to it?
     
  17. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Sandisk 4GB MicroSD is SDHC as far as I know.
     
  18. NeoGunKuruma

    Newcomer NeoGunKuruma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, there were a limited number of 4gb micro SD cards made that were non- SD-HC.
    It's possible to find them sometimes. They are slower than the SD-HC compliant ones however.
    I'm assuming they won't work on a DS card, as far as I know.
     
  19. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sigh... No you can't, because M3 perfect doesn't support micro SDHC. The flashkart will not recognize it at all.... If you want to use a Micro sdhc card, get one of these.

    CycloDS, M3 real, SCDS1 SDHC, Acekard 2, Acekard R.P.G, EDGE, DSTT...
     

Share This Page