boot2 questions

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ng80092a, Dec 3, 2009.

Dec 3, 2009

boot2 questions by ng80092a at 2:51 AM (978 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hi, i've just read that 4.2 updates boot2 into boot2v4

    this means bootmii can't be installed on boot2 after updating?
    will the nand backup be less efective if bootmii is instaled as ios?
    can future updates erase my bootmii instalation on boot2 and prevent that i'll ever acess boot2 ever to install bootmii?

    thanks
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you just reinstall bootmii to boot2 after update nothing changes apart from you can't downgrade past 4.0 I think
     
  3. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    but on the noob starter guide it said that new consoles would come with boot2v3/v4 and you couldn't install bootmii on their boot2, only as one of their IOS
     
  4. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    The 4.2 update overwrites boot2 to boot2v4 but does not (and cannot) fix the weakness in boot1 that allows BootMii to be installed. You should be able to reinstall bootmii after updating.
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    bootmii needs a bug in the boot1 so it can install on boot2 it doesn't matter what version boot2 you have v2, v3 or v4.

    if you have a newer wii the bug in the boot1 has been fixed by nintendo so you can only install bootmii as IOS
     
  6. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    oh nice, so there'll always be bootmii on boot2.. the update just re-writes boot2 but can't stop you from installing bootmii there again [​IMG] thanks [​IMG]

    and what about the nand backup, how effective it is?
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    if you have as boot2 then it's like having infinite lives for your wii if you store the backup safely

    not sure about IOS but with pre/priiloader having boot to HBC as long as you don't delete the system menu you can recover most bricks from there I think
     
  8. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    i heard some people fail to back it up, like if the backup system had some failures
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    what do you mean fail to back it up??? and failures???
     
  10. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    I mean people get their console bricked somehow, they try to restore the backup but it doesn't work.. dunno how it happens..

    by the way, can i acess the preloader menu with a gamecube controller? cause my reset button doesnt work and i need a different way to acess it
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    if you have bootmii as boot2 you can usually access the HBC or use cboot2 and recover the system so backup restore failure isn't a problem

    and the only way to access preloader is through the reset button as far as I know
     
  12. ng80092a
    OP

    Newcomer ng80092a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Portugal
    can i update to 4.2 without overwriting boot2?
     
  13. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    yes of course.
     
  14. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
  15. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    he could always reinstall it.
     

Share This Page