Bluetooth module and System menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by HiRuMi, Oct 17, 2010.

Oct 17, 2010
  1. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Why is it if the blutooth module is fried you can't go to the system menu?... And what other things affect the Wii when the bluetooth module is fried?
    I've been asking around about me can't go to System menu and my Wiimote won't sync and came to a conclusion that my bluetooth module is fried.

    But it seems not just the system menu I can't load, I can't load up homebrew aswell.
    I tried loading GC Backup launcher to play my GC games but it just black out, same for MPlayer CE. It froze upon loading.

    So is having a fried bluetooth module really this bad?.. Or it's something else going on with my Wii???
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually, having a fried Bluetooth Module should prevent your Wii from starting up at all, and greet you with a nice black screen.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The hardware is checked somewhere early in the booting process. If anything's broken, the Wii will simply halt. There is nothing software-wise that can fix this.
     
  4. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    It should greet me with a nice(ugh!) black screen. But bootmi painted colors to give it some life.
    Ah I see... So having a broken/fried component (any component?) will halt the Wii?...

    Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  5. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yep, in almost all cases, your Wii will stop booting altogether.
     
  6. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I have bootmi as boot2... Which allows access to HBC
    From there, I tried installing official IOSes but no luck (before knowing my bt module died)

    Thx anyway. Really was helpful.
    End communication
     
  7. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    If BootMii starts, your BT module is alive, probably.

    Sounds more like a corrupted SysMenu + IOSes.
     
  8. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    o.0 really?... Then how'd I fix it?... And how about the un-sync-able wiimote?
    But really I've already tried downloading all the 4.2 WADs and installed them but still the same
     
  9. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Just a hunch, use 4.3.1 to virginize your Wii and then send it to Ninty.
     
  10. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Send it to Ninty?!... Thats the only thing I would never do...
    use 4.3.1 eh?... That'd really work?... And are you sure its not my bt module?
     
  11. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Errr.... I'm going to have to disagree raulpica... The fact that System menu won't boot but Bootmii WILL is almost a guarantee it's the bluetooth module.

    Bootmii as boot2 boots well before system menu or any hardware checks (bootmii as boot2 starts before any PPC code is active including system menu and it's hardware checks)
     
  12. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    You can't sync your wii remotes without being either in a system menu or a game. If you try syncing them in the homebrew channel, it won't work.

    Do you have priiloader installed (if so which version).

    I'm assuming you have system 4.2

    Since you can get to the homebrew channel, can you post an IOS check? So we can make sure you didn't install a stubbed IOS 70 and make sure everything checks out?
     
  13. HiRuMi
    OP

    Newcomer HiRuMi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Malaysia
    IOS check? No priiloader, and yes 4.2

    It happened before I even touched the IOSes (somewhat virgin)
    Its definitely bt module.. I replace it and everything is fine right?...
    Also I've been getting this ret= -1XXX when installing some IOS wads... I wonder whats missing?
     
  14. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Retry errors are usually:

    1) You are trying to install a lower version IOS without the proper permissions (Cannot downgrade IOSes)
    2) You are trying to install a non-official IOS without the proper permissions (usually some type of patch to it)

    The way to fix these errors is to load whatever WAD manager you are using with either a Trucha IOS or normally a CIOS (if you have installed Wan CIOS 18+, 250 should work).

    Everytime I recommend someone to use IOScheck I always forget where a download and information is located. Let me try finding it for you. What it does it print out a report of all your IOS's, normally bricks are a result of installing a system menu IOS that is a stub or something similar.

    Let me put it this way, if it is not the blue tooth module, then replacing it won't fix it. It is common logic but I am not making any inferences on what would happen if it was the bluetooth module whether or not replacing it would fix it =)

    It's not IOS check, it's SysCheck 2.0!
    Here is the information + download: http://filetrip.net/f12865-sysCheck-2-0-1.html
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Lol, might be. Never seen a Wii with bootmii and a fried BT module [​IMG] Thx for the info.
     
  16. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    For a bit more technical of an explaination... The Wii has an ARM processor which is it's lowest level... When you turn the Wii on, it runs the ARM processor and the information on boot1 and boot2 tell it how to turn on the PPC processor and load an IOS. The IOS initializes the rest of the hardware and loads System menu.


    Bootmii modifies the Boot2 and instead of aiming it an IOS, it points it to Mini which is TeamTwiizers 'IOS' (it's not really an ios... but that's the simplest way of explaining it) capable of interacting with hardware directly... This boots Bootmii and thus bypasses the hardware checks (which either occurs in IOS or in System menu's early boot up... no idea which)
     

Share This Page