Hacking Autobooting?

Gaboros

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
525
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
308
Country
Hungary
I read that you have to rename the rom files to "default.nds" and it will be loaded automatically.
But I tried it on my r4 rts and it didn't worked.
Do you guys have a solution for this "problem"?
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
1
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,281
Country
SifJar said:
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
Yes TTMenu does work on it but i am sick of always loading TTMenu.nds so i want it to automatically boot.
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
314
Country
FireGrey said:
SifJar said:
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
Yes TTMenu does work on it but i am sick of always loading TTMenu.nds so i want it to automatically boot.
that's exactly what he said?

example:If the menu file is _DS_MENU.dat(r4 clones use this),then rename ttmenu.nds
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
1
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,281
Country
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
SifJar said:
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
Yes TTMenu does work on it but i am sick of always loading TTMenu.nds so i want it to automatically boot.
that's exactly what he said?

example:If the menu file is _DS_MENU.dat(r4 clones use this),then rename ttmenu.nds
I renamed TTMenu.nds to R4.dat (that's my thingy) and it says ?Menu
I even tried renaming TTMenu.dat to R4.dat but still ?Menu
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
13
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
314
Country
FireGrey said:
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
SifJar said:
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
Yes TTMenu does work on it but i am sick of always loading TTMenu.nds so i want it to automatically boot.
that's exactly what he said?

example:If the menu file is _DS_MENU.dat(r4 clones use this),then rename ttmenu.nds
I renamed TTMenu.nds to R4.dat (that's my thingy) and it says ?Menu
I even tried renaming TTMenu.dat to R4.dat but still ?Menu
actually,I checked it out...there's both _DS_MENU.dat and R4.dat,if its not the latter,then it might be the first...

If that doesn't work,try dldi patching with whatever dldi it uses...if that doesn't work,try SifJar's instructions...
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
1
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,281
Country
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
lolzed said:
FireGrey said:
SifJar said:
Take a look at the default firmware for the device you have: What is it called? DS_MENU_.dat? default.nds? Whatever it is, try simply renaming a different homebrew to that and placing it in the place the firmware usually goes (often the root of your micro SD). If that doesn't work, try r4crypt to encrypt the NDS file, and see if that helps. If it still doesn't work, your card probably uses a differently encrypted firmware, and it may not be possible to autoboot on it without reverse engineering (i.e. probably not worth the hassle.)

Why do you want to run the DSTT menu on the card anyway? Is it a DSTT clone?
Yes TTMenu does work on it but i am sick of always loading TTMenu.nds so i want it to automatically boot.
that's exactly what he said?

example:If the menu file is _DS_MENU.dat(r4 clones use this),then rename ttmenu.nds
I renamed TTMenu.nds to R4.dat (that's my thingy) and it says ?Menu
I even tried renaming TTMenu.dat to R4.dat but still ?Menu
actually,I checked it out...there's both _DS_MENU.dat and R4.dat,if its not the latter,then it might be the first...

If that doesn't work,try dldi patching with whatever dldi it uses...if that doesn't work,try SifJar's instructions...
Actually it doesn't have a _DS_MENU.dat, i'll try the dldi theory.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
The ?MENU error seems to imply this is a DSTT clone. AFAIK, on the DSTT, you simply rename and patch the NDS file, so patch it with the correct patch for your card and rename it to R4.dat, and stick it on the root.
 

Xenon++

Taiju Yamada
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,394
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
107
Country
Autobooting other menu in R4iSDHC is difficult.
One of your option is using r4.dat in mshl2tools/iniclear/. It leads you YSMenu (if you install /moonshl2/extlink/inilink.ini)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Charging*
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Bbl and/or good night
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Ok still here
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    goodnight
  • H @ HeroYthalo:
    Good Night
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Joyous occasion - I've finished two bottles of hot sauce over the past two days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is a new toilet in your shopping cart now?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I already have GI issues hot sauce doesn't make them any worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My gut thinks it's normal to poo 4/7 times of the week tbf
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob from all the poundings you getting from ancient boi
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is that why your guts been messed up also?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm still laughing bout when Veho ask other day how many people live in Michigan, and you said 1 white dude.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't remember what I did yesterday
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And that's why you backed up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I regret giving birth to you
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    BeSt turd you ever shit out
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Is that Metro any good?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I gave up after two chemo dogs jumped me
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    My favorite part about filing taxes is that I always either owe a disportionate amount of money or get literally pennies back.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    And I make under 30k a year.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just sit in jail
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    If it was a option just to go to jail for month as opposed to filing taxes I might be tempted, jail ain't that bad atleast in the us.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    You just go in for a month and come out with no fines or having to pay them anyway, I would be down.
    wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist: You just go in for a month and come out with no fines or having to pay them anyway, I would be down.