Best SLOT2, within my specifications

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Sicklyboy, Nov 9, 2009.

Nov 9, 2009
  1. Sicklyboy
    OP

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Hey GBAtemp! (Hope this is in the right forum...) I really have no experience with SLOT2, and not even a ton with SLOT1. I need a flashcard though, will get for Christmas.

    I have one thing that is required, and then a few that are preferable, but not completely necessary.

    REQUIRED
    Must come from the website realhotstuff.com
    Must work with iTouchDS
    Must play GBA roms.
    oh yeah - i guess it needs it to be an expansion pack (rumble not required, but the browser ram i need)

    PREFERABLE
    Would like an RTC, if possible (however, that seems unlikely based on what ive read...)
    Would prefer it to be DSL sized.

    For now, thats all I can really think of lol. Really only need the RTC for pokemon.

    http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansion-pack-plus-p-194.html - How is that for a SLOT2? Im trying to not spend a ton, but I dont want something that really sucks, either.

    So, based off of what is sold off of the RHS website, can you guys, if it's not too much trouble... give me your top two choices (link back to it would be nice XD) of both NDSL and GBA size carts? I hope I'm not asking too much

    Thanks!
     
  2. Sicklyboy
    OP

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
  3. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Old version is better I think. But the new version has the extra Nor.
     
  4. Sicklyboy
    OP

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. Any idea why the old version is better? Also, what does the Nor do, anyways?

    edit - searched and found the wiki on it. So the Nor memory holds games it sounds like? So if I wanted to, say I could put one of the GBA pokemon games on that and then run my D/P/PL rom, use Pal Park, and it would recognize the 3in1 as the GBA pokemon game?
     
  5. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I know the M3 GBA Expansion Pack has RTC but I don't think it works on iTouch. It may work but I have no way of testing it.
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Read the second link in my sig. This is already been covered and your not special enough.

    Its the same as every other pokemon wielding noob. EXACTLY THE SAME.

    you will need the M3 X patch:
    http://filetrip.net/f4135-GBA-Exploader-0-58X-M3-Patch.html

    the gba exploader .58b:
    http://filetrip.net/f5308-GBA-ExpLoader-MSHL2-0-1.html
    preferablely the .58b and not the 0.58b0 one.

    The M3 GEP has 2 extra shells, one of which is a GBA sized (thats the phat one if your still clueless) and the other one is transparent black in a lite shell.

    Why this setup? your going to eventually upgrade your slot1, when you do, all you have to do is copy all your gba stuff over to the new flashcart. If it is a non M3 slot1 just use an unmodified version of the exploader and your all set.
     
  7. Sicklyboy
    OP

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    how_do_i_do_that - never said I was special, now did I? The second link in your sig, which I'm assuming you mean "GBA expansion pack answers", (which was the first helpful post about these, thank you), I have been reading since I posted this topic. Nowhere in there though do I see the answer to my main question - Is the old one or the plus better, and why?
     
  8. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. Sicklyboy
    OP

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you.
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes I did answer that.

    It is the same question as what is the better hand to write with. There is no better answer.

    The older one is better if you want hassle free rumble and opera support. Otherwise it is the same crap with the 3in1+. The opera browser is going to use the exact same amount of ram in the expansion regaudless if it is the 3in1, 3in1+ or the M3 GEP. The amount of ram used is hard coded into the rom.


    You can only use the multi-rom mode with a EZ-Flash V slot1 flashcart. Everyone else that uses a loader of somekind is limited to 1 rom.
     

Share This Page