Hacking Bricked Wii - please help

RupertAvery

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
148
Country
I was modding a Korean Wii. I managed to get everything done (HBC, CIOS, updated IOS) except region change.

To change the region, I loaded up MMM via HBC and installed IOS 60 and System Menu 4.1U. I then ran AnyRegion Changer and changed the settings to english, USA and saved.
I returned to HBC and installed Priiloader. I saw some sort of warning about not being able to delete something, but I ignored it.

I rebooted and tried to get into Priiloader, but nothing happened. I just get a black screen. Am I completely bricked or is there a way to fix this?
 

Majroa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
235
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
Netherlands
Try to press reset.

The unable to delete something is probably nothing: it means that you don't have a password:P
 

RupertAvery

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
148
Country
i know... I should have made a nand backup... but I didn't...

I can't boot into BootMii anyway.

Is there a way to autoboot and then Smash Stack perhaps, and reinstall Sysmenu? I really don't know what went wrong. Did I do something wrong back there?

Install IOS 60 and Sysmenu 4.1 WADs, then change region settings. Priiloader for good measure. What happened?
 

RupertAvery

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
148
Country
Oh screw it all. I think I know what I did wrong. I installed a stub of IOS 60. Damn me...

Would that prevent Priiloader from running though?
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
XP
998
Country
Antarctica
But before you send it in, if the DVD drive is not a D3-2, rip it out, keep it, and maybe put a cheap D3-2 drive in, else Nintendo will take it instead, and replace it with a D3-2 drive.

That way, if you keep the non-D3-2, you can put it back in when you get your /repaired/replacement Wii back. (then re-mod and be able to play burned discs)

If the Wii's dvd drive is already a D3-2, then don't worry about what I just said.
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
Unless you live in south korea, Nintendo will not fix your wii- not even for $.

Part it out on ebay. Or just sell it as broke for parts.
 

RupertAvery

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
148
Country
It's not even mine. I offered to mod a friend's wii. Now I'm probably going to give him my wii in replacement.

And all I'll have left is a brick.

Something to bang my head against.

My wife is so going to be pissed...
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
XP
998
Country
Antarctica
OUCH! that's bad!

But don't worry, you're not the only one.

.. I know how it feels, when you've just killed someone else's Wii, and your brain is mentally shitting itself wondering how the hell you're going to fix it, and what the owner is going to do.

Way way back in the before time, when I was a noob, I tried modding a friend's Wii, and bricked it, by downgrading 3.4 to 3.2, without knowing about the stub IOS30... so it bricked.

But... I was lucky. My friend was pretty rich, and could just buy another Wii.

Me bricking this Wii long ago is what made me learn more and more about the Wii and make cIOSCORP v3.x/DARKCORP for these seemingly "Unmoddable" (at the time) Wiis in the first place.

You however... I don't know how I could help there...

Are they rich?
Can they just get a new one?
Are Korean Wii's cheap in the Phillipines?
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
10
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
284
Country
Korean Wiis are cheaper.Also no Ninty here
frown.gif
 

BanditKing

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2009
Messages
45
Trophies
0
XP
180
Country
United States
I thought I bricked my wii with priiloader then I held the buttons on the wii and was able to uninstall priiloader.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Spoon