Bricked Wii Gone Bad

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mas01, Nov 23, 2009.

Nov 23, 2009

Bricked Wii Gone Bad by Mas01 at 9:22 PM (1,443 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Mas01
    OP

    Newcomer Mas01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi gbatemp members,

    My Wii got bricked as I was softmodding it, the Wii was working perfectly ever-since I installed CIOS60-BF, upon a reboot my Wii bricked and gave me an error message "The system files are corrupted. Please refer to the Wii Operations Menu for help troubleshooting." I cannot bypass this message (locks up). Also I am not sure if I have pre-loader installed. I also didn't backup my NAND but I managed to install bootMii as an IOS if that helps.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks.
     
  2. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hold reset when you power on, hopefully preloader will load, exit to the homebrew channel and reinstall preloader, it should be fine then.
     
  3. Mas01
    OP

    Newcomer Mas01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi thanks for the quick reply, what happens if I don't have pre-loader installed? I am not at home at the moment, I'm at work so when I get home I'll have try. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. andrewhan4

    Newcomer andrewhan4 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing whats happened is that you've had preloader installed then installed cios60bf.wad - cios60bf.wad doesn't have the ES_DiVerify patch in it so preloader can't load the System Menu and you get the System files corrupted message. When this happens you can still get into preloader and then into hbc. Reinstalling preloader forces it to repatch IOS 60 with ES_DiVerify and the System Menu should work correctly again.

    If it doesn't work I'm not sure what else you can do, someone else may know tho.

    P.s. make sure you reinstall preloader with v0.29 (or later)
     
  5. Mas01
    OP

    Newcomer Mas01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah that's correct, that's what happened to me. Awesome, thanks a lot for your help man, appreciate it.
     
  6. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    do tell me how the fuck you did that brick and not even know for sure if you have preloader/priiloader installed. if you ask me you should die or get a brain
     
  7. chrispinifer

    Newcomer chrispinifer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK.
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you by chance have a disk in your drive that your Wii doesn't like? That happened to me once before - I got that message and I paaaaaaaanicked!!! I thought my Wii was bricked, but I pulled the disk out after an hour of frantically searching the internet. After pulling out the disk and resetting my Wii, all was well. Just a potential oops?
     
  8. Pete666

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada

    I always have this message after playing nhl2k10.. what is wrong?? I had this message even I didn't touch my wii with homebrew or wad...

    After waiting 5 min I can restart my wii...
     
  9. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Dude... calm down, k?
     

Share This Page